We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
Review of Avondale Motor Inn

Avondale Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avondale Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avondale
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed for three nights and were very happy with this accommodation. There rooms were nice and the queen size bed (very comfortable). The owners were also very friendly and welcoming. Would Definetly stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanetteCollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 40 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

NOT WORTH THE PRICE OF MY INTERNATIONAL PHONE CALL! Though I didn't stay here, I called to enquire about accommodation in this area. A young girl 'Jessica' answered the phone, the first call I was hung up on. The second call she was rude, arrogant, extremely inhospitable and suggested I call somewhere else when I asked to talk to someone else more helpful. Furthermore, when I asked the name of the manager she replied 'the manager is my mum and she's not here!'

Dear management/owners, if this is the kind of service you receive over the phone I can only imagine the type of inhospitable, hostile service you provide at your establishment. I've worked in the tourism and travel industry for 20 years, have never been spoken to in this manner before. You need to look at your staff, in particular 'Jessica', and teach basic manners if you are to succeed in this industry.

Good luck!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
8  Thank Champsellysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed 1 night en route to somewhere else. Treated to a loud and obscene domestic row for 1.5hrs early morning. Although owner on site nothing was done. The prices here offer this sort of risk. The room was tired but clean and not as large as others I have stayed in. Not much else to say really, just tired from lack of sleep due to row.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

While the hosts are very nice people the Motor inn is not. The Motor Inn advertises they have day rooms, and there were certainly some interesting people using them. We ensured our door was locked all times when were at the motor inn and were pleased our children were not there to witness the "interesting People". It was sort of clean except for the kitchen items. These items all had to be cleaned before use and the items were very limited. After one night we made sure that we ate out every night. We would not risk using the pool. They also need to ensure that the garden of the motor inn is tidy as well, a certain used male item was rather off putting. Also thought cost was expensive for what you get. We stayed else where in Auckland on the same break for $20 cheaper at a 4 star hotel including breakfast. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this motel for a week but cancelled after one night. Motels in NZ usually provide more space than hotels, but this room reminded me of Paris hotel rooms with barely enough space to open a suitcase. It was roughly clean but an ugly spider running under a crevice made me uncomfortable and the smell of the cleaning detergent was odd. The entry to the room was via a sliding glass door which opened onto the walkway, around 1 metre from the bed, so if you opened the curtains you had no privacy. We could hear people in the next room. There was an ironing board but no iron.
When we departed the manager tried to charge us an extra $20, after we had already agreed to pay for the second night (under the terms of the booking) even though we were leaving after one night thus allowing them to re-sell the room on a Saturday night on Easter weekend.
Fortunately we managed to find a lovely studio apartment for a similar price at short notice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in Room 218, upstairs at end of block. Clean and tidy, close to parking area on grass around the back of the motel. Only 10 minutes drive into the city. Reasonable for the price. Quiet considering proximity to busy road. Rooms could be better equipped, but we have stayed in cabins for not much less, so good overall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank GayeleneNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had an upstairs room which was clean and tidy. We were originally worried about the men working on cars in the garages next door as they were revving engines etc , but this stopped early on . The rooms could be better equipped but for the price we were happy. travelling around NZ we've paid a lot more for a lot less ! I would stay here again

Room Tip: An upstairs one seems to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avondale Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Motor Inn

Address: 85 Ash Street | Avondale, Avondale, Auckland 1026, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Avondale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avondale
Price Range: $74 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avondale Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Motor Inn Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing