We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good & authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of RACO DEL TURIA

RACO DEL TURIA
Ranked #53 of 3,436 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Valencian Cuisine. 15 different Paella dishes on the menu. Typical valencian & mediterranean starters. Wild caught fishes cooked in the oven or grilled with vegetables. Grilled beef steak & roast suckling pig. Home-made desserts. 500 labels on the wine list. The service is very professional, helpful & friendly. Enjoy your meal at our main dining room, private dining room or outside in the terrace.
Prestwick
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good & authentic”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a very nice meal here and would return. There are some nice items on the menu here which I didnt see in many other restaurants. They cater for english speakers only and it is reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arusse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    312
    93
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The best paella ever”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by the hotel as the place to get a traditional paella, and it turned out to be an excellent recommendation. We had Lobster paella and it was outstanding. The service was friendly and the atmosphere good even on a Tuesday night. Our only slight reservation was the cheese board which was international and we believe would have been better to have local or at least all spanish cheese. The wine was also good and good value and I loved my dessert of nougat ice cream!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maisieandjazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Paella”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As the restaurant was very close to the hotel we were staying & was given good rating on Trip Advisor we decided to give it a try. My partner & I sat outside soaking up the atmosphere of the busy street & shared a Cod,Cauliflower & Chickpea Paella which we both throughly enjoyed washed down with a lovely bottle of Albarino (The paella dishes are for 2 to share & come served in a Paella pan). They did ask if we wanted bread & we accepted - the bread came with some crips, this served as our starter! The staff were very good & didn't rush us at any time which gave us time for our paella to go down before we decided to have desert - sweet potato & hazlenut tart for me & Jijona "turrón" ( almond ) ice-cream with caramel sauce for my partner - both were very good. We enjoyed the meal here so much we came back for our last night in Valencia a few nights later this time sharing a Paella with pork ribs, Valencian sausages, cauliflower, chickpeas & spring garlic which again we both enjoyed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antony_Toop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place, good service, salty paella”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

For those of you that are used to dining early, it is worth noting that this restaurant opens at 2030. There are approximately 5-6 tables on the sidewalk so for one of those, you will need to arrive early/ make reservations. Sitting outside when the weather is good makes it a lovely experience but we were sat next to smokers who tarnished the experience somewhat.

We were served some freshly made homemade chips which were really tasty as a house starter. We ordered the croquettes to start and found them to be average. We had better elsewhere as a tapas dish and also these were quite expensive. €10.80 for 6 (2 mushroom, 2 ham and 2 seafood). We ordered the seafood paella (with cuttlefish, monkfish & prawns) and it came in a big shallow pan which could feed 3, instead of 2. We also found it to be far too salty for our liking. We also tried the sangria with cava and found that we preferred the usual sangria with red wine. One starter, paella for 2 and 1 jug of sangria came up to €62.16.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service..”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Before we went to this restaurant we read the comments on Tripadvisor. The restaurant was recommended by one of the staffmembers of our hotel.
First I'd like to say that they're absolutely doing something with the comments written here.. They asked whether we wanted bread
or not...we didn't want it and off course we didn't pay for it either...
we ate the gamba carpaccio which we loved! It was really delicious and quite a lot (we shared the dish). Both of the maindishes were very good as well.. We had more than enough after the starter and maindish.so we didn't take desert.
The staff was very friendly and correct so we had a lovely evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RACO DEL TURIA also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to RACO DEL TURIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing