We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth trying”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Metro Restaurant Bar
Ranked #248 of 331 Restaurants in Calpe
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: New Zealanderʼs Gary and Christine welcome you to the METRO Bar and Restaurant (formerly Cross Keys) - a home away from home. A place to enjoy a drink, a light bite, a sizzling steak from the grill, or just simply catch up with friends over a coffee, in this comfortable oasis. Kick-start your day with their full English Breakfast, voted by locals as the “best in Calpe” and for only 3.50 it represents fantastic value! Specializing in Steaks & Seafood, there are a wide variety of menus available including the ʻBritish Favouritesʼ section some of the more popular choices being Fish ʻnʼ Chips, Chilli-con-Carne and Chicken Curry. An UNLIMITED SALAD BAR with cold meats, pastas, soups and much more, is included with every meal. The Sunday Roast with a choice of tender beef, or juicy pork, is still on offer and available all day. The METRO has a large covered terrace to enjoy your drinks (large cold beer only 2 euros) or your meal ʻal frescoʼ. The TV screenʼs throughout the bar are perfect to view all major sports games and special events. There is LIVE MUSIC every Sunday night with variety of popular and well known acts. The METRO is open from 10.30am until late - for reservations or function bookings phone: 965-839-416 or 630-827-638, Calle Blasco Ibanez 21, Calpe
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

After more chefs than master chef Gary seems to have found a good one for this Summer 2013! Money has again been spent and the decor is really first class. After a difficult time since opening it is now worth giving a second chance! Hope the standard is kept up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not be made feel more welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place is excellent and caters to everyone of every age.

We stumbled on the Metro Bar after looking for somewhere to watch the Football, there were almost 20 of us on the family holiday the boys jumped into a taxi which took us town to watch the football and have a drink.

We found Metro, the football was not on the screen, however the husband of the couple wasted no time in opening up a part of the bar for us to watch it on.

We all got a big breakfast each which was great and we received table service for drinks, even after all the breakfast, snacks, drinks and table service the bill was very cheap for what we had consumed.

We were made to feel so welcome we went back several times and no one was ever dissapointed with their meal or the price, they always gave us freebies here and there and as they looked after us well.

we were on holiday for a 40th and spoke to the couple about having it in the metro, they did not charge us a penny for it, they even suggested an entertainer who was perhaps a bit edgy for the older ones but he put on a great show and we had a great time, they gave the birthday girl a bottle of champagne on the house and gave us all wine and other drinks on the house, everytime we would visit they would just randomly plonk a bottle of spirits or shots on our table and say help yourselves.

We went in April 2011 and there wasn't much really on at that time and calpe was a bit boring if I am honest, but we were treated so well at the Metro we are thinking of going back in September this year and that is all down to the folks at Metro.

I've only given it 5 stars for everything becuase the Service was amazing, constant table service and you hardly had to get off your butt to do anything. Food was amazing, never had to wait long and the value was great. The atmosphere was great on our birthday night and the times we went for the football. It looked like everyone was enjoying themselves during the royal wedding also, but we were not present for that. We had a young child and Child facilities were provided and staff were very carefull when trying to serve food and provided colouring books etc for the child.

As said above we had a 40th, we never had to pay anything up front, we hired an entertainer which Metro made a contribution towards and we had a great time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“dinner in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

we stumbled across the Metro quite by accident and what a great accident it was!
The staff were super friendly and one was from just up the road from us in uk!
The food was 2 courses for 9 euros and were beautifully cooked.
I had chicken in a cajun style sauce and my hubie had steak.
They were both cooked perfectly and not dry or tough.
We went back next day for breakfast which was also gorgous!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amandarachel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please replace your chef!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We live in Calpe and love the people who have Metro bar so we keep going back and trying it in hope that the food improves. It doesnt. Its heartbreaking to see they have spent so much money on creating a beautiful bar / restaurant and have changed their menu, introduced a menu del dia, put in a new grill kitchen and tried so hard to make it work. The only thing wrong is the chef - she is terrible. If you want a drink - definitley go to metro, the owners are great. I just can't understand why they keep their chef employed - she serves cold veg with re heated food!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Happycalpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a warm, friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This bar is run by Chris from New Zealand who made my family feel extremely welcome. The service was excellent and Chris really made us feel like we wanted to go back. I had the Hungarian Goulash which was superb. Very tasty and plenty of it. Excellent value as it was included in a 7.95 euro menu of the day which included a starter, bread and wine. Seating was very comfortable as well and we also popped in during the day for a tia maria with coffee for 2.50 euro along with a lovely slice of homemade tiramasu which I think was 3 or 4 euros. Well worth going

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Restaurant Bar also viewed

 

Been to Metro Restaurant Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing