We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
68
16
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the city center rooftop terrace perfect location old town short walk metro station within walking distance virgin toiletries cathedral square bike reception facilities wifi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 85 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

Nice and new hotel. Great place to stay. Very good location and great tips. There's a parking nearby. Theres no breakfast, but thats ok. Valencia has some great places to have breakfast. And as bonus: a fantastic rooftop terrace with view on the cathedral and lounge sets!! Next time we come to valencia, it will be the same hotel!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD Design Hotel P, Propietario at MD Design Hotel - Portal del Real, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Dear Jorge P, It has been a pleasure to have you as a guest. I want to thank on behalf of all the team that works with the intention of offering our guests the best services. We continually strive to offer the best quality and ensure that all our guests return to their homes with beautiful memories of their stay at our hotel. Once again we thank you for your kind opinion, it has been a pleasure for us to read it and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Best regards. MD DESIGN HOTEL - Portal del Real.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019

This flat is absolutely great. It’s recently been renovated so the kitchen and the bathroom are fantastic. The location is priceless as we could walk to most places we wanted to. I’d definitely come back and stay here.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aysentg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD Design Hotel P, Propietario at MD Design Hotel - Portal del Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2019

Dear Aysentg, It has been a pleasure to have you as a guest at our hotel. I want to thank on behalf of all the team that works with the intention of offering our guests the best services. We continually strive to offer the best quality and ensure that all our guests return to their homes with beautiful memories of their stay at our hotel. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best regards. MD DESIGN HOTEL - Portal del Real.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

The hotel is 5 min walk to the Cathedral and opposite to the park. It also has a nice Roof top chill out area, perfect to have a summer wine in the evening. The frontdesk gave valuable ideas for visits and restaurants in the city and atthe seaside. We really enjoyed our 3 days trip.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD Design Hotel P, Propietario at MD Design Hotel - Portal del Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2019

Dear Kai R, I want to thank on behalf of all the team that works with the intention of offering our guests the best services. We continually strive to offer the best quality and ensure that all our guests return to their homes with beautiful memories of their stay at our hotel. Once again we thank you for your kind opinion, it has been a pleasure for us to read it and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Best regards. MD DESIGN HOTEL - Portal del Real.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I stayed over a weekend. Room was quite small but adequate. There was no breakfast on offer and reception was only staffed for a few hours during the middle of the day. This cramped our style a bit as you had to wait around to see the lady, so could not start exploring too early. No breakfast also meant we had to search for something, as no reception meant no one to ask. Thankfully we found a nice place not too far away.
Actually the location is the best thing going for this hotel as it was very close to the main things to see.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Fodinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD Design Hotel P, Propietario at MD Design Hotel - Portal del Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2019

Dear Fodinette, The hotel has a reception from 9:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. Outside of that schedule there are concierge staff who do not perform administrative tasks. Customers can enter the hotel with a personal access code 24 hours a day, once they have checked in.
The hours to access the rooms on the day of your arrival is from 12:00.
The hotel has rooms with different categories. You stayed in a Double room. The Comfort Double Room and the Superior Double Room are larger. This information is available when customers make their reservation.
Best regards. MD DESIGN HOTEL - Portal del Real.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Valencia for a long weekend.

The location is excellent - only a block from the Turia Gardens and (once you figure out the maze-like streets) only a short walk from the Plaza de La Virgin (the city's prettiest square). It sits on a quiet one-block long street. It is a 10-15 minute walk from the Colon metro stop from which you can catch a direct train to the airport.

Our room was beautiful. Very modern, maybe a bit spartan, with high ceilings and a large window that could be opened. It felt very clean and fresh. The bed was two beds pushed together, but comfortable. Our room also had a futon in the entry area when you first walk into the room - perfect for a child but not so great for an adult. The bathroom was large and had a wonderful walk-in shower with a rain water shower head and very warm water. Our only complaint was that there was no safe (at least that we could find), and the lighting could have been better. The TV had many channels, some of which you could change the language to watch in English.

There is a rooftop terrace which we took a look at but never used. There is no bar or pool or music there, just seating areas. So, you'll need to bring your own drinks and music.

The main thing to note is that this is not a full-service hotel.

The reception is only open until 8:30pm. After that time, you can enter only through a side-door using a 4-digit key code that the hotel provides you. We didn't realise this when booking online and were very worried when the hotel later emailed to advise us of this because we were arriving on our first night well after 8:30pm. However, it was no problem. Prior to our arrival, the hotel emailed us the entry code and our room number. They advised that our room would be unlocked with the key left on the inside of the door. When we arrived, everything was as the hotel had advised. We formally checked in the next morning.

There is no on-site bar or restaurant, and the hotel does not offer a breakfast. Again, this was no problem. On our first morning, the hotel receptionist recommended Saona on Plaza de la Virgin and Kiosko La Pergola on the other side of the Turia Gardens. We ate at Saona one morning, and it was quite nice sitting outside on the city's main public square. However, we much preferred the Brunch Corner. it is a small cafe a short walk from the hotel with outdoor seating on a small neighbourhood square (Placa de Sant Bult). Their food was fantastic and served in large portions. The menus had English translations, and the servers spoke English. It is a great place to eat especially if you like pancakes or bagels. We ate there 3 out of our 4 mornings. We never made it to the Kiosko La Pergola, so can't advise. The funny thing is that the hotel receptionist had never heard of the Brunch Corner, which was a bit odd considering what a good option it is.

I would highly recommend this hotel to someone who wants a nicely designed room but doesn't care about extra hotel amenities.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank benjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD Design Hotel P, Propietario at MD Design Hotel - Portal del Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2019

Dear benjin, It has been a pleasure to have you as a guest at our hotel. I want to thank on behalf of all the team that works with the intention of offering our guests the best services. We continually strive to offer the best quality and ensure that all our guests return to their homes with beautiful memories of their stay at our hotel. Once again we thank you for your kind opinion, it has been a pleasure for us to read it and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Best regards. MD DESIGN HOTEL - Portal del Real.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews