We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel - poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here for three nights but Hotel insisted we pay for a minimum stay of four. Pleasant modern tourist style hotel next to beach in Calpe. Big rooms with good amenities. Service was poor - room eventually made up at 5pm after service request placed on door at 9am! Large pleasant pool area with excellent bar and friendly staff. If you want an expensive trendy hotel this is for you (I do not)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 2,653 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

Our third time staying at the Solymar. Choose Calpe as our wedding destination not only because we LOVE the old town but also because of this GREAT hotel. All our guests stayed here, some in rooms, but mainly in apartments. Sergio, the manager was not only full of Spanish personality!! But excellent at his job facilitating many of our awkward requests. WiFi has also just arrived. The new 'Champagneria' bar of 5 star standard, as are many of the hotels facilities. Downsides??? Hotel desperately needs shower doors in the apartments and a safe, maybe even satelite t.v. But this is me being picky, The Solymar would blow any other 4 star hotel/apartments out of the water. Well done, Sergio, Yolanda, Ekaterina & co.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I recommend this hotel 100%. Rooms are big, including the bathroom, breakfast was plentiful, and it is in a great location, right next to the beach. Staff were nice and helpful. The room with the seaview is not cheap but it is great value for money. I would come back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraDPxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

An excellent hotel with a very good price-performance ratio. We had a superior room with a nice balcony and direct sea view. Our room was large, spotless clean and tastefully furnished. The bathroom had a tub and a shower, and a separated toilet. The arrangement was as such that you could look though the glass of the shower into the sleeping area - very nice! Assortments at the buffet breakfast and dinner were superb. In the dining room you have a marvellous sea view. The staff was attentive. Wireless LAN was free and worked well. Price of parking was OK with 12 Euros/24h. The only downsides were a poor coffee at breakfast and a rather small and crowded pool area. Anyway, we stayed at the beach which we liked very much, but during peak season it may get crowded here as well. This hotel is highly recommended, but do not forget to go for a superior room (with direct sea view).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlowdragAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 week end of May. Wheather was ideal: 28°. This hotel has a perfect location: right on the nice, clean sandy beach of old Calpe. We had a superior room with seaview (on the 8th floor) with a large terrace and wonderful view on the Ifach rock.
Comfortable lounges on the swimming pool, water was still a little bit cold. There was enough space at this time of the year but I can imagine that it will be much too crowded in July/August.
Staff very friendly; service was perfect and the food of excellent quality (would rate 5*).
We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I agree with all reveiws with the exception of service for a 4 Star resort and for the price I expect 4 star service and 4 star servicing of the rooms each day. The daily room service varied and for a 5 night stay I expected at least once they would have changed the sheets.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balmaingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This hotel is beachfront in Calpe old town, with numerous restaurants in the areas, as well as a long sandy beach. We stayed in a superior sea view room, and it was well-appointed and of a good size, with a nice modern bathroom with separate shower and bath, plus the balcony overlooking the sea.

The hotel has a beachfront outdoor swimming pool and an attractive lobby area. Breakfast was good if not outstanding, and things were a little busy on our last day with a shortage of cutlery; the overall impression of the hotel is a good one however, due to the very nice rooms, attractive lobby area, and premium location. Parking in the hotel costs about €10/day, but there is plenty of cheaper or free on-street parking in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somewhereinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calpe
0.3 mi away
Suitopia - Sol y Mar Suites Hotel
1.4 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
1.1 mi away
Hotel RH Ifach
Hotel RH Ifach
#6 of 31 in Calpe
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#3 of 31 in Calpe
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#9 of 31 in Calpe
360 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sol y Mar

Address: C/Benidorm 3, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
Price Range: $93 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Sol y Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept thought for leisure, rest and pleasure moments. Services and details of first quality. Elegant decoration and the most exquisite restaurant service in addition you will be able to enjoy the spa fitness area with a large and exclusive treatments Style, distinction, character, and an exclusive location beside the seaside overlooking the Mediterranean sea and the impressionant Penyn de Ifach. We want to give you unforgettable moments. Feel how sweet can be this life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Sol y Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing