We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally let down on Christmas Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Valencia
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Totally let down on Christmas Eve”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My partner and I booked this hotel for three nights over the Christmas period. We made a reservation with the hotel for the restaurant three nights before Christmas Eve. When we checked in on Christmas Eve, we again confirmed our booking for the restaurant at the front desk. At the time of our booking we went to reception to confirm where the restaurant was and they directed us to go down the front stairs, outside and around the corner. I thought this was rather odd but we got our coats and off we went. Outside the restaurant the doors were locked and the inside was dark. We went back to reception to check again. Again, we were simply directed outside. I said, "But the doors are locked". The young man on reception then said, "Yes, it's closed" !!!! Apparently it wasn't open even though he had confirmed the reservation again this very evening and just directed us to the locked doors. I then noticed that there was an internal entrance to the restaurant, as you would expect, right next to reception, which just becomes more bizarre. We were then joined by four more angry guests that had also made reservations and in their case already deposited 100 euros for their booking. After then being told there was no Manager and that we could have bar food instead, I simply gave up. We were lucky after half an hour of walking around the city to find somewhere that could accomodate us. This hotel completely let us down on Christmas Eve and with no good excuse. This is also quite a noisy hotel and we woken one morning at 9am by renovation work, so not overly impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antoniaseckerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Seckerson
We are very sorry about the perception that you had last Christmas. Our colleague fron Events Department tried to contact you to confirm your reservation, but she could not speak with you. Reception did a mistake confirm you a reservation in our restaurante, because it was not did, so please, accept our apologies. We assume the responsability, so for the next time, please contact with the front desk manager, that he knows of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    826
    276
    75
    43
See reviews for
259
779
58
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

A great base for the City. The hotel staff are wonderful with their advice.
Room on fourth floor was well appointed with hot shower and compliments to the cleaning lady who rearranged our room in such a professional way - thank you
Valencia is such a wonderful city to explore and the Spanish people are charming!
On our last night we found La Salvatora, Palaza del Negrito - the best culinary experience by miles
Viva Espana

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this hotel.Its location is great.The breakfast is rich at the top floor with a nice city view.The staff is very kind and helpful. I appreciated that on the 3rd floor there is small business center where you can print your boarding pass and and use a PC.There is free wifi in the rooms.The room is big but many of them are without a door of the bathroom, so if you are 2 people it wuld be uncomfortable.So ask for a room with the door in the bathroom.I would like to suggest the staff to correct the english version of their webpage because there is written that the hotel "is next to Plaza de Espana".It is a mistake: the hotel is very close to Plaza de Ayuntamento.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent five nights at this hotel. Rooms are old, but adequate. Service ranged fro outstanding, to non existent depending on whom you were talking to at the front desk. One lady went out of her way to try and solve a small problem we had. Others seemed to think it was a lack of intelligence on our part when our room keys failed on two separate occasions. Be aware that their "free wifi" is extremely limited in functionality. Internet only, no other apps seemed to work. If you wanted outlook or other apps you had to pay 12 euros a day extra. As per other reviews, location is perfect, just a 5 minute walk to two metro stations and the train station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ojairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Customer, we regret that you have not enjoyed the comfort and service you deserve. We are looking for the information needed to have all the details and no recurrence of a similar situation. We apologize and please visit us again so that we have the opportunity to offer our best service. We offer, in addition, to reserve one of our rooms upper
Greetings Web Department remain at your entire disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHEND-ON-SEA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is well situated in Valencia in a small square. The hotel has no private parking, multi storey, very tight for large cars, is a few minutes away. The hotel is old and the rooms are small, our room had been refurbed, but the air con was poor. The bathroom etc worked well. Many pubs and restaurants are around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel is very well placed in central Valencia, 10 min from train station and main shopping street. Part of it is renovated, but not rooms, which are bit worn down. Service level not very high- one of our keys didn't work even after changed 2x, one towel was missing. But safe deposit box with door open and locked was not fixed for all our stay, even if it took me 5 minutes to explain problem to check-in desk. In November room was quite cold, but bathroom ice cold, especially stone floor.
Good words I can say about breakfast- good choice and real Nespresso coffee!
And free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Inside rooms very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location in beautiful Valencia, close to historic old town, Mercado Cental and many great restaurants. Helpful and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms made our one night stay very pleasant. The only con is a very slow Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruzers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#10 of 101 in Valencia
1,792 reviews
Sant Francesc
Catalonia Excelsior
Catalonia Excelsior
#19 of 101 in Valencia
839 reviews
Melia Plaza
#25 of 101 in Valencia
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Vincci Palace Valencia
Vincci Palace Valencia
#26 of 101 in Valencia
1,185 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 101 in Valencia
1,230 reviews
La Gran Via
Hotel Dimar
Hotel Dimar
#16 of 101 in Valencia
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace

Property: Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace
Address: Plaza Rodrigo Botet 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Valencia
#21 Family Hotel in Valencia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#25 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace is located in the heart of the city, which is well known for being the financial, shopping, cultural, and historical center of Valencia. Located only 100 meters from the Town Hall and close to the Cathedral of Valencia, the Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace boasts of 204 completely renovated rooms. The hotel also provides meeting rooms, a gymnasium, a large terrace/garden, and a wonderful restaurant specializing in Valencian and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ayre Hoteles, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Valencia
Astoria Palace Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing