We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Extremely Disappointed...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
County Durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good points are the location and the rooms and linen are clean...bad points are - everything else! Its a predominantly 'elderly Spanish guest' hotel and caters for them really. Our room was ok though it overlooked the car park and... I still cannot believe that they pull locked metal shutters down over the kitchen facilities (we were All Inclusive which I'll come to next) so you cannot get a teaspoon,cup or use the sink(we take our own kettle)! We had to ask Reception about the fridge, which on arrival was switched off with a soaking wet towel inside..they sent someone up to turn it on and remove the towel!
We also had to ask Reception how the restaurant/bar would know we were All Inclusive..normally (and sensibly) you get a simple wristband but no not here..they put a little red sticker on our room card which we had to carry with us and show everytime we wanted a drink or a meal..we found this stupid and embarrassing and did not see anyone else doing the same..The food was worse than poor including 'blood' and 'pork small hands' as tempting menu choices - NOT!!! The chicken was pink and under cooked and the chips...just awful...the lettuce however was fine!!
The pool area is very small and you have to look for where the sun is and hope to get a lounger.
Calpe itself is rather rundown and not what I expected at all:0( but climbing the rock Peñón de Ifach is a definite must - take proper walking shoes and lots of water..it is extremely difficult and not for the faint hearted!
Unfortunately the weather was poor too during our stay so overall an extremely disappointing holiday and we would not recommend it...and not be returning!

Room Tip: Some rooms look out to sea or have a view of the Peñón de Ifach rock. We were on the 7th floor, of 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hello246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    68
    18
    19
See reviews for
78
90
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned very poor hotel very tired in décor needs a deep clean and redecoration, plastic plants that need replacing. The restaurant needs a overall food extremely poor, only three choices not well cooked same thing for breakfast not a lot of choice, dinner was terrible if you like fish you will be ok. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calpe hotels

Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Rooms a bit tired. Food was average and very disappointing for a vegetarian. We didn't pay a bad price out of season so okay if you are on a budget but would be disappointed if we had paid more. Staff helpful and friendly. Good location on the sea front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Luckytoberetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I do not know where I start ! there are many problems with them !
first of thing I came from Malaga to Calpe about 6 hours by car and I rich to the reception I did check in for apartment from the hotel ! after that, I went to the apartment it takes about 5 min walking but I didn't expect my card it doesn't work " for open my room and the door" I phoned them, they told me come back to the reception !!!! I went to the reception, they didn't show any respect or didn't say sorry for that ! another thing the air conditioner control it doesn't work and it was runs and stops by it self !!!! at night the temperature has reached 4 at 2 o'clock in the morning !!!! that mad me, I want to cray !!!
avoid this hotel !!!

Room Tip: I Would not recommend choosing this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abdulelah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We booked into the Roca Esmeralda hotel for a week, the room was very small and old looking, the room had quite a bit of damaged furnshings, bathroom had an very old suite and bide, it also had a hairdrier in, lots of wear and tear. The kicten was very very limited only had a micro and fridge we had to ask for a kettle. We went self catering and they had not provide washing up equipment (and wanted to charge us 60E's to clean the fridge!!). Lounge and dining area was small and beeding seemed to have bugs as daughter woke up each day with bites. Beds were also very hard and no-one was able to sleep. Pools were not clean. Some staff were helpfull. We will not be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tania164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Work was being done whilst we were there. The workmen made a real mess (including the cardboard in lift) and didn't clean up after themselves. Workmen were also rude and got in the way.
Very noisy place - music from the entertainment is extremely loud and goes on till 12.30 every night. If you can't beat them, join them! In general, it helps if you speak good Spanish in this resort. If you don't speak Spanish or speak bad Spanish they won't show you any respect and can be quite surly. The positive thing about this hotel is its location: right by the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Crescentcityfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Sure, not expensive, clean and very friendly. But also rundown, old, and an atmosphere of a bad movie from 1972. The average age of customers is 88, and most are british. But again, nothing wrong with that. The big problem is of course the buffets, what a pity to go all the way to a culinary heaven like spain and end up in the buffet restaurant of Roce Esmeralda.
Nope, this is one mistake we wont do again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DocHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calpe hotels
0.1 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.6 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#7 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#15 of 30 in Calpe
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel

Property: AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel
Address: C/ Ponent 1, Avda Juan Carlos I, 48 | Playa Levante, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Esmeralda Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing