We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great paella, friendly staff, full of locals”
Review of Canela

Canela
Ranked #47 of 3,494 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great paella, friendly staff, full of locals”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had tried the usual paella places at the port, including the much-touted Pepica (which was very good, but overpriced), early on in our stay. La Canela was recommended by a local as his personal favorite for paella in Valencia, and we were not disappointed. They actually have two locations on the same street only a few doors down from each other next to the Torres de Quart. Both the food and service were excellent, especially when considering we arrived for lunch without reservations on a busy weekend. We had the paella valenciana, which is not the seafood one served in so many places, but the traditional local one with pieces of chicken and rabbit that is still the best rice dish we've had in Spain. For food this good, it's almost petty to mention price, but it's worth remembering that it was much better than the stuff at the port and also much cheaper.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    584
    121
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medford,MA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious Rice Dishes”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had one day in Valencia and made a fortuitous pick to have Sundaylunch at Canela's ''bodegon' just up the street from the restaurant. The staff was super, welcoming, good service and the food was delicious and very fairly priced. We had been in search for the perfect paella for a week and took the opportunity at Canela's to try a 'meloso' which is a brothy rice dish in the region that is the epicenter of'arrocces'. It was superb, the stock flavoring the bomba rice was delicious. With a starter of sweet steamed mussels inabig pot andabottle of dry Spanish 'rosado' we capped off our two weeks in Spain vowing to return assoonashumanly possible. Canela is a very good choice inThe historic center ofValencia. Definitely plan to go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreatDaysInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worse Restaurant in VALENCIA”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have been out in Valencia several times and never been treated so bad.
This Restaurant ruined my day out with my friends. The Service was TERRIBLE. The food came out late and the rice was so overcooked that was inedible.
We complained to the waiter and not only they did not apologised but also told us that we did not understand the rice culture. UNBELIEVABLE.

On top of that it was really expensive.
I would not recommend it to anyone who appreciates food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unfortunately this was not our day”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came across for a lunch. The place was noisy and busy. Because of our small child we were sitted on the ground floor next to the stairs. Well... this was not the best choice from the beginning. I was disturbed from the waiter all the time passing over my head. We ordered directly a main dish which was almost the same price as the menu option. It was quite disappointing that there are very few options if you want to have something different than the paellas or the menu. Almost, no choice! The dishes came without to be explained what is what. This was also very disappointing. I had to find and ask the waiter to fix this misunderstanding. The food was OK but not enough for a main dish at the price almost equal to the menu. Semi-hungry we left the place and decided not to give it a second chance. There are dozens of other interesting places which know how handle better theirs customers... Again, this was not a bad place but maybe we did not have a luck at that day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank loco_loko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“The BEST Meal........ Anywhere - Ever”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We just finished dining at Canela a few moments ago and HAD to write this while all details are fresh. We arrived about seven minutes prior to their closing for lunch. We had traveled the last 15 hours by train from Lisbon and were tired and hungry. We chose Canela based on Trip Advisor reviews and really wanted to partake in this experience. The waiter convinced the kitchen to stay open and off we were on our journey. The decor is very pleasing and the art and music perfect. We decided upon the set menu for 2 with the main dish being the Paella with Black Rice. We did not realize we had just embarked upon a SEVEN course journey! Some advice - GO HERE and have the SET MENU! We also had a bottle of water and a bottle of wine and coffee ......the ENTIRE bill was 58 Euro.....this place will soon be the number One restaurant in Valencia, if not Spain! JUST MARVELOUS

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canela also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing