We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of India Gate

India Gate
Ranked #18 of 807 Restaurants in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant india gate is the only Indian owned indian restaurant in benidorm.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visit Benidorm regularly and have tried most of the Indian restaurants but India Gate is the place we keep going back to. The service is faultless and the food is always wonderful. It's a little expensive (for Benidorm!) but the quality is well worth paying a little extra for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bookbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    146
    45
    24
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We picked up a meal deal from a local car hire on the strip and got a two course set meal for two with beer for 24 euros! everything was delicious totally recommend!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cazWestSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Eat here twice while on holiday for 1 week. Had different meal each time and both were delicious. If I go back to benidorm ill definitely be eating here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing (plenty of other Indian resturants which were much better)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

having read the reviews for India gate, and seen all of the advertising in the free benidorm publications we wanted to give it a try, however we were totally disappointed with the whole experience, from the food, to the service, to the building and the facilities.

As it was more expesenive then than some of other resturants (a couple which we tried that were much nicer were the Nawarbi and also Spice Mantra), this didn't represent good value for money.

The popadoms were served and a few minutes later the starter arrived before finishing the them, when we pointed out we hadn't finished the popodums the waiter said "oh well".

Liking our dishes medium or medium hot we ordered accordingly however the main dishes lack any flavour or spice and again failed to deliver, the sheek keebab was a pale unappatising dish. Portion size was fine, but this is only a good thing if the food is tasty.

The facilities were poor - I refer to the toilets which I alwasy think are a reflecton on the standards that a resturant has. If they don't keep them to a high standards what are the other standards like, the urinal broken and off the wall, only a little trickle of water in the taps in the ladies toilets.

If you are away and looking for a good Indian meal I think there are much better options for you, go for the Spice Mantra or the Nawabi, also the Clay Oven looked very good but didn't have a chance to try that one.

Don't believe the hype.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer951357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almoradi, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HIGH QUALITY FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Varied menu and a good fixed price menu if a little costly compared to other restaurants in the area at £39.95 for 2 people but this did include a bottle of decent house wine or 2 pints of lager. All the food was cooked to a high standard and very flavoursome where each spice was detectable and not just killed off with the heat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Gate also viewed

Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to India Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing