We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,237)
Filter reviews
3,237 results
Traveler rating
2,417
611
124
38
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,417
611
124
38
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar beach club sea view infinity pool sun cream old town fantastic hotel free water standard room walk in shower breakfast was amazing little extras half board breakfast and dinner beach towels lovely town fresh fruit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 3,237 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

I visited the hotel for a weekend in May for a battery recharge.
From arrival to departure the staff were warm, friendly and professional.
The hotel was spotless and very well maintained with the cleaning team subtly keeping the standards high in the background.
My suite was on the top floor overlooking the sea and had the sun on the balcony all day until around 5.
The suite was incredibly spacious and the bathroom had separate shower and jacuzzi. I was impressed with the quality and selection of the toiletries provided by the hotel. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The dressing gowns and slippers were a nice touch. There was also a little box of "adult pleasures" including massage oil and contraception!

The hotel has recently become adults only so it was very quiet and lovely to sit by the infinity pool in peace.

I had the half board option so ate breakfast and an evening meal whilst visiting. The fresh fruit was stunning along with the large selection of pastries and omelette station at breakfast. Every taste was catered for including gluten free.
The evening selection was equally plentiful with fresh salads, pasta station and two grills where the chefs would freshly cook your selection of fish or steak. The food was faultless and the restaurant staff friendly, chatty and cooked my choices perfectly.

The weather for early May was beautiful and so I enjoyed walks along the sea front and into town where there was a great selection of shops and a supermarket.

The hotel is placed right on the beach so everything was easily accessible and there are quite a few bars a short walk from the hotel where I was also well looked after.

I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and location to anyone.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank 136LauraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Dpt. at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Dear Laura G,

We would like to thank you for your comment in tripadvisor and your reservation in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.

We are proud to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our facilities and our staff. We will send your satisfaction to our team as the opinions of our customers are very important for us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile

Just back from week at the Gran Sol y Mar. Fabulous spotlessly clean, extremely efficiently run hotel. Very good food and plenty of choice.
Highly recommend paying the extra and booking a seaview room, awesome views of the Penon Ifach.
We will be back, thankyou for a great week!!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Dpt. at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Dear Lynne C,

We would like to thank you for you comment in Tripadvisor and your booking in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our facilities and services.

Hoping you had a nice way back, please receive our kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile

Visited Calpe for 5 nights over the Easter break staying in Grand Sol y Mar Hotel which was rates 4 star plus. I have no idea why it wasn't 5 star as it was outstanding. We paid extra for a sea view with balcony which was worth every penny and boy what a view! The room and rest of hotel was spotless. We stayed on a bed and breakfast rate. The breakfast was just fantastic with such an array of food choice. There was an abundance of fresh fruit, breads, cold meats, cheeses, cereals with all types of milk available, smoothies, pastries, cooked breakfasts, champagne, juices - the list goes on and on. The staff throughout the hotel couldnt do enough for you and they were so friendly. Infact eceryone in Calpe were so friendly. The pool area supplied towels, sun cream and aftersun. There was also entertainment in the evening. Calpe itself is a lovely wee town. It too was spotless. We had a couple of evening meals in the old town which too were lovely. We enjoyed our daily walk along the promenade and even ventured to the top of Calpe's Penon de Ifach - a bit hairy at times but worth it for the view at the top. Definitely returning to this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Dear Eileen C.

I want to thank you first of all for choosing us for your 5 days break in Calpe.

We are pleased to know that you had a good time in our facilities and you liked our wide breakfast service and the town itself.

Hope to see you soon!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017

Excellent hotel. Helpful, friendly staff and comfortable room. Located 50 yards from the beach and with its own rather suave swimming pool. Very reasonable rates out of season. In April (when I was there), Calpe was not at all crowded except for Easter weekend, and it has many varied restaurants and coffee bars. A great place for a really excellent holiday as the weather is also very pleasant at that time of year (c.23 C).

Room tip: Try for a room ovberlooking the sea and with a view of the famous rock
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Dear Martin K.

First of all thank you very much for choosing Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the comfort of your room was to your liking.

We really appreciate your words and hope to see you again very soon!

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Went for a week just after Easter. Location is really good. 2 seconds away from the public beach and promenade. Booking was half board and we had breakfast and dinner. Quality of food was varied and good (If you want to change dinner to lunch you have to give 24 hours notice). Pool area is clean and nice with a sheltered bar area. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room but you can order from the lobby bar and take it up yourself or pack a kettle! There isn't an iron in the room but I requested one and had use of it the whole week. Paid parking in basement. Supermarket is next door and there is access between the supermarket to the hotel. Staff at this hotel very pleasant and efficient and friendly. Highly recommend booking a sea view room - well worth it. Our room faced the Penyon de Ilfach rock and sea. Rooms were huge with balcony, bath shower with usual provisions of shampoo etc. Have heard that this hotel is changing to couples only with their new facilities opening up this year for families further down from the hotel. Enjoyable and I would return.

Room tip: If possible, book a sea facing rooms - listening to the crash of waves late at night - bliss!
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Dear M P

Thank you very much for booking our hotel for your stay.

We are really happy to hear you enjoyed it very much.
Also we would like to inform you that our superior rooms, suites, junior suites and executive have now tea and coffee facilities (Nespresso).


We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews