We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Paella at Los Dos Canones!”

Restaurante Los Dos Canones
Ranked #28 of 335 Restaurants in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Paella at Los Dos Canones!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited Restaurante Los Dos Canones on the last evening of our holiday to Calpe and were not disappointed. We were a party of 8 and looking for a lovely end to a great holiday away and Los Dos Canones provided the perfect setting. This restaurant is set in a beautiful square in the old town and has lots of seating outside if you prefer to dine in the sun or early evening sun set. We opted to dine inside and the décor is very traditional and simple giving a rustic traditional feel which is what we were looking for. 6 of our party opted for a mixed Paella at 12euros per person which was really tasty! The other 2 in our group opted for a vegetarian paella which was just as tasty. A side from the food, we enjoyed some really good wine at reasonable prices and the service was fantastic too. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a chilled evening of excellent Mediterranean food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    75
    25
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite simply.....Gorgeous”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beside the old town walls in a small almost private gardened square, Los Dos Canones provides the perfect setting for an experience of how things should really be. Beautifully cooked and presented gastronomic delights easily satisfied ten hungry holidaymakers on the two visits made during our stay. Anna, wonderfully welcoming host and Julian her husband Chef made our visits special being attentive and hugely accommodating. The menu is classic meat and fish variations with traditional paellas available. With ten choosing we ate the across card and no one had anything but praise for the quality, taste and presentation of their food. The tables are beautifully dressed adding a real sense of quality dining at a very reasonable price. Definitely go there. Toilets are downstairs a mobility consideration for some.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrköping
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beautiful restaurants situated in the old town of Calpe. Excellent food and very nice staff. Clearly one of the best restaurants I've visited in Calpe so far.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MRevland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Los Dos Canones”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautiful setting, beautiful food, beautiful evening. We found this restaurant by accident whilst wandering through the old town and we were all so pleased with the food, service and the outdoor seating area. Yet another fabulous Calpe restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rebes2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting in the old town of Calpe”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

First of all the setting is gorgeous for this restaurant. It is an uphill walk into the old town of Calpe and this restaurant is nestled in the middle. There are a few little gems in this area. As you walk up the hill you will see two cannons hidden in the floral bushes on the left hand side. Then you will see the restaurant. Most people sit outside as the weather is always glorious in summer and the tables are laid beautifully. It looks like an expensive restaurant and performs well. The menu is varied and it is more of a higher-class restaurant than the harbour restaurants. If you like meat and fish you will love it here. The service is good, albeit a little slow, but who cares when you are on holiday, relaxing and enjoying yourself! You do get annoying men and children coming round every so often 'singing and dancing' (if that's what you can call it!) for about 30secs then begging for money, but this is not the fault of the restaurant, although it is very annoying. The restaurant is a little pricier than a lot in Calpe but it has high standards and is not unreasonable at all. Well worth a visit or two ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Belle2987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Los Dos Canones also viewed

Calpe, Costa Blanca
 
Calpe, Costa Blanca
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Restaurante Los Dos Canones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing