We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,028)
Filter reviews
3,028 results
Traveler rating
2,247
579
121
38
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,247
579
121
38
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barbeach clubsea viewinfinity poolold townsun creamfantastic hotellittle extrasfree waterstandard roomjunior suitebreakfast was amazinghalf boardwalk in showerbeach towelsbreakfast and dinnerfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 3,028 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Stayed here in March in the self catering apartments could not have wished for a better place for the kids right next to the beach and local restaurants. The only thing i would say as we departed we were asked how we liked our one free breakfast! they do not make you aware on arrival you are entitled to this. .

Room Tip: Apartments not sea view been there twice never had one yet.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Dpto. de Calidad at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear Jax B,

First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in Apartamentos del Mar.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed a fantastic stay with us.

One point that we would like to inform is that Gran Hotel Sol y Mar and Apartamentos del Mar from May 2017 are ONLY FOR ADULTS but we have ingaugurated a new hotel, "Suitopia", dedicated specially for families.

We hope that you had a nice way back and we hope to see you in Suitopia!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017

This is a great hotel we went bed and breakfast so can't review the food overall but the breakfast was fine although not much of the good old English breakfast if that's what your looking for but lovely omelette's all cereal are individual Kellogg's usual breads cold meats etc, all the jams and marmalade are in individual pots plenty to choose from and the best bit you are showed to a table so no hunting about looking for a free table and the restaurant overlooks the beach fantastic view The hotel is on the beach and also In the centre of town loads of good restaurant's either in the town or on the seafront the Chinese restaurant's are very good and reasonably priced one pub I would recommend is the Delfin its literally out the front of the hotel head up the hill opposite and its the second road on your left the road is Carre Delfin run by an English couple they do an excellent steak pie and chips or mash very friendly too( as is always the way we found this gem 2 days before we went home !!!!!) The rooms are very clean and modern huge beds nearly doubles pushed together loads of nice little extras we were on the top floor not much of a view but doesn't bother us one bit don't spend any time out on the balcony. All the staff are extremely helpful and polite so overall fantastic hotel and Calpe is beautiful quiet more for over 50,s and young family's not much going on definitely NOT Benidorm so if your looking for cheap nights out and euro a pint and cheap booze this is not the place for you,although they did have a 3 day religious festival on which was very colourful and enjoyable so all in all a great place would definitely go back. We did go into Benidorm for the day on the local bus (ask at reception and they will give you a map and direction's about a 10 min walk from the hotel ) this cost just under 10 euros for both of us return you need to buy your tickets first at the kiosk, its about a 30 min drive, also you catch the bus at the same place you were dropped off but make sure you ask the driver for Calpe a bit confusing as to where the bus actually goes !!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank foxy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear foxy56,

First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation with us.

It is a pleasure for us that you have enjoyed your holidays in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar and all our facilities and service have met your expectations.

We would like to thank you for your nice comments at Tripadvisor, the opinion of our guests is the most important for us.

We hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

We spent an amazing week at this beautiful hotel by the sea in Calpe. We were on a B&B basis and found Breakfast very, very good. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. We particularly appreciated the Nespresso coffee every morning, fresh omelettes, wide range of cold and hot dishes and freshly-squeezed orange juice. The hotel is clearly very well managed, super clean, and you find very friendly Staff in all departments. There were some little touches here and there that you don't normally find in many hotels: pool towels, freshly (free) sliced fruit at the pool bar, free water and coke in the minibar, free sunscreen by the pool . Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 013757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear 013757,

First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.

We are very pleased to know that you have appreciated all our touches and you had a lovely stay in our hotel.

We would like you thank you for opinion at Tripadvisor, our guests is the most important for us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Just spent 10 nights here with my girlfriend and it is one of the best stays we have ever had. The hotel itself is brilliant. We were bed and breakfast and this was perfect as their are many many restaurants around the town. Breakfast was excellent and everything was made fresh for you. We had a balcony room and they are very spacious, wifi was good and the air conditioning was excellent. Every day we were given two small bottles of free water and on arrival were greeted with a glass of champagne each! The views from the hotel are just stunning and the beach is literally on your doorstep. On the beach to hire loungers it is €5 each and €5 for an umbrella. Calp is such a lovely town and the location of the hotel is fantastic. There's also a huge supermarket underneath which has everything you need! Loads of shops in the town. The staff were very helpful apart from a select few but nothing big. We will definitely be back to Calp, already planning our next visit! Amazing stay!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Dpt at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear Matt M,

We would like to thank you for your reservation at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar and your comment in Tripadvisor.

It´s a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our servicies, facilities and staff.
Hoping you had a nice trip back, we are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We spent 2 weeks here on a half board basis, the hotel has an enviable position on the promenade and the beach and is ideal for anyone with mobility issues or wheelchair users.
The food in the dining room was first clas with lots of choice and excellent service from Margarita, Maria-Jose, Miriam and Jesus, we also had great service from Felix and Veronica at reception, if you choose this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ReneGourock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Dpt at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Dear ReneGourock,

We would like to thank you for your reservation at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar and your comment in Tripadvisor.

It´s a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our servicies, facilities and staff.
Hoping you had a nice trip back, we are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews