We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aarangi Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kohimarama
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed for one night at Aarangi Motel. While the buildings are not modern, the warmth of the hosts and cleanliness and comfort of the rooms is excellent. The location is good too for walks along Tamaki Drive (and the fantastic views over the Waitemata Harbour). Lots of top restaurants nearby at Mission Bay. Ros is always happy to give guests advice and assistance on places to visit and things to do.

Free secure parking is also a bonus - costs a lot in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crazysteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely positive review, we hope to see you again next time you are in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Short walk to Tamaki Drive,popular beachfront with cafes and lovely sea views. Bus stop to city is very close.
Very clean accommodation, good service. a very attractive part of Auckland city.
Free Internet.well equipped kitchen. Double bedroom plus single bed in lounge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Motel, really appreciate hearing your views, and good that you enjoyed the beach and the location. We hope that you stay again next time you are in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in March 2013. The manager/owner, Ros was extremely friendly and helpful and the accomodation was airy, clean and totally adequate for our stay. The apartment was cleaned daily and topped up with clean towels, toiletries etc. as well as tea, coffee, biscuits and milk. The location, however, was best of all as it is within close walking distance to local amenities - cafes, restaurants and the beach. I have no hesitation in recommending this motel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy51_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Motel, and thank you for the kind words.
It is most appreciated. See you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in January after arriving from the airport after our 24 hour flight from Heathrow. Ros was really welcoming and helpful. The Motel is old but well cared for with all the facilities you need for self-catering. Location is great being just a minute from Kohi beach and short walks to Mission Bay and St Heliers. First class bakery/cafe just 200 yards away towards the beach with a small set of shops 5 minutes walk in the other direction. The local bus to the CBD was right outside. It is a beautiful 10 minute ride along the seafront. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toffeeman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for the review and your positive comments. It is a beautiful day in Auckland today and the beach and sea look perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place needs to be tore down. I can't believe the reviews it's getting. The room stunk, the bedroom smelt so bad I couldn't even sleep, it was disgusting. The shower was horrible! Disgusting dirty carpet. The only good thing is that it is in walking distance of some beaches. Horribly overpriced. Worst place we stayed at out of 13 accommodations. It was a step away from a hostel. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Stay further outside of Auckland like Matamata (Chestnut Lane) or Whitianga (Oceans Resort) and get your moneys worth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SPF04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

The owners and management of the motel are sorry that your stay way not as you expected. We have looked at the issues you raise, and are just sorry that you did not see fit to raise them with us during your stay. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the motel, and in the comfort of our guests.

It is our goal to ensure that all guests have a great experience whilst with us, at what we believe is a realistic value for money price. We wish you well with any future visits to Auckland and hope that you find accommodation to meet your standards.

I feel that travellers should also be made aware that your suggestions of places to stay are really not a suitable option for visiting Auckland. Whilst beautiful locations in their own right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in Aarangi for 10 nights in February, The motel is 5 seconds away from the beach, rooms are spacious and very clean, hosts really helpful and friendly. There is one of the best cafes in Auckland next to the motel where they serve super coffee and excellent,organic food. Plenty of eating options in Mission Bay and St Heliers which are 10mins away from the motel. I will definitely stay again, this was my 8th visit to Auckland and Aarangi is the best place I stayed. The only thing I would change is stop charging to use the washing machine which is pretty dated.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a view of the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandrzejczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

What an amazing review for both the Motel but the local area. Thank you so much it is most appreciated. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We came to NZ for a family wedding and to complete the Ironman 70.3 race in Auckland. We just stayed here in Jan 2013 for nearly. 3 weeks, a great location, 5 mins to the city and 30 seconds from the beach. Very helpful hosts, nothing too much trouble. Rooms serviced daily by very friendly staff. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brentperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your review, really appreciate the feedback, and chuffed to have a 70.3 Ironman staying at the Motel, very proud of you. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohimarama
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
3.1 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
308 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kohi Beach Bed & Breakfast
Kohi Beach Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Kohimarama
76 reviews
3.8 mi away
Greenlane Suites
Greenlane Suites
#3 of 8 in Greenlane
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Motel

Address: 1 Melanesia Road, Kohimarama, Auckland 1071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Kohimarama
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kohimarama
Price Range: $123 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aarangi Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling clean Motel Units in a quiet residential neighbourhood, 1 block to Kohimarama Beach and 1km to Mission Bay. Choose units from upstairs, with a "peep of the sea" or downstairs and enjoy the garden. Walk, jog, bike along popular Tamaki Drive, enjoy scrumptious breakfast/lunch/dinner or just a coffee or wine in neighbourhood cafes and restaurants. Kohimarama beach is a safe beach with popular activities ranging from swimming to stand up paddling, kayaking and kite surfing (wind dependent). It is also home to Kohimarama Yacht Club for juniors, a club that has produced many a top sailor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Aarangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarangi Motel Kohimarama, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing