We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Y viva Espana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Y viva Espana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a fabulous time we had staying here for 4 nights. From the moment our taxi pulled up outside we were treated like royalty. Our cases were whisked from us as we got out of the cab and appeared in reception leaving us to check in leisurely. As it was a special trip for us we were immediately upgraded to a suite! As we had arrived slightly earlier than planned we were shown to the bar and given complimentary cocktails. Our son who is studying in Spain came to meet us and he had a cocktail too! The suite was worth the wait, and more than worth what we had paid. The location of the hotel right in the old town is spot on, all of the sights are within a gentle stroll with plenty of places to eat and drink nearby - some good little bars in the leafy square right outside the hotel. The staff are really pleasant and do all they can to make sure you have a good time. We were unsure if we should book for breakfast after reading some reviews, but I would say do it! The views alone are worth it, and the food is plentiful and good - we even had " fizz" for brekkie. The Nespresso machines seemed a bit unreliable, and if you want a pot of tea it does take a while to fill.
I've read of people's complaints of drain smells, but our room was ok, if you walk around Valencia is does seem to have a pervading smell of drains I think their plumbing isn't just up to the standard we enjoy in England.
Overall a great place to stay, if you enjoy a relaxed and comfortable break then the Astoria is the place for you.

Room Tip: You could try asking for an upgrade to a suite, they are on the corners of the buildings with wrapar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catredgym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    813
    271
    73
    41
See reviews for
255
769
58
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very friendly staff most of them speak good English. City center and shopping district very close. Train stations are also close by. Avoid breakfast at 930, gets very crowded and you may have to wait in a queue. Also the staff cannot cater to you if there is a crowd. Rooms are average but the interior of the lobby is too dark. There is no ramp at the reception so be ready to haul your luggage at the door step. This is a common problem at most Spanish hotels. Wi-Fi is free but you need to get a fresh password from reception every day. Overall a good place to stay. Nice eating places very close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreedhar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Modern spacious hotel that is in walking distance to all the sights.
We caught the train into town and walked the short distance to the Hotel.
Showers made a bit of a mess as they don't have a shower screen, but we just used a towel as the bath matt.
Staff were very friendly and rooms are great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rails81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and the found the rooms to be great. Perfect location for the old town. Everything in area is within walking distance and the staff on reception were most helpful. Prices were very good and would have no issue in recodmending this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianunitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the middle of the city by a plaza away from the main road, so everything is within a short walk (except for the beach of course). The staff where friendly, polite and very helpful.

Prices for both the rooms and services at the hotel were very reasonable.

The room was quiet and fairly new (upper room on one of the top floors). I would have given it five points if it hadn't been for the unpleasant smell which sometimes came from the toilet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorvalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in May 2013 and was given a 4th floor room at the front of the building with a balcony overlooking the small square with a couple of cafes situated around a small fountain. The room was huge (a junior suite apparently), with twin beds, a 'lounge' area (open plan), a walk in closet and a big bathroom. Only downside was it was a connecting room which I would normally avoid, but the occupants were thankfully fairly quiet.
The hotel has a very nice, modern bar on the ground floor. It was a bit early in the season for it to be busy but it looked like it would have lots of atmosphere in peak season and they have DJ nights on occasion.
I didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on that. However there are loads of restaurants, cafes, bars and bakeries within minutes of the hotel.
The location is perfect for staying in the old town, being only 2-3 minutes' wak from the cathedral and main squares.
I took the metro from the airport - very cheap and only takes about 20 minutes to Colon station. From there the hotel is 5 minutes' walk through one of the main shopping streets. Easy!

Room Tip: Room 412 is a 'junior suite', with twin beds, a 'lounge' area (open plan), a walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRLondon1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
527 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Astoria Palace is perfectly placed in the centre of Valencia, but in a quiet little square not far from the Town Hall. Very nice rooms, but the bathroom area is separated into individual parts by partitions that make each part quite small. Not so good if you are on the larger side?
Overall a very good quality and value hotel in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Choose one of the upper floor, (slightly more expensive), rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#8 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Melia Plaza
#26 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Sant Francesc
Catalonia Excelsior
Catalonia Excelsior
#18 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Vincci Palace Valencia
Vincci Palace Valencia
#25 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
La Gran Via
Hotel Dimar
Hotel Dimar
#16 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace

Property: Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace
Address: Plaza Rodrigo Botet 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Valencia
#21 Family Hotel in Valencia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#24 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace is located in the heart of the city, which is well known for being the financial, shopping, cultural, and historical center of Valencia. Located only 100 meters from the Town Hall and close to the Cathedral of Valencia, the Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace boasts of 204 completely renovated rooms. The hotel also provides meeting rooms, a gymnasium, a large terrace/garden, and a wonderful restaurant specializing in Valencian and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Valencia
Astoria Palace Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing