We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet end of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet end of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Despite the name, it is a 5 min walk to the beach. However, the hotel is clean and nicely presented and being at the end of the beach strip, quieter than the harbour side of the rock. Staff were pleasant and buffet restaurant was well stocked and varied. The spa was beautiful but lacking on service- we were booted out of a 6pm hour long circuit at 10 to 7 but a very unapologetic staff member. It would not inspire me to book a relaxing treatment there! We had an apartment in the block next to the hotel and found it cleaned every day and in good condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    325
    111
    31
    26
See reviews for
274
382
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

i stayed in this hotel for one week.everything was o.k., staff very helpful and kind, room was spotless, wi fi working most of the time fast enough, plenty of food in the restaurant, the beach is only 5 min walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 502petles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I like Ballroom dancing and found this holiday on the internet.
Paul Eden (Holidays4dancers) arranges the holiday and we booked the flights when the holiday is confirmed.
This all worked extremely well Paul arranged the airport transfers at Alicante Airport so no worries there.

The Hotel is 3 km's from Calpe town about 300 metre's from the beach and is beautifully built modern and spacious with high class decor and superb facilities. The outside pool area is very well kept with a large provision of sunbeds and parasols to serve the main pool the tub and children's pool.

Rooms are a choice of seaward facing (sun on the balcony in the morning) or land facing, the seaward views are through the gaps of other hotels and apartment buildings but this does not detract too much from the views as there is quite a large space between them.
Inland facing views benefit from the sunset views across the mountains which can be very memorable.

The rooms are well appointed with double sinks in the bathroom and very effective shower. Toiletries and hair dryer are provided and the towels are of high quality, a magnifying mirror is a useful addition.

The bedrooms have large wardrobes with drawers and a electronic safe. The beds are comfortable with bedside lights and tables built into the bed heads.
A mini fridge is provided and stocked although the hotel does not mind you removing the contents and filling it with your own items (we bought from the super market across the road).

The restaurant serves food via gondola style serveries that you help your self from there is a wide range of choice at all meal times. Cook while you wait items are available from a servery with all the usual choices for breakfast or dinner. Coffee machines quite good once you have mastered the various options and cold drinks such as fresh pressed orange juice are popular.

Wine prices are reasonable for a hotel although bottled water is quite expensive we thought.

WiFi is free throughout the hotel, we took our own tea making kit as the is no provision in the rooms.

The only criticism we had of this hotel was that the room chairs make an awful screeching noise on the tiled floors that transmits to other room. Not good late at night!
We advised the management that they needed to fit felt pads to the chair legs.

Room Tip: The hotel has about twelve floors we had fourth floor sea facing which was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TriumphEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Diamante Beach Hotel on Saturday night after turning up on spec after having trouble finding somewhere to stay. The receptionist was helpful when I arrived asking if they had a room available in my best but limited Spanish. But I did have to wait about 5 minutes before being acknowledged while she finished what she was doing on the computer.
The room was on the 8th floor with a 'sea view' although that view was in between other hotels. The room was clean and the bed comfortable but the TV was small and looked quiet old and the reception was bad so the picture was fuzzy. I think the standard of the room was below that of a Premier Inn in the UK, which was disappointing for a 4 star hotel.
Our main complaint was that we didn't sleep much due to the noise in the corridor outside our room. I realise it was a saturday night but we were shattered so went to bed about 11pm. People were coming and going in the room opposite, shouting and slamming doors. I did pop my head out of the door and ask them to be quiet. Then until 4am there was intermittent shouting and door banging until 4.30am. We didn't phone reception as by the time they arrived it would have been quiet again. So we woke up unrefreshed.
Breakfast ended at 10.30 and we arrived about 10.10 and soon after it was being cleared away. It was OK but not the best quality.
We complained at reception after breakfast but were only offered a room extension from 12noon to 2 pm, but that was no good as we had to leave before 12 anyway.
So all very disappointing and we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a lovely week staying at the AR Diamante Beach Spa hotel. Unfortunately there was no spa available at the time i attended the hotel. I went for a ceroc dance week and had a great time. The food in the restaurant was a buffet which is usually disapointing but was lovely. I have never had so much choice of fresh food and freshly cooked if you wanted it. Just as well i was able to dance it off! It was a short walk to the beach too but had a lovely pool as well. The bar staff and reception staff were very slow and not that helpful or friendly but the restaurant staff were much better.
I am booked to go again this year and am really looking forward to it.

Room Tip: We had a road view room and a view of the supermarket opposite. It was acually quiet tho and did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel with the med fest dance holiday reception very very slow and booking customers in.Rooms clean evening dinner was very bland ,there is no spa,would not use this hotel if not for dance holiday being held there

Room Tip: try different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I escaped from Birmingham Airport, just before the snow arrived, to land in paradise or more explicitly the Hotel Diamante Spa in Calpe. Three weeks of sun in January when England was having snow is what the doctor ordered and I could not have been in a better place. The hotel staff were better than excellent. The knowledgeable, friendly and helpful receptionists were always on hand whenever i wanted help or advice.
The restaurant staff were equally helpful especially over special diet needs. Although the hotel had many guests the layout of the restaurant meant that food could be got from the various areas efficiently. There was always plenty of choice of fish meat and vegetables and an array of desserts which not only looked nice but tasted nice. The show cooking offered a choice of meat or fish each night while at breakfast there was a choice of freshly cooked egg dishes.
The location of the hotel is ideal. There is a choice of two supermarkets minutes away. The sea can be reached easily by a short stroll. A bus stop is located right outside the hotel.
This was my second time staying at the Hotel Diamante Spa and it will not be my last. See you there?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wayfarer1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calpe
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.6 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel
0.2 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#7 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre

Property: AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 48, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ar Diamante Beach Spa Hotel And Convention Centre
Diamante Beach Calpe
Hotel Diamante Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing