We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Nearby Hotels
Hotel RH Ifach(Calpe)(Great Value!)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AR Galetamar(Calpe)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Porto Calpe(Calpe)(Great Value!)
$63
$58
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Topacio 1(Calpe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (2,772)
Filter reviews
2,772 results
Traveler rating
2,048
535
111
37
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,048
535
111
37
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barbeach clubsea viewinfinity poolold townfantastic hotelseparate showersun creamstandard roomhalf boardjunior suitelittle extrasbreakfast was amazingfree waterwalk in showerbreakfast and dinnerbeach towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 2,772 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Everything about the Gran Sol y Mar says luxury, comfort, welcome and enjoyment. 100 friends and family of newlyweds Rhiannon and Richard stayed at this wonderful hotel, before and after the Nuptial Mass at the church of San Francesco di Paola in Rafol d'almunia.
We will definitely return time and time
again, to sample the wonderful food, the spa, the pool and poolside bar, and the very helpful and friendly staff.
The return home came far to soon!!!!
We will see you next year and thank you Gran Sol y Mar

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear guest,


First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a lovely time in our hotel.

We are very pleased that you had a fantastic wedding with us and we hope to see you very soon.

Congratulations!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a week in March on a B/B basis.
Everything was absolute tops from the bedrooms(sinks made of glass?!) to the dining areas to the leisure club located by underground passage.
The only one critisism was the price of the parking(€80 for the week!)pricey to say the least,but seeing as there was no where else to park we were the captive audience!

Other than that its well worth staying.The views of the ocean(if you have an ocean view,obviously)are superb.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear guest,


First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar,

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.

We hope to seeing you in a future very soon.

Kind regards

Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

When we booked in the reception was friendly and efficient. The whole place, the room, the swimming pool, the bar and restaurant all shouted 'CLASS'. My only regret was to not to ensure i got a balcony with a sea view.

Room Tip: Just make sure you book a room with a sea view. The view is great. Don't worry about lifts, they always seem to be waiting for you.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your reservation in our hotel.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays, and all of our services and facilities were suitable for you.

We would inform our Reception Department your comments and for next time we propose you to book a sea view room.

We hope to see you again soon, and that you had a nice way back home,

Kind Regards,

Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

On the back of reading previous reviews we booked a week at this hotel and was pleased to find it was as good as previously reported
Reception staff were extremely helpful and check in was quick and easy
Room, with a sea view on 5th floor, was spacious, with a stunning view over the sea. Within the room the hotel had provided some nice touches such as fresh fruit, free coke and water in the fridge.
Although a large hotel, at night there was no noise evident to disturb an excellent nights sleep in what must be the most comfortable beds experienced - nice and firm
Breakfast was buffet style and whilst the "cooked" options may not be to the liking to those wanting traditional English fayre, please remember this is Spain. There was a wide variety of options of pastries, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, cereals, varieties of bread, juices and 5 different milks! Also available was champagne for those wanting to start the day with a Buck's Fizz
The pool, although not enormous, was big enough and never overcrowded, overlooking the sea, with numerous sun beds with padded mattresses that ensured regular dozes during the day. Plenty of shade was available from the large umbrellas if required and the air conditioned poolside bar provided a further escape from the sun and provided reasonably priced drinks although it was disappointing that the only food available poolside was Ham and Cheese toasties.
If the pool ever did get crowded the excellent beach was only a few steps away.
We only booked bed and breakfast and we were not disappointed by the quality and choice of restaurants situated close by.
The hotel further endeared themselves by noticing it was my wife's birthday during our stay and provided a bottle of champagne in our room with their compliments
All in all we could not fault the hotel which certainly lived up to its reputation and we are already planning a return

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank andyph59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your reservation in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and that our facilities and service made you a comfortable stay.
We would like to inform you in reference to your comment about the Beachclub, that in high season we also offer a menu with a variety of cooked food for lunch time.
We will inform our Reception Department about your positive comments.
We would like to see you again very soon, and we hope you had a nice flight on your way back home.

Kind Regards,

Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Checked into this hotel for 2 nights for our 23rd wedding anniversary check in was very efficient we arrived at 1 pm expecting to leave our bags until checking was ready at 4pm but our room was ready so straight to our room to find the most amazing hotel room we have probably stayed in ( my hubby had upgraded to Seaview but was well worth it) on arrival in the room we opened the mini bar to find water and coca cola and a bottle of champagne with a lovely note from the hotel saying enjoy your anniversary was such a lovely touch the room is huge with a walk in shower and separate shower over the bath it also had a separate sitting area with leather sofa and chairs the bar area is beautiful with lots of seating looking out across the water to the rock of ifach .the resturant was amazing with a huge choice of food for breakfast and dinner but the icing on the cake is the pool area which has an infinity pool with beautiful sun loungers and 4 poster beds if you want to stay in the shade .Calpe is beautiful and in 20 mins you can walk into old Calpe where all the seafood restaurants are .We would definatley reccomended this hotel and will be back the staff are a credit to them they are very professional and helpful

Room Tip: Seaview for sure
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladyluck07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation in our hotel.
We are happy to hear that the hotel and service was efficient on your expectations, and that you had a lovely anniversary celebration with us.
Thanks for your comment in Tripadvisor, opinions like yours makes us work hard to reach customers satisfaction.

We hope to see you in the close future, and we hope you had a nice journey back home.

Kind regrads,

Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews