We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Toro

El Toro
Ranked #24 of 330 Restaurants in Calpe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Full meal for 8 persons with 2 children. Everything was superb. Timing was just right and the food was plentiful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r3on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    95
    40
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The food in this restaurant is brilliant. I have never seen such a big steak as the one my husband had. Great menu and the service was first class. Not expensive either. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissiesnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We went here as a party of ten and the service was great even with six children. The food was also of a very high standard for both children and adults. I would recommend this to any meat eater.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 455AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss and 50cents for ketchup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went to El Toro with my wife, daughter and two young grandchildren. Surroundings are very pleasant especially outside on a warm summers evening. However the steaks were something of a hit and miss. My wife and daughter went for the sirloin and the El Toro special which were very tender and tasty. I went for the 31 euro tournedo which at that price should have been melt in your mouth. But it was a very average, somewhat chewy steak. El Toro is an expensive option in Calpe but what amazed me when we got the bill was a charge of 50 cents for ketchup we had ordered for one of the grand children. How mean is that? I wonder what the mark up is on ketchup.
Also have to agree with other reviewers the service is slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EamonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food but service declined once food on the table.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We tried El Toro on a Sunday night. We hadn't booked but fortunately they had a table. Delicious cocktails -especially Armageddon. Waiter initially very attentive and helpful. Food arrived and was delicious. Unfortunately once we had finished the waiters appeared to be non-existent and we eventually managed to catch a waiter to ask for a dessert menu. We were then left again and eventually gave up and went in search of someone to get the bill. What began as a good experience with excellent food ended in disappointment in lack of service from the waiters. They really need to improve this aspect :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jars64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro also viewed

 
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing