We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pools but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AR Imperial Park Spa Resort
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pools but...”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The pools are great, particularly for kids and we (2 adults + 2 children aged 6 & 4) generally enjoyed our stay. Staff are very friendlly. However, the rooms are in need of refurbishment; the quality of food was poor; and the restaurant was understaffed at busy times. There are lots of steps (the resort is built on a hillside) which is fine if you are able bodied. You need a car as the resort is 10 minutes drive from Calpe town, but I suggest you don't park in the resort car park (4 euro a day). My car was damaged twice by passing cars as the road is narrow. Much better to park on the road outside the resort..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    175
    82
    49
    28
See reviews for
311
112
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Calp is a hidden gem and this hotel is too. We got a room via RCI exchange: 3 adults and 1 child in a villa with food included. The villa is nice, a little bungalow with a sun deck on top, small kitchen, bathroom and 2 bedrooms as well as a sofa bed. The TV only seemed to pick up Spanish channels but we hadn't come on holidy to watch TV. There is free wifi which is sometimes available from the villas but is always available in the main complex.

We had a problem for the first 2 days as nobody came to clean the room: this turned out to be a misunderstanding and as compensation we got some Moscatel and free spa passes. The views from the villa of the rock were amazing, especially early in the morning.

The main pool is very dramatic, full of cliffs and waterfalls, but was only open for the first 2 days as it was then drained for repairs. The children's pool remained open, and there is another large, conventional pool on the top level along with a small paddling pool, so it wasn't too bad.

The food is OK, standard all inclusive buffet fare (although some of the grilled chicken looked underdone) - more than adequate. The hotel will also make up packed lunches and cold breakfasts for you if you have to leave early or are out all day. A word of caution: the lunches don't come with any sort of cold packs and the breakfasts are EXACTLY the same as the lunches. No matter, they were great for a day out at the beach. There are pool snacks; hot dogs and the like, as well.

The staff were very nice although some had limited English.

The resort is on several levels and there are a LOT of stairs to contend with which was a challenge with heavy luggage and/or a toddler, who got tired very quickly. There is a lift hidden away at one end of the complex which was in full working order throughout our stay, but I think the resort would be a challenge for anyone who had limited mobility. There are ramps and alternative routes to avoid the steps but these can be quite roundabout. The driveway to the resort is also very steep indeed.

The spa is very nice. We did the spa circuit which was delightful, especially after a day spent climbing the rock. I also had a treatment which was well priced, the only disadvantage was that the beautician spoke no English and couldn't understand my poor Spanish (not her fault!).

I would visit again. The local beaches are also a very pleasant place to spend an afternoon although they are perhaps not quite as well provided with toilet facilities as I would like.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trellism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Flew into Alicante and hired car which was essential due to the distance from any source of life. Travel time 1 to 1.5 hours depending on route. On arrival very impressive and reception staff were efficient and helpfull. The rooms were 3 star but could easily be 4 with a little tlc. The views superb. A few minor maintenance problems which were quickly resolved but could have been checked and sorted prior to our arrival. The first 2 days proved to be very crowded and later found out the resort lets the locals in to hold various events at weekends such as holy communion for their 9 year olds. This does not help the people there on holiday and they ran out of beer at 1800 hrs. As we were compulsory all inclusive this did not go down to well. They reluctantly gave me some bottled beer which you would normally pay for after I complained. The food was always very good, very clean and well presented with adequate choice and quality. However bar service was always slow and the snack bar closed weekdays which was not in the script. I had to pay the full 59 euros for my 2 14 year old girls which was very expensive. Indeed it proved expensive overall and would not pay for that again, however this option is only during winter months. The major upset was the main pool was closed down after the first day for a major overhaul. There are 2 other pools but none the less was dissapointing and an eyesore and a safety hazard as it was only barried off with chairs after draining. We had one power outage and loss of water supply one day also. The entertainment was not as advertised and very limited although the team made a good effort but not worth staying there for. Calpe it'self is lovely with superb beaches and good restaurants. It is not as commercial as Benidorm. There is limited activities in the area but a nice place for a relaxing holiday.
I felt the Imperial was catering more for the locals than holiday makers but with a bit more organisation and tlc could be probaly what it once was.

Room Tip: WE stayed in 1702 right at the very back, very peacefull and views lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryhNorfolkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We ( 2 families ) rented 2 apartments from their respective owners, both 2 bedroom apartments were clean though one was quite basic which contrasted with the other one which had just about everything you could desire. I would say that renting from an owner ( you will find many on Imperial
Parks web site ) is far cheaper than booking with the hotel directly. Calpe is a lovely town with great beaches and facilities but you do need a car.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Imperial Park was definitely better than we expected. It is beautifully located on the hills of Calpe, but to go anywhere outside the resort you need a car or have to use a shuttle. The outdoor areas looked amazing!
Our 4 stayed in a villa for 4 people with max capacity for 6. However, it would be way too small for 6 people. The 2 bedrooms were quite small, there was only one bathroom and the living room was a bit cramped. Kitchen was very well-equipped for cooking. Unfortunately, ants were wandering in the kitchen:/ The villa was clean only once during our 5-day stay. The heating and cooling unit was very useful, coz nights in May can be cold. We had a sun terrace on the roof with sun beds and spectacular view.
Generally, we were satisfied with our stay and the resort, but rooms may be improved.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We spent the week after Easter here. We loved how the outdoor areas, pools and lobby looked. The Units need major updates. Our unit was clean and the Kitchen was stocked well for cooking. We got one small trash bag and no daily trash pick up. The furniture was very worn and faded. The bathroom floor tile was broken in many places. The second bedroom had a twin bed in front of the closet door, and 3 hangers. The hot water heater was not turned on and there was nothing to light the gas stove with. The one tiny TV had to be played with each time to start. One English station that said the same news over and over again. About every 10 minutes. Too bad the inside of the units are not as well kept as the outside.
A car is a must and parking was $4.00 a day. The location is about a mile up hill from beach. and eating places. Not an easy walk. We did love the town of Calpe, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked our accommodation at Imperial Park, Calpe via "www.imperialhols.com", who are private owners and they are a lot cheaper than booking via the hotel or travel agency. The bungalow sleeps up to 4 people, private parking included in the price, satelite TV. It's like home from home. Spectacular view from the terrace and the swimming pools are awesome. We have stayed there twice now and planning to go-back a third time later this year. The only thing we would recommend is to hire a car as taxis can be a bit on the expensive side. Calpe town is approx 20 - 30mins walk each way from Imperial Park.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calpe hotels
2.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
1.8 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 31 in Calpe
895 reviews
1.3 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 31 in Calpe
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#10 of 31 in Calpe
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#8 of 31 in Calpe
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AR Imperial Park Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AR Imperial Park Spa Resort

Property: AR Imperial Park Spa Resort
Address: Tossal de la Cometa 1-H, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calpe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AR Imperial Park Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your AR Imperial Park Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Park Residencial Calpe
Imperial Park Residencial Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing