We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of RACO DEL TURIA

RACO DEL TURIA
Ranked #53 of 3,436 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Valencian Cuisine. 15 different Paella dishes on the menu. Typical valencian & mediterranean starters. Wild caught fishes cooked in the oven or grilled with vegetables. Grilled beef steak & roast suckling pig. Home-made desserts. 500 labels on the wine list. The service is very professional, helpful & friendly. Enjoy your meal at our main dining room, private dining room or outside in the terrace.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,109 reviews
534 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly service”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went to this family-run traditional restaurant on recommendation of our hotel and we were given a very friendly welcome. The menu is available separately in Spanish and English and they gave us one of each because they realised I could speak Spanish. The menu was fantastic, including some well-priced 3-course etc menus del día. But we had come here for a traditional paella so decided to stick to our original plan and ordered the paella valenciana. We also tried a starter of smoked sardines which was amazing. The paella was delicious- the best chicken I have ever tasted, rabbit and snails (which, as usual, didn't taste of much!). The waiter told us the way to eat paella is just to dig in with your spoon (!) and use the small plate to cut your meat on. It really was delicious and we had a fresh, local white wine, Mestizaje, to drink with it. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    312
    93
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we visited in Valencia”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food was excellent, the service was excellent. The wine list very good and reasonably priced, as was the whole meal. .Very friendly, helpful people. They even sold us for very little 2 large bottles of water to take back to the hotel. the ambiance was nice. They have some outside tables but it looks too much like eating on the pavement (which is what it is) so inside is better. Not a fancy restaurant but just a nice place to have dinner. We can highly recommend it and if we are ever back in Valencia we will go there again. Of all my reviews this is up there with the best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GIDAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The BEST Paella in Spain”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had Paella all over Spain; Madrid, Estepona, Sevilla, Cordoba, Granada, Valencia, Albufera. In some of these cities we had paella more than once and in more than one restaurant. This was the best. Two others were on top 3 list, one in Albufera, and another in Valencia.

It took a while to get the paella, and when it arrived we could see why. It had been individually made on a stovetop in the pan with the rice at the edges a tiny bit crusted (the way I like it). We ordered the seafood paella, not the most attractive, but the seafood had a perfect texture, and the rice had a powerful perfect taste. Most of the other paellas we had had had obviously been prepared in a larger pan and merely transferred to a smaller pan.

We ate outside on a great evening. people who had come without a reservation could not be accommodated, so reserve ahead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MkMD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Level Contributor
900 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Pretty Spanish Restaurant, with Good Food and Great Service”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our first night in Valencia we came here for dinner. We really enjoyed our meal. It's a pretty restaurant in a lovely neighborhood. Wood beam ceilings, Old Spanish tiles, and a mixture of old photos of the cities and oil paintings on the walls. They have menus in English or Spanish.

The wait staff are wonderful (best we've had in Spain)....they never let our water or wine glasses get empty. We ordered the anchovy appetizer which was very good. We also ordered the Paella Valenciana. It was huge - we could barely finish it. The rice was incredibly flavorful. Big pieces of chicken and rabbit as well as artichokes, white beans, snails, green beans. The mango sorbet was delicious way to end our meal. They have a good wine list, and fair prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best paella in Spain”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We took their traditional paella which was mindblowing. The rabbit was well cooked, the rice was just the right consistency and the taste was perfectly seasoned. Paired with a bottle of red wine, this has got to be one of my best restaurant experience in Spain this far. Would love to revisit this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Ingky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RACO DEL TURIA also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to RACO DEL TURIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing