We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Home Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #33 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Jena, Thüringen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and Good”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

For my stay in Valencia I really chose the cheapest Hostel I could find. I didn't expect anything, as the bed was just 8€ a night. What I got was quite a nice stay with clean rooms and friendly staff. I met a lot of nice people here and I was happy to have a big kitchen, where's enough soace to sit and talk and the amazing roof terace! Great! Only the prices to use a computer where really too high. (But there is free WiFi anyway)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    59
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
11
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This hostel gets my vote on best kitchen and common room ever! It really has everything you need to cook!
Terrace is cool too!
Rooms are great, with secure lockers for your bag and belongings! The only thing I would make a small complaint about is the plastic mattress and pillow. If you don't hire linen (for a price) it's not comfortable!
Even though the numbers of guests were small, the atmosphere was a lot of fun

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkibaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Home Backpackers is an ideallic place to stay in Valencia, it is within walking distance to all major sights in the city. IT offers a Kitchen to cook your own food and fridges. The hostel offers either paella or burgers and sangria or mojitos nightly for a small price. The roof top terrace is great for chatting and hanging out yet we were booted off at 10pm everynight which just drove about 100 people to the street everynight so we could keep on going. The showers and toilets were clean and easily accessible with several on each floor. The rooms were basic but include linen and a fan which is a bonus!! The staff were friendly and helpful and i found the environment to be safe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dek207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great location, nice peoples, friendly staff and roof terrasse. Rooms don't have air con but still ok. Paella for 5 euro. Mojito every night for 2.50. Really easy to make friends. The location is great is really quite around also if the hostel is 2 min away from a really busy (party!) street!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was really excited to stay here, because i heard it was really cool. Too bad it was nothing special. It was adequate overall. Highlight were the staff who were friendly, informative and welcoming. Otherwise, the place was too big, with people everywhere all the time. It had some cool features like video games in the lounge, but you had to pay. Cleanliness was okay, no A/C meant we had to leave the window open, which made it hard to sleep since it's located near a lot of bars. Location was good, but there are so many other new hostels in Valencia that you can easily find better value for your money. I will be staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellojello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Good hostel with a good vibe, home was easy to stay in, good location, all of the staff are very friendly and not much bothers them. Was a good place to chill and very social ;) could do with air con but if you are low-maintenance and like going out at night anyway it doesn't matter.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Rooms were clean and of an OK size... and the lockers were OK. The key mechanism was a bit tricky to get right but once I got the knack of it they did the job. The rooms were noisy - could hear everything on the street.

Unisex bathrooms weren't clearly marked so at first I thought there was only male bathrooms.... but yeah. Once I figured that out I was right as rain. The bathrooms were a good size and the showers were good.

Staff were friendly and helpful, every night they have a guy named Mario come in and do some cooking which was nice. I had the burgers and they were tastey! The kitchen is really good!

The location wasn't too bad. In an interesting area. Was fun just exploring from there.

Overall had a pretty good experience there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brodinatorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
El Mercat
Home Youth Hostel Valencia by Feetup
Red Nest Hostel
#22 of 175 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
La Xerea
The River Hostel
The River Hostel
#11 of 175 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UP! Hostel Valencia
#34 of 175 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Center Valencia Youth Hostel
#102 of 175 in Valencia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
La Xerea
Purple Nest Hostel
Purple Nest Hostel
#21 of 175 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Backpackers Hostel

Property: Home Backpackers Hostel
Address: Plaza Vicente Iborra s/n, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > El Carme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for low-cost accommodation in Valencia, Feetup Home Backpackers Hostel is the place for you. We're one of the best places to stay in the El Carmen district, only 10 minutes from the bus and train stations. Feetup Home Backpackers Hostel is located in the El Carmen district, right in the centre of Valencia. The hostel is in a building that was formerly a religious school and which was changed into a Youth Hostel. It is a safe, calm, young and international place to stay, with lots of colour, harmony, natural light and a friendly and fun atmosphere for travellers and backpackers. In short, a youth hostel in the centre of Valencia and above all, very low-cost and one in which you'll feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Home Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing