We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good food & friendly staff”
Review of Raco del Turia

Raco del Turia
Ranked #56 of 3,506 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional Valencian Cuisine. 15 different Paella dishes on the menu. Typical valencian & mediterranean starters. Wild caught fishes cooked in the oven or grilled with vegetables. Grilled beef steak & roast suckling pig. Home-made desserts. 500 labels on the wine list. The service is very professional, helpful & friendly. Enjoy your meal at our main dining room, private dining room or outside in the terrace.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good value, good food & friendly staff”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

An attractive, typically Spanish restaurant a short walk from the city centre. The staff were friendly & attentive. We had the Fideua (like paella but with noodles instead of rice), which was huge & delicious. The Spanish tend to eat much later than than in the UK, so if you're looking for a good atmosphere, try eating after 9pm (when most of the tourists have gone).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Middleageexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    321
    100
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Alright”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

On a business visit to Valencia for a local exhibition I searched Tripadvisor for a suitable restaurant for our "special" night out. I settled on this one as it had the best menu options for my husband who keeps it simple usually with steak and chips. The booking process through the website was excellent and they contacted me to confirm almost immediately in perfect English which was actually neccesary but was appreciated. We were seated quickly but I found the decor a little bright for a meal for a couple, it was more suited to larger groups. The restaurant quickly filled with locals about half had booked and half turned up on spec. The vodka for the vodka and tonic was frozen in the bottle which is one way of saving on ice but after a little defrosting it was finally served. The menu came in english and we settled n the pate which was lovely and the steak and chips for both of us although I suspect my "medium to rare" steak was over cooked for the English palatte when I would have preferred it as asked for. We both polished off the steaks, a bottle of wine and the 2 starters and the total was €130 euros which we thought was a bit steep. The food was ok but nothing special, Pairal in Castellon, 40km down the road is much better. We would go back but it wouldn't be the first choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLakesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but be careful as of tourist”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming Good, either the service and the food....BUT as I read the message on the bread, I can tell that they do not give any advices on the impact on the bill. !! We were 2 adults and 2 kids ( 8 and 2 years old) we ordered food for the kids ( they do not have a children menu for a family restaurant !) so full charge on the bill, but the worst, we did order 2 paellas differents as they say you neeed to be at least to be two to order paellas. So we had two great paellas we could not finish, we thought at that time that it was quite big...but we understood at the end on the bill as 2 adults we had 4 paellas !!! At any time, they informed us that it might be too much for 2!! They really want us to pay full charge as tourist. We claim at the end that it was no kind to not inform that the obligation to be two persons for a paella, need also to get the same one otherwise you get 4 paellas !!! No compensation at the end, it spoiled the all expactation of a good family diner.

Helpful?
2 Thank Fab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Is that the best Paella there is?”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I haven't had too many paellasto eat but I would have expected a bit more, maybe also a bit nicer presented. The service was very good, the recommendation of the wine as well. So overall a good eating out but not more.

Helpful?
Thank Tru-Mar-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
163 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent foodie location”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We chose here based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. It was also in the locality of our hotel. A Paella speciality, we chose the fish version to avoid the rabbit in the Valencian special. You could eat outside but the road wasn't very interesting and was a bit noisy. Staff spoke english and service was good, local decor lacking some feeling.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raco del Turia also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Raco del Turia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing