We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reviews helped me chose this restaurant and they didnt let me down”
Review of Al Pomodoro

Al Pomodoro
Ranked #58 of 3,487 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: La Xerea
Description: Authentic but not typical Italian restaurant. Best pizza restaurant located in the very center of Valencia. Available Menu for celiac disease sufferers. Excellent value and service. Nice service. Very recommendable!Winner of excellence certificate in 2013 and 2014!
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“reviews helped me chose this restaurant and they didnt let me down”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

i am currently not eating wheat,gluten and dairy so i needed somewhere that would cater for this whilst visiting Valencia. This restaurant had a great atmosphere and our waiter whos name i believe was Peppe was fantastic. He explained everything to the best of his ability from Spanish to English. There were about 6 dishes that were gluten and wheat free but only one had no dairy too so i went for the burger which came with 2 fried eggs and sliced tomatoes. It was really lovely.
The only real negative was the late opening time which was 9pm but most restaurants dont open until 8pm onwards in Valencia so it is quite common but later than most.
The only little hitch with the meal was due to my meal being specially made we were told it would take about 15 minutes to make, this wasn't a problem and the waiter being thoughtful bought up a little sealed bag which when we opened it contained mini bread rolls, to keep us going whilst we waited. Sadly these bread rolls were not gluten and wheat free but i had to ask this. Maybe as a suggestion they could offer an alternative like nuts or small salad instead of bread. Give this place a try and you won't be disappointed. P.s if you purchase the Valencia travel card you can get a discount of 8% off your meal at this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank numee28Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicios, Propietario at Al Pomodoro, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest,

I greatly apreciate your feed back about our "Al Pomodoro".

I am happy that we could give you a good service during your stay in Valencia!

Thanks again!!!

Laura Motolese Lazzáro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    244
    64
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading several good reviews on trip advisor, we tried Al Pomodoro and it was a real find close to our hotel
Vincci Palace. Very friendly staff. The pasta and pizza are very good. We went twice during our short stay in Valencia. Also open on Sunday evenings. My only recommendation is to stock more Limoncello and Averna :) definitely recommend!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicios, Propietario at Al Pomodoro, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest!
Thank you very very much for your fantastic feed back!
I will inform the whole organization about it.

Laura Motolese Lazzáro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice authentic Italian food.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This restaurant is a quite modern establishment in an old part of the city. It is very popular with locals and tourists alike so you may need to reserve tables in busy months.
I had a Pizza which had a nice thin base with fresh topping, my wife had one of the many Italian salads which was also very good. Wine is good value by the glass and there is a very good bar opposite the restaurant where you can have your pre-prandial cocktail!
If you like authentic Italian food the this is worth a try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimetoTravelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicios, Propietario at Al Pomodoro, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest!
Thank you so much for your graet feed back about "Al Pomodoro"....these are the things that really motivate us to go on with our job day by day.
Thnks again!

Laura Motolese Lazzáro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Manga Spain
Level Contributor
298 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Here we are again”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Waited more than a year to return here again, and we certainly weren't disappointed... Once again it was fabulous! great food,great service and super atmosphere. Doesn't open till 9.30pm but the square across has a couple of bars for pre diner cocktails or in my case a pint or two. Can certainly recommend you eat here.

Helpful?
Thank Ant_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicios, Propietario at Al Pomodoro, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very very much for your positive feed back!

The whole organisation will be happy about it!
Thanks again!

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go get your frisby.........”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Found the place, cosy and comfortable atmosphere. The pizza though, was not that comforting. The pizza base was disastrous, my husband, Federico thinks that the oven was not hot enough, and the outcome was like "biscuits".
Tasty indeed, but a disappointment, as the base of a pizza, makes the pizza.....or a frisbee....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Federico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicios, Propietario at Al Pomodoro, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
First of all, thank you so much for your feed back....and even more because it is a negative one!

It helps us to improve every day.

I am so sorry for your bad experience with our though! I will check on it to avoid repeating the mistake.

I am very sorry indeed and even more because i can do nothing about it,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Pomodoro also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Al Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing