We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T GO IN LOW SEASON!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Hotel 'Gran Sol Y Mar' is a very nice hotel as you would expect from its star rating. However after visiting Calpe and staying at the Hotel in November this year we were very disappointed to find out upon arrival that The Champagne Bar was CLOSED most of the week, the Cocktail Bar was CLOSED all week, the Sun Terrace & Pool was CLOSED all Week, and Finally the Main Abiss Resturant....you guessed it was CLOSED Most of the Week!

I can accept the cost implecations of keeping these facilities open during the low season, however I do feel somewhat misled that we were not informed this would be the case either on Travel Republic Website or indeed the main Hotel Gran Sol Y Mar website.

Am sure it is much nicer in Summer when everything is open!!

Oh & finally if you dont want to pay the additional $80 per week to park your car in the hotel car park there 'IS' plently of free parking around Calpe only a few minutes walk from the hotel regardless of what the Hotel staff might tell you.

Overall nice hotel just 'Don't go in low Season!!' :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank icar001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Dear Guest,
In the first place, thank you very much for having chosen our Gran Hotel Sol y Mar for your stay in Calpe. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed about our openings hours. Therefore we would like inform you about these items:
-the Champagne bar is opened every Friday and Saturday from 15.00h-03.00h and Sunday until 00.00h.
- the gastronomic restaurant "Abiss" is opened every day for lunch, and Friday and Saturday we offer lunch and dinner. Rest day of the staff is on Monday.
- the Pool area can be used by our guests during the whole year, while the Beach Club or "pool bar" is only opened in high season.
- The "Llumbar", the bar just in front of the reception, is opened every day of the week until 01.00h.
Due to climatic reasons and periods of less occupation, it is very difficult having open all the installations during the whole year, anyway, the Hotel is situated in the main center of Calpe with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. We use to give all the information to the guests at the check in and give them the complete time schedule. On our website is specified to ask for availability and openings hours at the reception.
And the last point about the parking, the parking is optional, we can suggest the private parking to our clients but they are free to park the car in the surroundings. If the guests want to pay a service parking just underneath the Hotel, they have this possibility, instead of paying the public blue line area.
We hope you come and visit us again in another period of the year, with all the installations opened so then you can enjoy of the fantastic sea views from our Beach Club, and try our delicious cava cocktails at the Champagne bar , ...every day!
We appreciate your comments.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

we visited twice and we'll come again, that's for sure!!
the last time we booked the appartment (with a great view). so we could enjoy both 'own cooking' and breakfast and dinner a few times (at the Sol y Mar resto)
people working at the hotel are always very nice and helpful. even with Dutch speaking facilities ;-)
the only suggestion I would make to the management: please do something with 'cycling tours' as Costa Blanca being the paradise for cycling. we would enjoy even more this wonderful place on earth !!!
SyM CU soon :-)

Room Tip: check the appartment possibilty, certainly if you travel with kidzzzz
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk_Dehaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Dirk,

Thank you for having chosen our "Apartamentos del Mar" to spend your holidays with your family.
Your comments encourage us to improve our quality every day and we really appreciate your opinion. With reference to cycling tours, don 't hesitate to contact us the next time, we can help you to organize cycling activities, even as we can recommend you very nice walking trips in the area. It would be a pleasure for us to receive you again.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We are just back from the Sol y Mar Hotel and are feeling wonderfully refreshed and rested. The views from the rooms were straight onto the beach and at night you could hear the waves crashing onto the shore. The food was excellent as were the staff. Everyone spent time making sure we were happy. The rooms were beautiful, clean and the bathrooms very spacious. The power shower was a real power shower. The spa was reasonably inexpensive and well worth a visit, especially as the second day was raining. The beach club was lovely, as was the pool. No complaints at all - this must be a first!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruiser040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen our Gran Hotel Sol Mar, to spend your holidays with your family.
We are very pleased with your kind comments, it helps us to improve our service every day. We are glad you enjoyed our Beach Club and hope you also visited our "Champagneria" with over 30 different types of champagne. It would be a pleasure for us to receive you again.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hotel location right on the beach, very clean.
Room with sea view 'a must'.
Breakfast caters for all tastes with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit and expresso machines.
Reception staff very nice & efficient.
Infinity pool very nice (but freezing cold end of october).
The less positive comments are that there is perhaps not enough staff at the restaurant and so dirty plates stay at your table a bit too long, that the pool area was unattended, so sun loungers were all over the place, and that it would have been nice to have a terrace to have breakfast outdoors. But overall it is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Room with sea view 'a must'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapiMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for chosing our Gran Hotel Sol y Mar for your stay in Calpe. We hope you spend a wonderfull time here with your family. Also we appreciate your comments, they help us a lot to improve each day. We would recommend you to come and visit us in a different period, for instance late September, then you can enjoy our fantastic climate with excellent temperatures to use our infinity pool. We would be very pleased to receive you again.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Have just spent a couple of nights at the Sol y Mar. Everything was superb. The beach club is an excellent facility. One recommendation - probably best to go out of season.

Room Tip: If possible get one on the top floor. Marble floors are very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Josephine,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.
We are glad you enjoyed our Beach Club. In winter it is closed from 1st of November but in stead of that, we suggest our "Champagnería", open every friday to sunday, where you can find more than 30 different kinds of the best champagne.
We hope you had a pleasant travel going back to home.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was our second stay at the Grand Sol Y Mar , this year. Please read our review of 22 May lots of helpful information. We will rebook for next year, all the staff from front desk to chambermaids are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alipet558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento Ca... G, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Dear Customer,
Thanks for choosing us for your vacation.
We're glad that you enjoyed a few days off with us and look forward to see you again.
If this is your second time in the Hotel, I recommend our free customer "Premium" card with important discounts for your next visit.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Just returned from a ten night stay in this hotel.Have been visiting Calpe for fifteen years and saw it being built.Decided to opt for a bit of luxury this time and we were not disappointed.
Everything is well designed and thought out.Plenty of lifts so no waiting around.Our room on the first floor was a superior seaview and was fabulous.Our balcony faced the famous rock directly
and we enjoyed many beautiful sunsets and sunrises.Large room and excellent bathroom with bath and separate highpowered shower.Very hot water on demand and fluffy towels.
The maid service was really good and sheets were changed very regularily.Air conditioning was very efficient and the room was nearly soundproof when window was closed so we slept well.The breakfasts were the best we have ever experienced.They really have thought about everything.The cold buffet tables with the usual continental meat and cheeses,smoked salmon and croissants etc.The hot food including omelettes freshly cooked.There is a stand covered with fruit and nuts,one with breads and a gluten free area.Plus if you fancy it you can make your own Bucks Fizz.
We certainly did not require anything to eat during the day after this banquet and the added
bonus is you can go down between 7.30am and 10.30am.
We left, feeling we had had a wonderful relaxing experience in a beautiful place with friendly
people and can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: superior seaview rooms,137,138,139 on first floor have balcony in shade late afternoon which is love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose9865y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calpe
0.3 mi away
Suitopia - Sol y Mar Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel RH Ifach
Hotel RH Ifach
#6 of 31 in Calpe
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#9 of 31 in Calpe
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
1.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#3 of 31 in Calpe
487 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sol y Mar

Address: C/Benidorm 3, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
Price Range: $95 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Sol y Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept thought for leisure, rest and pleasure moments. Services and details of first quality. Elegant decoration and the most exquisite restaurant service in addition you will be able to enjoy the spa fitness area with a large and exclusive treatments Style, distinction, character, and an exclusive location beside the seaside overlooking the Mediterranean sea and the impressionant Penyn de Ifach. We want to give you unforgettable moments. Feel how sweet can be this life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Hotel Sol y Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing