We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Ciudad de Valencia
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Durres, Albania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights. It is a very good one for business purpose. You can choose it for city trip also, it is in the middle of the distance between the old town and the beach. You have to use the buses to go to the both destinations. The City of Arts and Science is 10 min on foot.
The rooms are well organised and cleaned everyday.
The breakfast is very good. It worth eat the breakfast in the hotel.
There is a minibar in the room and it is not expensive.
It is only a 30 min ticket free internet in the reception hall, You have to pay, to have it in the room. They have to improve in this point, the internet service should be free.

Room Tip: Try to have a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank georgxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    488
    192
    45
    25
See reviews for
170
415
63
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night following Stoke City in europe and for a decent price for two of us, the room was clean and had all we needed.

Location is close to port and the mestalla, but a good walk from the city centre and valencia norte station, get a cab or use the underground if you dont like walking. lovely selection at breakfast too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Check-in was ok - although we had to wait about 10 minutes while someone else was served, the reception staff seemed nice.

After that, everything went downhill:
We were surprised when we noticed in the corridor to our rooms that it smelled of cigarette smoke - it seemed odd that they would put-up guests who requested non-smoking rooms within proximity of a smoking area...
When we entered our rooms, first thing we noticed was the stench of smoke. Upon inserting the room key in the electricity switch slot, it seemed that only some kind of emergency light came on. It was so dim that we started to look for light switches - there were none! The entire room was illuminated by one really weak, yellow tinted ceiling light and the additional desk light making no difference whatsoever.

After a moment of looking around and trying to figure out how it can be possible for two people with two suitcases to move around, while still wanting the suitcases in the same room, we realized that we were in a smoking room. Our parents next door had the same experience - the stench, the light and the lack of space.

We sighed, feeling sorry for smokers who would willing chose such rooms, and went down thinking it was a simple mistake...
That's when the real shock came - it wasn't a mistake! We were told that we were allocated smoking rooms because we didn't request non-smoking rooms in our reservation. This was simply untrue, since the NH hotels' booking options have non-smoking as default when selecting the rooms, and we added this in the comments to request non-smoking in the extra requests box.
We asked to speak with the duty manager, and her reply was even more shocking - she said she cannot relocate us because the hotel was full. When we mentioned we just overheard her quoting available room prices to someone ahead of us in a queue, she mentioned that we have a discounted room price (NH sale) and at this rate she cannot move us to the available rooms as they're more expensive.
When we asked if we can be moved to another NH hotel (there are at least 5 in Valencia) the receptionist said that she cannot help with this but that no hotel would have availability now.

We were extremely disappointing with the attitude and lack of care. At 10pm, after a 5-hour car drive with two elderly parents, we had no energy to look for other hotels and ended up staying.

The smoking rooms looked as if they hadn't been cleaned properly in a long while, perhaps due to the poor lighting - the room service menu (for TelePizza) on the writing desk and the TV remote control, were covered in sticky food stains). The air-con / heating controls didn't work, which I guess was for the better as they were so dirty I don't think we would have wanted to touch them again.
The bathroom (also poorly lit) has built-up dirt in all corners, and dried-on stains and soap on the walls of a tiny (and totally dark shower).

To top all this, the room door had a giant gap underneath, which meant we could hear people walking past, and conversations from further down the hall as if they were in our room.

We filled in a complaint form, and I wrote a separate letter to the hotel manager - two months later, I still haven't heard back.

Room Tip: Avoid the the smoking rooms on the first floor - they are definitely sub-standard. Especially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adventeroustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel was near to the port (approx 10min walk) and beach (approx 20 min walk). The centre of arts and sciences was again in walking distance to the hotel (approx 10 minutes).

The Hotel was clean and modern facilities. The bed was comfortable with good pillows and an option to obtain more if needed. The cleaning of the rooms each day was exceptional with fresh towels provided.

The hotel staff were friendly and easy check in and check out. They gave internet tokens for the lobby to use the WI-FI which was useful.

The mini bar in the room was good to have as we used the fridge to store out own drinks etc. However it was not expensive the mini bar anyway if you needed something before you had chance to buy your own.

Free toiletries and a really good body shampoo was in the bathroom and was really good quality.

The only negative was that the window looked into all other bedroom windows and therefore it was warm and stuffy with little air circulating. It was a little noisy but closing the window stopped that. No air con in the room meant it was very warm. They do have rooms that look out onto the main road but I saw there were a lot that looked out onto this area we had.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nwlndnnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last may. decent location, 10-15 minutes walk to the beach which is really pretty as it sits adjacent to the port. The area is used for the F1 street race and Moto GP.
Oceangraphic and the science city is also nearby.
The hotel is clean and modern. reasonable price also. 3 star standard for europe.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights in January 2012. The room was a bit small, but pleasant and practically it had everything to feel comfortable/cosy in it. The bathroom was nice with the huge mirror and what I really liked in it was the extra infra light installed to its ceiling. I also enjoyed the breakfast, and I liked the special thing (which I have not seen before in any hotel), that there was a wide selection of teas with special mugs. In the neighbourhood of the hotel there is a huge shopping center and a Corte Ingles department store. There are also bars and fast food restaurants, so you can always make your shopping or have a bite until late hours. From the hotel either you can walk to the city center or you take a metro. There is a nice park next to the hotel from where you can reach several sightseeings like for example the BIOPARC (a tropical ZOO). All in all the location and the price-quality relation makes this hotel attractive. Also the stuff was nice, so for a few nights I can definetly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitierra1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Hotel is well situated...near centre between the Port and the Centre.. Hotel itself is average, a bit worn down to say the least. No real amenities. Good for a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKH0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
NH Valencia Las Ciencias
#51 of 100 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
NH Valencia Las Artes
#33 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
AC Hotel Valencia
#34 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Valencia
#64 of 100 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
El Carme
NH Valencia Center
NH Valencia Center
#24 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Ciudad de Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Ciudad de Valencia

Property: NH Ciudad de Valencia
Address: Avenida Puerto 214 | Maritimo, 46023 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Valencia
#22 Family Hotel in Valencia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Ciudad de Valencia 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star NH Ciudad de Valencia puts you in the heart of the vibrant Avenida del Puerto, with easy access to all Valencia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Ciudad de Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Ciudad De Valencia Hotel Valencia
Nh Hotels Valencia
Nh Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing