We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricy”

El Meson De La Costa
Ranked #2 of 595 Restaurants in Torrevieja
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice but pricy”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Not so easy to find as its on one of backstreets just off the sea front. From the outside I had thought it was a bit of a German restaurant, something teutonic about it, but once you walk in your eyes are assaulted by a huge display of fresh seafood and above you hundreds of Iberco Hams hanging from the ceiling.

We went with a couple who had been before and who recommended the tapas and stone cooked steak. The waiter recommended a Cava and we had that followed by house red which was quite inexpensive and fine (they don't push expensive wines on you). Obligatory bread and alioli (delicious), olive oil and salsa. Beware the menu. As the meat and seafood are seasonal they don't have prices. Some of these are quite expensive. Read on. Our tapas starters were garlic bread, ham and melon (enough to feed an army) and prawns in olive oil garlic an chilli. Order prawns in any other restaurant you get a few in a small ceramic dish costing 5 euros. Not here, This was a bowl of huge prawns (shell on) with intriguingly two fried eggs in the middle. Eat the prawns then scramble the eggs into the oil mixture at the end was the advice. Best scrambled eggs ever. Nice dish and at 32euros nice price!

Mrs DJ went for a grouper in sauce and the plate was groaning. None was left I noticed. The rest of us went for "Angus" steak on a stone. The meat is slightly pre cooked on a barebecue before being brought to the table. Hots plates are them brought to cook at the table raclette style. A few bits of potato and salad to accompany but basically a quality meat pig out.

Our friends had a Champagne sorbet (with vodka) on the grounds they had ordered it before and it was great. This one was not so great. They mentioned it to the waiter but the response was along the line of hey ho.

The food is very good, the service is good (ignoring the hey ho moment) and the atmosphere is good. If you're eating on a budget avoid but if you want good food well cooked then it is worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Dangelbery_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    187
    66
    24
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barton-le-Clay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Back street delight”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at this restaurant several times and always say the same thing - great food, a shade pricy and why do we always order the tapas as it's too much food and too expensive. But don't let this put you off as this restaurant is well worth a visit as a treat. The food is very good with an extensive menu. The service is great and the theatre of the venue with food displayed everywhere is worth seeing. Booking is necessary. Stone cooked beef is delicious. Just a word of warning, if you eat the bread and chorizo pate they bring to the table you will be charged for it. Be prepared to pay more than usual but enjoy, it's delightful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great service and great quality”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner. Great experience. The service was diligent and helpful
And the food was fantastic
I recommend the pulpo!

Helpful?
Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be Aware Tapas Rip Off.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

El Meson de la Costa has been our favourite restaurant in Torrevieja for many years. The restaurant is very Spanish, with ham hanging down from the ceiling, all kinds of seafood and meat on display.
From previous visits, I should have remembered and been aware when the waiter recommended tapas as a starter, this is a RIP OFF. If you don’t ask the waiter for the price off the suggested tapas, they serve you Jamon Iberico, Cambas Fritas, Salpicon de Cambas, Pan de Repisco, price for one person € 24. The tapas is good, lots off it – to much if you are having a main course and desert to follow.
Last Sunday, on our last visit, I ordered Sollomillo Pimienta medium done. When you order a Tenderloin steak, and the steak is between 120-130 grams, you expect that the little steak is in one piece. When served it looked like one piece, but it was in to thin pieces on top of each other and cooked well done.
I told the waiter that he could tell the chef that the steak was not what I expected. In all fairness the waiter offered to change the dish, but since my family had their main course already on the table I did not want to wait for a new prepared Tenderloin Steak.
We may visit El Meson de la Costa again, but we will not fall for waiter’s suggestions without knowing the price. Neither will we accept that chefs make short cuts.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaxels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Not a nice meeting with El Meson today. Food mediocre - entrecote not good at all. Asked for vino tinto and got a quite expensive wine that was mediocre as well. Pan was served - 10 eur on the bill - without asking. Went away with the feeling of being cheated. So take care w hen visiting El Meson.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Torstein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson De La Costa also viewed

 
Torrevieja, Costa Blanca
Torrevieja, Costa Blanca
 
Torrevieja, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Meson De La Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing