We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh. Paella was OK and plentiful.”
Review of Baldo

Baldo
Ranked #1,395 of 3,487 Restaurants in Valencia
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sant Francesc
Description: Cerveceria, restaurante, arroceria y barra de tapas en el centro de Valencia.Cocina de mercado. Al mas puro estilo tradicional.En Baldo te ofrecemos las tapas y los platos de siempre en el mismo centro de la ciudad.Un espacio con varios lugares donde descubrir la vitalidad y el ajetreo de una cerveceria de las de siempre.
Mons
Level Contributor
278 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Meh. Paella was OK and plentiful.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I thought the service was OK and the food was OK, too. As indicated, pretty much a touristy place. The smoked ham, of course, was AWESOME. We were outside and a bit far from the nearest heat lamp, so a bit chilly.

Did have one of the street folk wander up and hit us up for money. Interestingly, he was VERY persistent and hung in there for an awkward length of time before he moved on.

Also enjoyed the street show of the African guys with their bundle of junk they sell, peering around the corner, then sprinting off down the alley when a policeman wandered into view.

Overall, not too bad, gets an average, it'll work in a pinch, but I'm certain there's better out there, just gotta find it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NATOPatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    110
    100
    60
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For the Tourist”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Average food, average prices and not much else. The best thing about the place is the waitress who was very nice. The Paella was burnt, but the shrimps were tasty. Order a Mojito and you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ilndhpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tapas Late Night!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went out on a Sunday to find Tapas at 10:00 P.M. Several other restaurants that we had seen closed earlier we still closed. I guess they don't open on Sundays. Baldo was easy to find, located in a well lit area and had outside or inside seating available. Their outside seating had heat lamps going but we elected to dine indoors to avoid the possibility of smokers. The wait staff spoke English and was patient with our elementary Spanish. When we weren't making sense he would just ask us in English to clarify the order. We started with a bottle of Cava and had Peppers, goat cheese salad with cranberries, a half order of cheese plate, ham croquettes, and Pan with fresca tomato and basil. For dessert we had a delicious chocolate cake. The Cava was a rose' and went with everything (17,00 Euros). The service was good and the food was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Looks good, but poor service and average food.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Well presented, but the service was poor - no interest from the waiter and the bill was wrong. Pestered by beggars - not the fault of the restaurant, but its position invites this sort of thing. Disappointing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unhappy staff make for a great night!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

As the Heavens opened, we just stopped at the nearest place and this was it. The atmosphere was good - particularly as Spanish football final was on - and the food was nice but average. The menu was obviously geared towards the tourist as it was complete with pictures - it was like being back in Wimpy! However, the person serving us was obviously a bit fed up with management and was more than happy to just keep filling our glass (without charge!) whilst off loading about the treatment of staff. Happy Days! Even without the free wine, it would make a good, average, quick stop for food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baldo also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Baldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing