We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have paid more.”

Refugio- Restaurante del Carmen
Reserve with
Refugio- Restaurante del Carmen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 3,532 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurante del Carmen in the historic quarter of Valencia is known for its seasonal cooking with high quality ingredients, careful presentation, friendly and informal service and its excellent value for money. All of the dishes are made in-house, including the desserts. The seasonal menu always has a selection of rice, fish and meat dishes and a wide variety of vegetarian options. The ambience is intimate but lively, with two dining rooms. There is a carefully designed wine list and a wide variety of infusions and the restaurant also offers food and wine matching dinners and special menus for groups.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would have paid more.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Great place! Was busy, but sat us (2) down right away. The menu ia not long, but very interesting. Started off witha bottle of white wine (14euro! I love Spain) and the ceviche. OMFG the ceviche with coconut milk was one of the most amazing things I've ever had. We litteraly drank the last bit of it in the bowl lol. Tjey were out of the Rape (monkfish), so we had the other two fish dishes, tuna and cod. I had the tuna it was perfection. The cod my girlfriend had, itself, was very, very good, but the sauce it was in was a bit too citrus-y and underdeveloped compared to the miso sauce I had. I gave only 4/5 for service, but I think slower service is fashionable in Europe right? Rediculous dinner, would've paid more!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    177
    54
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Do not be deceived by appearance!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

it did not look like much from the outside and the inside is ordinary. The owner is not ordinary and extremely friendly. The food was everything but ordinary. The presentation of the food was absolutely beautiful and all the courses was excellent. The desert had goats' cheese ice cream that sounds risky- but the tastes and textures of the desert was absolutely wonderful.
A wonderful place to try, look for it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KittyLamprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another fantastic restaurant in Carmen”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner, Refugio looks like a hole in the wall from the outside, but has a lot more space than you'll think. The courses were top class (except for the dessert that partialy had goat cheese as an ingredient, which did not please my pallet), but the cheviche was the best I ever had anywhere in the world, and the duck as well as the venison were also great choices. As we spend four weeks in Valencia, we intend to go back to eat and test more of the menu! Great service too, although the coffee machine was broken....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Einar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very nice people”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Hi, we passed by by chance and decided to try it, the owner and the people there are extremely friendly and the food is excellent. If you like tuna, try theirs - it is awesome. Otherwise they make excellent fish!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baptiste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abququerque
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a foodie to try”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Super lucky to rent an apartment near this place! Creative, yet approachable food. Try the goat cheese stuffed with artichokes and figs, the tuna...most likely anything you order will be great. Service good, owner very friendly. One night there was a family celebration, yes this is not a tourist-only restaurant, locals come, too. Well worth a second, or third visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Refugio- Restaurante del Carmen also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Refugio- Restaurante del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing