We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New modern Hotel..but..”
Review of Hotel Dna Monse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dna Monse
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days with my wife and 3 year old son. We booked this particular hotel because it's new and modern and the rooms looked nice and big. We weren't disappointed here... The hotel is 2 years old but still looks like it opened yesterday. Extremely clean. I happened to walk into our room while it was being cleaned one day and the room cleaner was doing an amazing job scrubbing the whole bath and doing an all round thorough job. The rooms in general are big we had a massive big bed ( although very hard which seems the Spanish way) the bathrooms are very roomy with nice powerful showers. I was a little disappointed with such a new and modern hotel there was no DVD player which would have been fantastic for my son considering there is only 2 English Channels which are both news programs.
The pool is lovely and the water was not freezing like others we went too. It also has nice shallow area for the kids. We were there very early for the season which could be the case but we were very disappointed the pool bar wasn't open at all. There was a phone you could use if you wanted something but this in my option defeats the purpose. Would have been nice to grab a drink while sunbathing.
Most of the staff were nice and friendly although I have to mention one particular staff member who served the breakfast. I don't think she could crack a smile if she tried and when we asked her for coffee it was like we were putting her out. Please don't expect much regarding the breakfast! It's the same everyday and there is lots of room for improvement.
And now for my biggest disappointment the Spa.
Firstly although I didn't use the spa pool itself it did looked fantastic. You are required to wear a swimming cap tho (purchased for 3euro)
I booked a 60min pedicure for my wife and a 60min massage for myself ( 40euros each). Sadly my wife told me it was a very unprofessional pedicure, for 60mins didn't even include a foot massage and the 1 coat of nail Polish was chipping off the very next day.
I personally arrived for my appointment exactly on time at 6pm. Once I was finally let into the spa area as this door is kept locked, I was then just left standing there waiting quite awkwardly for the next 15minutes in the reception as there are no seats. I guess all I really want to say about the massage itself was simply it was the worst I've ever had in my life and although I made it very clear twice I like hard pressure I just don't think the girl was either bothered or trained in what she was doing. Overall for the price a very disappointing experience.
Great hotel, but Sadly let down with some of the services offered.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosco_andCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,
Agradecemos su comentario y que haya querido transmitir cómo ha sido su estancia en Hotel Doña Monse. Para nosotros cada uno de los huéspedes que nos visita es único y damos un gran valor a la descripción que nos hacen de su experiencia.
Nuestro objetivo es lograr cada día la excelencia y, como dice, esto se aprecia en la limpieza de las instalaciones, en el cuidado por los detalles, en la atención a nuestros huéspedes.
Lamentamos que esta atención no fuera de su total agrado en el servicio del desayuno y que el servicio que disfrutaron en nuestro Spa no cumpliese sus expectativas. Tomamos nota de lo que comunica en su opinión y esperamos que esto no le impida volver a visitarnos.
Nuestro personal, altamente cualificado, ofrece una atención exclusiva a cada huésped y hay un objetivo común compartido por todos los miembros que componen el equipo de Hotel Doña Monse, que es brindarles un servicio y un trato personalizado como no lo hayan encontrado en ningún otro establecimiento hotelero.
Es por esto que le recomendamos una nueva visita para disfrutar de cada una de una estancia única y conocer de qué manera hemos ampliado y mejorado nuestros desayunos buffet, con la máxima calidad y el mejor sabor.
Reciba un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 456 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just come back from my stag doo at this hotel I've stayed here before but most of my other friends hadn't and they didn't have a bad thing to say about it nice food and great beer which we drank plenty of it good job they had enough of it :-) my only complaint would be about the roof top pool bar being open and the breakfast could do with more ideal food to choose from but overall great hotel and great customer service staff couldn't have been more helpful and rooms are top quality definitely will be staying here again

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank BigSacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

“Dear guest. We will be pleased to receive you in your next visit to Torrevieja. Our staff works everyday to give you the best service. Every guest is special for us. And we take into account your comment about the breakfast. The roof top pool bar, Pink Café, is open on summer, but guests can enjoy a drink on the roof it they want, because we have got bar service too. Best regards.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Loved it when it first opened two years ago, fabulous menu of the day, very reasonably priced at 10 euros with good wine, went back in August 2012 and equally good, tapas excellent. However, been back this week and so different. The tapas were poor and the prices have increased, the menu of the day has gone up to 13,50 euros and the quality is no where near as good, with poor wine which we did not drink Airen or something, never heard of it. We also tried tapas which were expensive and poor quality. Have they changed chef or management or both? Won't be going back. Didn't stay there, was on holiday staying in an appartment in Lago Jardin, and went there to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel is more corporate than I would have expected. The rooms are large and the bathroom was exceptional, although the bathroom products were very limited as in just bath gel and shampoo along with shower cap etc.
The staff are pleasant. The spa is beautiful but offer very a limited menu.
The restaurant and cafe are very good. Pool area is lovely although the cafe upstairs was not open (this may be seasonal).
Parking is underground and costs 6 euros per day.

Room Tip: Lagoon views are not really worth the extra unless you particularly want to look across a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clementina06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014
Google Translation

“Estimado huésped. Nuestro personal busca siempre que su estancia sea única e inolvidable y nos encanta conocer que la ha disfrutado y que le han gustado nuestras instalaciones. Agradecemos que nos haga llegar su opinión y saber que ha comprobado la calidad y el sabor de nuestro restaurante, así como el privilegio de disfrutar de nuestra terraza con piscina. La barra de ésta, Pink Cafe, se abre en temporada de verano, pero los huéspedes pueden disfrutar de una bebida en la terraza ya que ofrecemos servicio de bar. Le esperamos en su próxima visita a Torrevieja. Reciba un cordial saludo.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at this clean, modern Hotel as part of a group travelling around Spain.

There are very nice views out across the lake for those rooms at the front of the building. It is not very old, rooms all clean, large and modern. Beds comfy and everything worked well. It is not exactly close to the town centre, so expect to get a cab or drive.

Staff were all very pleasant and willing to please. There is a large underground car park and plenty of spaces out the front.

The food was all for a group and so this may be unfair, but dinner was very average and breakfast cramped for space and poor quality fare! The wine list was very limited indeed.

I would go back, but eat out.

Replies to these reviews in Spanish are less than informative.

Room Tip: Pick one on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

18 months old and getting there. The rooms are nice the staff are good, the bar is cool. The restaurant food and service was excellent. But.... the breakfast was not adequate and the pizzeria was inconsistent, good one night and poor the next. Guests pay extra for the pool, undercover parking and you will need a car as its on the outskirts of town. That said this is a good hotel and I would visit again. Above average but not quite very good, so, more to do.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peacorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just stayed there for a couple of nighs when buying an apartement in the area. Never got to try out the spa or anything. The location is not close to anything, really. But the room was very nice and modern. The restaurant was ok. We moved from a Hotel Madrid in the city center wich was awfull. Dna Monse is definetly way, WAY better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nor_Wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014
Google Translation

“Estimado huésped. Es un placer conocer que ha disfrutado de su estancia en Hotel Doña Monse y le recomendamos que vuelva a visitarnos para probar nuestro SPA & Wellness Center y comprobar cuánto puede relajarse en nuestras instalaciones. El hotel se encuentra ubicado en la tranquila urbanización de Los Balcones con diferentes servicios en su entorno, a pocos minutos del centro de la ciudad y de las playas de Torrevieja. Agradecemos su comentario sobre Restaurante El Cucharón y que disfrutara del sabor de sus platos. Recientemente hemos ampliado y mejorado nuestra carta, por lo que esperamos que vuelva a visitarnos pronto. Reciba un cordial saludo."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrevieja
3.2 mi away
Hotel Cano
Hotel Cano
#5 of 19 in Torrevieja
126 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
#3 of 19 in Torrevieja
319 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Fontana Plaza
Hotel Fontana Plaza
#6 of 19 in Torrevieja
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Servigroup La Zenia
Servigroup La Zenia
#1 of 2 in Playa Flamenca
1,157 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Masa International
Hotel Masa International
#4 of 19 in Torrevieja
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Atlas
Aparthotel Atlas
#9 of 19 in Torrevieja
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dna Monse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dna Monse

Address: Avda. Orihuela, 75-Urab. Los Balcones, 03186 Torrevieja, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Torrevieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Price Range: $74 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dna Monse 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a privileged area, just two minutes far from Torrevieja and Orihuela Costa beaches and five minutes far from the city centre. The Hotel Dna Monse offers an exclusive accommodation in a unique environment with views to the Pink Lake and the Mediterranean Sea. It was opened in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dna Monse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing