We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very friendly hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AR Galetamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AR Galetamar
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a week in November as a base for a climbing holiday. The twin room was clean and comfortable. There was a nice size balcony with a sea view. There was a little kitchenette in the room whihc you had to ask to be opened. It had a two ring cooker a saucepan, cutlery, plates and fridge so was adequate for making hot drinks or packed lunches. The shower was magnificent!! Just what was needed after a hard days climbing.
Breakfast was OK - plenty of bread, cheese, ham, rolls etc, but the hot food was very imited - we came down to breakfast twenty minutes early one morning and the bacon was already cold! We ate in one evening - it was dire!! Packet mushroom soup , choce of fish or park and what looked like oven chips and most of the puddings were off despite the fact there were only three of us in the restaurant. We had a packed lunch the first day which should have been quite good only the bread was mouldy!
There are two swimming pools whihc we didnt have a chance to try out as the weather was bad , but they looked nice.
The staff are absolutely lovely and friendly and most speak English.
So - OK for a base for exploring, but wouldnt like an acutal holiday in it. There are two big supermarkets nearby. Best place to eat is the Aguamarine - walk down to the sea front - turn right and it is up a little shopping arcade on the right a coupe of hundred yards along. Set menu of the day is 9 euros and it includes an appetiser, starter, salad, main course, dessert, bread and a bottle of house wine. There is also a Greek restuarant in a parallel arcade. As it was November there wasn't much open and it was extemely quiet as you are out of the main part of Calpe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    88
    42
    20
    5
See reviews for
74
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is very clean, in a great location with great staff, the only thing that lets this hotel down, and its a major issue is the air conditioning, quite frankly it doesnt work and after numerous attempts to persuade the hotel reception to get it fixed, they didnt, if the air con worked this hotel would get 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Galetamar Hotel for 3 days in September 2012. The hotel is one of the older ones and is the last one at the far northerly end of the resort.. As such, it is surrounded by attractive villas and has a large grassed area around the pools. There are plenty of loungers but without any mattresses so they were pretty hard to lie or sit on. There are trees and umbrellas which shade guests from the sun. Naturally, when the children are frollicking in the water, there is noise but at most times of the day it was quiet and tranquil. The room we had overlooked the car parking area (No 111) but set behind were the villas so the view was still attractive. The food was unexpectedly good. Perhaps not always as hot as one would want but very nicely cooked. We were on half board and enjoyed every meal. Big selection and buffet style so no limit on how many dishes you tried. The hotel seemed to have 90% Spanish guests, with a few British and even fewer French and German. This was fine. No towels on loungers in the mornings and the pool area deserted at 10 am. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Bathroom and shower area, hot water, hair dryer, towels were all faultless. Aiur conditioning worked well. Most of the staff were overtly pleasant. The receptionists were reserved but did their best to answer questions, in spite of not speaking much English. Compared to the nearby tower block hotels, with their cramped locations and poor outdoor facilites, this hotel was the ideal one for us in Calpe and we can recommend it. Of course, it was a fair walk to the main beach but we enjoyed the stroll along the sea front where there was a myriad of eating places for those who found the hotel dinner price to be too high.

Room Tip: Even numbered to face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jnats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week mid June and the hotel was lovely.
Good points:
Pool clean and not too busy
Close to the new town for bar's and restaurants
Supermarket five minutes away
Costas the barman is fab!
Spacious rooms, cleaned daily
Massive double shower with separte water jets

Bad Points
Air con in our room was not very good
45 minute walk into old town (were main pubs and restaurants are) and no buses back to Galatemar after 10pm (E12 in taxi in the evenings)
slight hill walking up to hotel (I had read this on trip dvisor before we arrived and laughed when I seen what people were talking about, but by the end of the week the hill did become a drag... although I must stress it is very short lol)
Beds and pillows very hard

We only ate breakfast in the hotel as lunch or dinner was E30 for a couple which is quite expensive compared to what is on offer if you walk down the beach 10 mins. Breakfast was fine, some mornings better than others and yes you do need to use the microwave! Overall a very chilled out relaxing place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonamenoname22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a large hotel with rooms and also apartments. We had a one bedroom apartment which had a large living room and kitchenette (with fridge, which we've rarely found in Portugal or Spain) and a large balcony. There is free parking, a restaurant and bar and a large swimming pool and garden area. There are cafes and bars within a 10 minute walk of the hotel (a few a lot less than that) and the Playa La Fossa-Levante is also a 10 minute paved and easy walk with loads of shops and restaurants. The hotel was quiet and very spacious and had everything we needed for an excellent price. There are 2 large supermarkets nearby (15 minute walk or 5 minute drive). If you want to be right in the thick of everything then there are plenty of other hotels right at the beach, but we preferred being a 10 minute walk away from it all, where it was quieter, cheaper and still had great views from the rooms that face (side-on) to the sea. Safe free parking is always a bonus for us.

Room Tip: If possible, get a one bedroom apartment and even if you only get a room, the ones facing the sea an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Nice location however this hotel was about a 40 minute walk from Calpe town.It's nice to walk along the beach to it but theres not many places to go out along the beach so went to town every night. A taxi back cost 10 euro which was fine.You can get a bus from 200 metres down the road from the hotel which only costs 1.40 and it takes about 10 mins.
We went half board for €296.00 (5nights) but the breakfast or dinner was'nt great. There is a microwave in the eating room and it's there for a reason as more than not you had to reheat the food before eating it! But at the end of the day we paid for what we got really so it was fine for us! The room was very clean and clean towels every day and beds made. Balcony with table and chairs was nice also. The pool out back was nice but was'nt as clean as could be. However the weather when we were there was cloudy most days so this may have been the reason.There was'nt many people staying in the hotel at the time. I'd say this is fine if your not fussy! The staff there are very friendly which is definately a bonus so hats off to them!
A hotel i would recommend though would be Gran Sol Y Mar (4 star) in Calpe and it's awesome (we missed out on booking it as we left it too late so it was too dear as it went up in price by €200) but you can get bed and breakfast there for €305 which is well worth it! (i went for a wedding and alot of the wedding party stayed here so i seen first hand what it's like ;-))

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We are probably not typical visitors to this hotel as we were not interested in the sun, pool or beach. We were there in December using the hotel as a base for rock climbing in the area. It's a recommendation in itself that this is the third time we've used this hotel.
So, what can you expect.....Staff are friendly and helpful, Most speak good English, those that don't still speak enough to understand what we want. Rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. Price is very good, best we can find in Calpe. Parking is free and plentiful in the covered hotel car park. Food is indifferent. All buffet style, self-service which is OK. Breakfast is typical for a european hotel. Dinner has extensive salads which are pretty good but the hot food is poor, bland and tasteless with little variety. There is however an excellent Chinese at the other end of Calpe which does an excellent set menu for 2 ( 4 courses) for as little as 16 euros (that's 8euros each!!). The guests during our stay were mainly aged 60+ and exclusively Spanish.
Overall I would recommed the Galetamar as a good value cheap hotel with the reservation that the food is iffy and we'll probably pay a bit more for something a bit better next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crammy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calpe hotels
1.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel
0.8 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#9 of 30 in Calpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AR Galetamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AR Galetamar

Property: AR Galetamar
Address: urbanizacion Caleta 28 a, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calpe
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AR Galetamar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your AR Galetamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galetamar Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing