We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
18
46
12
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
46
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelwashing machineself cateringfridge freezerhuge balconysun loungerson arrivalhobkeyfurnitureamenitiesapartmentbeachespoolsseafloor
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 85 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

These apartments are very pleasant with nice views but the service is very disappointing. We were on 13th floor of 23 and one small lift was only working all week. The wait could be up to 25 minutes several times a day. When we asked for progress we were told "not our fault, waiting for parts" quite frankly not good enough. Another issue was that approximately every other day the key cards stopped working so you had to walk back to the hotel to get them revalidated on top of trying to get up to your apartment. Sorry to say due to lack of urgency and apologies or updates would not
recommend to any one wth young children or of an age that you are not able to climb up hundreds of stairs!!!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank NINA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirceccion R, Direccion at Apartamentos Esmeralda Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear Nina B,

Thank you for choosing AR Roca Esmeralda for your recent stay in the town of Calpe and thank you aswell for sharing your opinion with us and the rest of Tripadvisor users, we are sorry to know that a couple of technical issues had a negative impact on your stay with us, please accept our apologies. As our collegues informed we were waiting for the parts which caused the breakdown to arrive but due to the dates this took a bit a longer than expected.
We will double check our locks and magnetic cards in search for any anomaly, again sorry if this caused any inconvenience, bare in mind for any future ocasion, that magnetic keys are not to be placed near cell phones or magnets in purses,clothes etc.
Please consider returning to our lovely town to stay in any of Unitursa apartments in which case we would like to have a speacial detail with you. If so, please identify yourselfs as the authors of this opinion.
Hope to have you back with us very soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017

I think we were lucky. It seems that each apartment is furnished to the style of its owner and we had a good one. Very nicely laid out with all amenities and a huge balcony with wicker conservatory furniture. The apartments on either side may well have been nice inside but their balcony furniture was not a patch on ours. The views are terrific looking right along the beach and with stunning views of the Calpe rock.

Room Tip: We paid to garage our car but this was unnecessary as there is plenty of free parking available outside of the peak holiday months
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Dirección at Apartamentos Esmeralda Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

Dear Keith,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and with the rest of the Tripadvisor community, thank you aswell for letting us know what have been the aspects of the apartments which made you enjoy the most.
Apartments with a different furniture are apartments which have been sold, all the units which belong to the company are furbished the same way.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in our property.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

Apartments were large, airy and very clean. A short walk from the Esmeralda hotel and the beach, spot on! We travelled as a group of 8 ladies, so the two bedroom (one with en-suite) were ideal for us. The balcony was huge with sun beds as well as chairs. Resort was quiet with it being early season, but great walks and fantastic beach. Pool area at apartments was fine but not many beds. Could be a problem in the busy season. Overall, very satisfied with the accommodation and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Dirección at Apartamentos Esmeralda Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

Dear Jan,

Thank you so much for your kind review we are happy to know that you found the instalations pleasent and that you had a good time in our town, its great to hear we will have the chance to welcome you again and we are looking forward to it.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017

Just returned from a week here. Was a solo traveller as my husband was unable to go. I'm going to list the pros and cons for me of these apartments.
Cons first:-
- some basic equipment missing like a kettle and hair dryer but water boiled as quickly in a small pan and I took a small travel hairdryer. There was a hob and microwave but no conventional oven
- the noise travels between floors and I mean every noise!
- the bed is hard but I still slept well
- the T.V. has only 3 channels and they are in
The pros -
- the apartment was spotless
- in a fantastic position, just a couple of minutes from the beach
- fantastic views
- bus and tourist tram stop at end of the road
- all the staff, without exception, were more than helpful
- having a washing machine on the balcony and airer for the clothes (takes some pegs or buy a pack of 24 for 60p odd at the local supermarket to ensure they don't blow away)
- a large balcony with table and chairs and loungers
- entrance to the building with room key meant I felt very secure
- 2 supermarkets very close to property
- WiFi and air conditioning
Some tips:-
Make sure the fridge freezer is switched on (set at 4) and the trip switch is on for washing machine and air con.
-Check at reception what facilities you can use in the other hotels owned by the same group
Calpe is a great place to stay with lovely clean sandy beaches and a brilliant promenade for walks. There are lots of cafes and restaurants along this. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view and some have two balconies. I was on level 5 which was great. The building goes up to level 23!
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wilmab549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirceccion R, Dirección at Apartamentos Esmeralda Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Dear wilmab549,

Thank you for chosing Esmeralda Suites by Unitursa and thank you for your detailed description of your experience with us which will without doubt be very helpful for future guests.
Since your last stay, we have equiped all the apartments with hair dryers and added some british channels to the signal ( BBC1, BBC2, CBBC, MORE4,CHANNEL 4 LONDON, E4UK) we would like to add that kettles are available at reception and Two bedroom apartments do have an oven.
Looking forward to welcome you again in our property.
Best regards from Spain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

Apartments are directly across from the main hotel. You get free wifi, washing machine on balcony along with sunloungers. You will have a great view if you have a front facing room.
The hotel is self catering however
There are 2 large supermarkets nearby with everything you need, very cheap aswell. There is also a local tour train. its not a long tour but is great getting about the town. The beach a 5 min walk away with lots of beachfront shops there. Hotel also vomes with 3 pools which i found to be mostly quite during my stay. Maybe due everyone else being at the beach

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Scott_Turner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirceccion R, Dirección at Apartamentos Esmeralda Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Dear Scott_Turner_12,

Thank you for choosing Esmeralda Suites and thank you for finding a moment to share with us and the rest of Tripadvisor users your expererience in our property.
We remind everyone that even if the property is self catering there is the possibility to book breakfast, half board or full board in the main hotel AR Roca Esmeralda. All of our rooms are front facing to the sea.
We hope to welcome you back in Calpe very soon.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews