We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Cheshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in city centre”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A very nice hotel right in the city centre (note: that's a long way from the beach!). Big comfortable air conditioned room. Good breakfast restaurant on the 9th floor with a great view of the city. Suprisngly they don't seem to have a main restaurant but it's hardly a problem as the hotel is surrounded by restaurants.
Prices were pretty reasonable but as my stay overlapped with the Formula 1 the prices weren't so reasonable that weekend.
It has free internet but the speed was so eye wateringly slow that it may as well have been on permanent siesta and that made it difficult for business.
I think this is the only hotel I've been in where there wasn't a single TV channel in English; not even CNN or BBC world which is very strange for an international hotels and confirms Spain's introspective view of itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    848
    289
    79
    44
See reviews for
273
798
59
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

An attractive city centre hotel; reception staff very helpful; waiting staff rather surly. Comfortable rooms but looked on to a central courtyard and as a result was very dark and needed artificial light on all the time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aberdonian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The trouble with city centre hotels is that they become grubby very quickly unless they are constantly upgraded, this hotel is no exception. Very friendly staff, a great central location, nice bar and restaurant area, comfy bed.. But the carpets are tired and whatever you do don't look through the grating of the air conditioning ducts. Parking is in an underground car park around the corner- bet you get lost first time!!

Check out the Tapas bar in the square opposite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mungojerryuk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Traveling through Europe, my friend and I were headed to Valencia after staying in Milan. Our hotel in Milan was a huge dissapointment so we didn't have great hopes for our next stop. However, the hotel Astoria in Valencia was absolutely perfect! The location was fantastic, the staff was friendly, and the lobby was clean and modern! There were elevators (HUGE PLUS in europe) and a computer to use which came in very handy when we needed to switch our flights. Not only was the hotel clean and beautiful, right outside was a courtyard with a fountain and gorgeous patio. There was a gym in the hotel that overlooked the courtyard which was really nice as well. The location is fantastic too - a short walk to the fountains downtown, nearby restaurants, and also a short walk to the cathedral. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I was there on a short trip end of May this year. The location is unbeatable, we walked everyday to major city attractions. On the first day we did not realize the distance and we ended up walking to the City of Arts, but there is also a direct bus which takes you to the beach, and another direct line to the Zoo/ Biopark. The hotel was ok, we booked a refurbished room which was nice and spacious. Rooms do not have minibars, but the offered daily in the room 2 bottles of water at 0.5 - this was a nice touch as we arrived late and did not fancy going out to buy water. The sheets were of good quality, clean, wooden floors, the bathroom amenities were also ok, toiletries replenished daily, bathrobe, slippers, hairdryer... And another great thing: i asked the lady in reservations for a room with a view and they did it! What a gorgeous view of the city I had when I woke up next morning - Gracias Teresa! We did not have breakfast at the hotel, we preferred going out and trying local cuisine, which proved to be a great choice :)
As we are seafood lovers, we ate everyday in a different place and loved it!
The front desk staff is not particularly friendly, but ok. The doorman was was always smiling and greeting us, and the housekeeping ladies on the floors. They would actually go out of the room they were cleaning just to say 'Buenos dias' to us. That was so great and welcoming.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and i'd stay there again on my next trip to Valencia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Couple aged 25 - 35 from Malta

Stayed there end June 2011

Positive comments

Hotel is situated in a great location, just a of couple minutes’ walk from bus stops, restaurants and cafeterias. Around 5 - 10 minutes from metro station. We always felt safe around the area even up to midnight and more.

Friendly helpful and efficient reception staff who also speak good English, which seems to be an issue in Spain as few people speak it.

Nice room, very good size with large en-suite bathroom, crisp laundry and linen.

Air-conditioning was quite strong which is a big plus in the hot summer

Minibar in room is slightly small but it does do its job well plus we were also given complimentary mineral water bottles throughout the stay

Room was well insulated with double glazing it was quiet and we didn’t hear any outside noise at all and there was also a large 32 inch flat screen TV with a variety of channels and languages

Was on a room only basis only so didn't get to try out the breakfast

Minor negative comments

WIFI is a pain to use especially from a mobile phone, I would have liked to have it more accessible and easy to use

Carpet in corridor smelled a bit old but i really didn't care about that!

Remarks
I would definitely go there again and would also recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: reception helpful with any issues you encounter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2011

To begin with I have to say I liked this hotel. I do not set high standards for hotels I stay in (not a 5-star standard) but I seek to get resonable standard. And that is what you will get in this hotel. Basically, you get everything you need.
This is actually an average hotel and it is absolute not a 4 star hotel as that say it is. Interior is a bit worn out and not quite new but on the other end it is not bad at all (although I've seen better). Our room was clean, bathroom also and cleaning ladies were pretty effective. So nothing to complain here, But look out, hotel has smoking rooms so be aware of that if you are a non-smoker.
Personell was very kind and helpfull and they get A+ from me.
Location is central and perfect and close to all main attractions Just outside a hotel you'll find a beautyfull square with a very charming cafe. We loved it.
Drawback of a location is that it can be noisy by nights but we did not consider it as a huge problem.
You'll get free wi-fi but coverage is disasterous, in reception also. It works and you get things done but it can get on your nerves.
All in all, this is a good 3-star hotel with an overall good standard (not expensive as well) and I do not believe anyone will be dissapointed with it. We would come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djuroturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#9 of 99 in Valencia
1,845 reviews
Sant Francesc
Vincci Palace Valencia
Vincci Palace Valencia
#28 of 99 in Valencia
1,216 reviews
Melia Plaza
#29 of 99 in Valencia
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Catalonia Excelsior
Catalonia Excelsior
#18 of 99 in Valencia
884 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 99 in Valencia
1,272 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Palacio Reina Victoria 04
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace

Property: Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace
Address: Plaza Rodrigo Botet 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Valencia
#21 Family Hotel in Valencia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#26 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace is located in the heart of the city, which is well known for being the financial, shopping, cultural, and historical center of Valencia. Located only 100 meters from the Town Hall and close to the Cathedral of Valencia, the Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace boasts of 204 completely renovated rooms. The hotel also provides meeting rooms, a gymnasium, a large terrace/garden, and a wonderful restaurant specializing in Valencian and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Valencia
Astoria Palace Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing