We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Turmalina Unitursa
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Turmalina is an okay hotel, but I think if you looked around you could do better. The facilities are clean, yet basic, and the whole hotel has a feel to it that makes its hayday seem like a long time ago. On the plus side, the view from our room was very good. The actual resort of calpe is nice if all you need is a beach, but the high rise hotels that dominate the seafront (of which turmalina is one) make it slightly souless.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank megeve9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We booked through easyjet holidays and for just less than £400, flights and a more than adequate apartment were all in. As it was so cheap we wondered what sort of apartment it would be, but having checked the reviews on tripadvisor found that it appeared to be fine. No cockroaches by the way! Everything worked well and no complaints at all. If you like tea as I do, I used the microwave but if you're a big family of tea drinkers, just take your own kettle (a coffee perculator was supplied). Everything was there, TV with BBC and ITV, iron, ironing board, kitchen, oven, hob, hairdryer etc. It was a bit home from home which is just great for families as those pricey extras are taken care of by just doing the normal shop and stocking out the fridge. The place was clean. Was a little dated and in need of a modern uplift I'd say. I wouldn't mind buying one of the apartments and doing it myself as it has everything to offer. A word of warning, if you're driving there the entrance is hard to find initially. Its on the main road straight through Calpe, follow it past the lake and bear just continue on the road past the roundabouts. You'll see Ifach Hotel roundabout, go straight on, the hotel is hidden down a sidestreet but you must park outside on this marina road. when you see Royal India (curry house) lighted sign, then you're there. Just walk down past the curry house and you'll see a left hand entrance, that's the hotel. Reception is at the road side but the entrance is hard to find (for us anyway!). Its got a super position less than 50M from the beach. The kids used to go off ont he beach to play themselves and I could see them from my balcony which was huge! Three swimming pools which we didn't use because it was too cold, but the pools and gardens are really well maintained. The only gripe I had was the building work that was going on to improve the pools and gardens - it wasn't that bad and wasn't lots of banging etc but it made the walk to the car muddy and dirty and the workmen never seemed to clear up the mess properly. my son came back with mud all over his shoes and trampled it into the flat. i was not pleased! do hire a car. its so easy to drive around this area and it would be a shame for you to miss the easy access to Altea, Albir even Benidorm(worth a look at least!), up the other side is the way to Denia, Benissa and other such gorgeous places. Its all lovely. The motorway is close so a trip to Valencia which was also worth it was about an hour. From Alicante airport it took us about half an hour on the motorway. If anyone wants any advice please let me know. My father lived in Albir for twenty five years so I know the place well. Its terrific for the kids - so same and family orientated and just a great place for a quick holiday.h

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank joanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

The room was very well kitted out and a credit to its owners, slight probelm with cockroaches which upset the Mrs! lovely views of the rock, beach, salt flats and pool area, prices of food in the resort were a little high for the time of year, but the food in general was of a good standard when eating out, on a high note watching 16hrs of thunder storms and lighting was amazing to witness, down side however was the aftermath, flooding, powercuts, no water from taps,toilet ect, very awkward when you have a 3 year old child and a pile of washing! slightly worrying also watching the local emergency crews pumping flood water contaminated with sewage across a main promanade and down onto the beach into the sea, but I guess they had to pump it somewhere so they could clean up, I have some amazing pictures to show my family and friends, which i may add later, please dont use this to decide your choice of holiday, this I think was a freak storm and does not reflect calpe and alicante in general.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank troutscleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calpe hotels

London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

The previous reviewer's (toomuchtoolittle) description is spot on so I won't repeat it! I would only add that our apartment also had a washing machine so we washed our own sheets and towels which dried in no time on the balcony. Also I would definitely ask for an apartment on the pool side as the views are much nicer. The pools are really lovely - by far the biggest and nicest ones I saw in Calpe. The rooms are really basic and in need of some TLC but if you're looking for a bargain they are perfectly fine.

  • Liked — Lovely view from balcony, good value
  • Disliked — Some furnishings a little tatty
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie19a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

The Turmalina is well located, we had a great apartment overlooking the pool with a side sea view and a view of the penon de ifach.
Well located on the main promenade with a good selection of restaurants, bars and supermarkets on the door step.
Apartment was in good condition, bedroom with fitted wardrobe and drawers, twin beds (together) Living area with dining table & four chairs, seating area, portable TV, bright and light leading out onto balcony where ther was table & four pation chairs, clothes drier and two deckchiars provided.
Kitchen was basic but more than adequate, full size fridge, oven and four ring hob.
Bathroom was likewise basic but more than aequate, water pressure good, although shower goes cold after a couple of minutes, but i suppose they are saving water!
Swimming pools (there were 3) had plent of sun loungers free of charge and also area was well maintained, screened from main promenade by plants. Mini golf & tennis courts available at a small extra charge, unfortunately though they do not provide the tennis equipment so take your own if you want to use that facility.
Only complaint was that apartments were not serviced, so sheets & towels were not changed for the week we were there.
Reception was covered 24hours and staff were helpful whenever we needed anything.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — No cleaning service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank toomuchtoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

great place to use as a base to see the local area, we visit calpe at least three times a year and have stayed at various places around the harbour area, from a friends apartment overlooking the marina, the hotel porte calpe and even the diamonte 5 star and i can truely say the turamalina apartments are very good value for money, and the apartments we have stayed in where well equiped and more than adequate, the reception staff where also very helpful, if all you need is a base to explore from and a clean place to spend your time otherwise then this is the place.

  • Liked — good value for money
  • Disliked — occasional noise from adjoining apartments and daytime parking can be tricky,due to people parking to use the beach.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drews7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calpe hotels
0.1 mi away
Topacio 1
Topacio 1
#22 of 31 in Calpe
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Larimar
Apartamentos Larimar
#17 of 31 in Calpe
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 31 in Calpe
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coral Beach Apartments
Coral Beach Apartments
#15 of 31 in Calpe
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 31 in Calpe
896 reviews
0.5 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#8 of 31 in Calpe
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Turmalina Unitursa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Turmalina Unitursa

Property: Apartamentos Turmalina Unitursa
Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I 26, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Turmalina Unitursa 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apartamentos Turmalina Unitursa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turmalina Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing