We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,033)
Filter reviews
3,033 results
Traveler rating
2,251
579
121
38
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,251
579
121
38
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barbeach clubsea viewinfinity poolold townsun creamfantastic hotellittle extrasfree waterstandard roomjunior suitebreakfast was amazinghalf boardbeach towelsbreakfast and dinnerwalk in showerfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 3,033 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2015

A great hotel with excellent services, from the staff to room cleaning. The hotel has a really nice beach in front of it, just perfect for spending a sunny day at the sea. A beautiful place with attractive views and lots of restaurants with good Spanish cuisine and sea food dishes.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreiCopaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Dear AndreiCopaci,


First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a magnific stay in our hotel.

Many thanks for your good comments, because the opinion of our guests is the most important for us.

We are looking forward to see you in the future and we hope that you had a nice way back home.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2015

My wife and I have just returned from spending a week in the Gran Hotel Sol-y-Mar, Calpe and are now convinced we will try to book up again for next year. We love Calpe and have holidayed there for many years, but this was our first stay in a hotel there after renting apartments. What can I say? This hotel really made the holiday for us. It is excellent in all respects - the food (breakfasts are out of this world), the décor, the rooms, the ever professional staff, and the spotless cleanliness put it in another league. We were also impressed by the beach club/champagne bar which guests can access which swayed us from our usual spot on the Arenal beach - the food and drinks served here were very reasonably priced for such a first rate establishment. Overall we came away with the impression of having being in a high class, efficiently run, and very friendly environment which makes it a very attractive proposition to repeat again and again. Well done Sol-y-Mar, thank you for a wonderful stay - keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Non balcony rooms are cooler, but the views from the balconies are exceptional.
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 798michaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Dear 798michaelc,


First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.

We are very glad to know that you had a fantastic stay with us and you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel

Many thanks for your nice words, comments like yours help us to continue working in the same line to always offer you a magnific stay.

We are looking forward to see you in the future.

See you soon!!!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2015

a fantastic hotel located right on the beach. a fantastic variety of food available in the restaurant, they have a great variety of gluten free and lactose free options available.
the spa was a lovely surprise, plenty of great tretments on offer, very reasonably priced.
overall this four star hotel is worthy of a five star rating

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Dear pepejade,

First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in our hotel.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed our restaurant and spa services and you have had a really nice stay with us.

Many thanks for your comments in Tripadvisor, the opinion of our guests is the most important for us.

We hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

Gran Hotel Sol y Mar is the Perfect location if you love the sea - sea view room is super and the sound of the waves on waking and sleeping is lovely. Great views of Calpe's south beach and the fishermen, kite surfers as well as the many cargo boats on the horizon. Balcony has 2 nice seats and a little table to watch the world go by.

Generous room size - cleanliness and room service daily excellent. Complimentary bottled water, coke, chocolates and apples were provided each day.Turn down at night replaced water & wet towels again as needed and provided more chocolates. Room has a fridge - Very noise proof considering proximity to beach although early morning beach tractors may waken you!

Although no tea/coffee making in the room it was 2.10 euro for a pot of tea at the bar and you could drink it at leisure in your room or on your balcony if desired! Great choice of teas.

Elevated Pool, though relatively small, gives a really great view of the beach - super to swim as you watch the waves beside you. Hotel Provide beach towels and easy entrance to beach from pool so you can stroll down to beach within a minute of the hotel. Nice pool bar and complimentary sun cream, fruit and sangria over the day. New wifi boosters were being installed by pool - stayed on first floor and wifi was perfect throughout, including beach area below hotel.

Spa is tasteful and special offer of spa use for 2 for 2 hrs for 33 euro off peak. Jacuzzis, sauna, steam room, variety of showers, pool and relaxation room with heated recliners.

Staff are very helpful and friendly- it was unexpected how few had good English- , but all tried to overcome the language confusion with smiles and sign language. A Really friendly group.

Breakfast buffet is fantastic: all kinds of fruit, yogurts, freshly squeezed juices, cereals, fried breakfast, omlettes, pancakes, sweet pastries, doughnuts, crepes, breads - superb views of the sea from dining room - hard part was not eating too much! Had bar food a few nights in hotel which was good for a light snack - easy walking distance to all the restaurants and bars nearby. Supermarket in the building meets all needs also has cafe with sea views. About 5 mins walk up hill to reach the old town.

This is a superb seaside hotel location - it rained most days unexpectedly but still lots to do - watching thunder storms over the sea was spectacular - the old town of Calpe has a really lovely church and lots of little walks or shops, bars and coffee shops and many hair salons, massage and reflexology options.

Loved it - keep it up Sol Y Mar! It is an excellent hotel.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
2  Thank pepejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Dear pepejade,

First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a lovely stay with us and all our services and facilities have really been appreciated by you.

Many thanks for your nice comments, because opinion like yours help us to continue working in the same line to allways offer you our best service.

We are looking forward to see you in the future.

See you soon!!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015

Sea view a must! Returned today having spent two weeks at this Hotel. Everything about it is perfect. Reception, bar staff, restraunt all absolutely marvellous. The maid service, evening turn down just outstanding. Will definitely be back!
Thank you to everyone at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.

Room Tip: Sea view is fantastic.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GaryD1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2015

Dear GaryD1234,

First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and you have had a lovely stay.

Many thanks for your comments because the opinion of our guests is the most important for us.

We are looking forward to see you in the future.

See you son.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews