We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so stay could be so much better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Villaitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Villaitana
Ranked #29 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So so stay could be so much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed for three nights in May 2014. A dozen of us on break to play golf and enjoy the delights of Benidorm nightlife! I cannot really comment upon the golf as I only played a few holes and never played the main course but be warned that the 2 courses are not 2 championship courses but one short course par 62 and a Championship Course. You have to have a buggy for the short course as there are enormous distances from green to the next tee and it is very hilly. I can comment on the hotel however!
The hotel is divided between 4 star and 5 star. The 5 star section is the Level which I did not stay in I stayed on the 4 star part. The hotel is superficially very impressive but if you peer through the veneer there are quite a few things which you think could easily be sorted out such as replacing spent lightbulbs, remove or treat scum/algae in the furthest/forgotten reaches of the enormous pool, repair the threshold in reception which needs gluing/fixing and things like that.
Breakfast was terrible. On my last day I just ensured that I did not eat anything that got anywhere near a chef and stuck to fruit and yoghurt as the previous experience of sweet scrambled egg, fatty bacon and weird sausages wasn't worth repeating. Otherwise the only food I had was at the pool bar which was a burger from the outdoor grill which was sooo salty I could feel my blood pressure rising with each bite. Also they have cauliflower and broccoli as a choice for breakfast - huh? - am I missing something but who eats that sort of stuff at breakfast and washes it down with red wine at breakfast (there are a couple of bottles of red wine cracked open if you don't fancy orange juice with your breakfast - I suppose it IS Benidorm).
The service was really bad for a hotel of this standing - the staff never seemed to know what they were doing and were incredibly inattentive eg stopping serving you mid service and serving someone else. They were all pretty miserable too.
To top it all however was the lack of any urgency from the hotel reception to my request for a doctor/ambulance when my room mate thought he was having a heart attack. I rang reception and requested a doctor or ambulance explaining in my best Spanish ie English that he thought he was having a heart attack! It took over half an hour for the ambulance to turn up and another 15 minutes to get to the hospital. Good news was that my friend was ok but had it been a genuine emergency which we thought it was there could have been a deadly serious outcome. Why haven't they got something in place for the safety of their patrons? In retrospect I think this is appallingly bad and have taken one star off my rating because of this.
I would go back to this hotel though as the pool area is very pleasant indeed, the rooms are comfortable with a fridge and great shower. In addition the hotel is away from the main drag of Benidorm so it is nice and quiet but not too far (about 12 euros taxi ride) to get in and out of Benidorm. As a sceptical first visitor I found Benidorm to be really entertaining and as far as the Old Town goes surprisingly (to me at least), a taste of real Spain.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDJFare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Mr. MDJFare,
Thank you very mach for the time you took in writing your impressions about Meliá Villaitana on Trip Advisor after your recent visit.We are very sorry if during your stay with us you could find some inconvenience and if your experience with us was not as we wish and if our service didn't reached all of your expectation.We really appreciate your comments ,we do take them into account in order to keep improving our service,ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.
We truly hope that you come back and give us another opportunity to reach your expectation.
Kind regards,

Inmaculada Lucas
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    935
    396
    156
    91
See reviews for
1,191
1,018
27
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

i recently stayed at the melia villaitana with 11 other golfers. i was the organiser. this hotel certainly has a wow factor, ubfortunately the service does not match the hotel. i woke up one morning to find a intruder in my room , the patio doors leading onto the gardens can not be locked so anyone can wander into your room day or night. when i reported the intruder, the staff just wanted to sweep it under the carpet. looking back i should of informed the police. breakfast is great , the evening eating is very very limited and when we did try the buffet it was rubbish and we only tried it once. regarding the golf the staff in the golf shop could not be more rude. they seem to forget we are paying customers. the course layout is fantastic , greens very good but the bunkers are unplayable. get it sorted and we would play again.

Room Tip: do not stay on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear mark s
We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed the Melia Villaitana experience, the opinion of our customers is very inportant for us, and we get deeply sorry when we not exceed their expectations. We appreciate your opinions which of course we will consider to further improve our services. I would like to ask you to give us a second chance to show you the good service that characterizes our hotel us you deserve.
Best Regards

Inmaculada Lucas
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We booked for three nights directly with Melia on a full board package. On arrival they offered us a small upgrade price to stay at The Level and we were over the moon. We had left our 18th month at home for the first time and The Level is totally child free. There are two exclusive pools, one heated and a child free restaurant for breakfast/dinner. There are free spirits, wine, beer and nibbles for two hours every evening . We both had a massage at the Spa which was great and this gives you access to the floatarium and jet pools which we had to ourselves. The gym was underused by guests which was good for us but I would say at this needs to be updated as some of the equipment was old or broken.

The hotel was super clean and fresh and we wouldn't hesitate in staying again.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to The Level, we had a poolside view where you could also see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear bettybluebell,
Thank your first of all for trusting The Level at Melia Villaitana on this special occasion like was your first anniversary.
It is a real pleasure for us to know that you felt comforable and glad with our facilities, services and staff, because this is our main goal.
Thank you for appreciating the hard work that our all team do every day.
It is our desire to see you again very soon,
Best regards,

Inmaculada Lucas – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Cosy and quiet hotel, nice setting and good view to the mountains and golf course. Poor wifi connection though, no package to access other restaurants other than the self service one. Medium walking distance to access facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Rudyhassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Rudyhassam,
Thank you a lot for taking your time to post your comment and in this way to share it with other Trip Advisor´s users after your last experience in Melia Villaitana.
We will take into account your constructive remarks and your suggestions in order to improve our services.
We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you,
Warm regards,

Inmaculada Lucas – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have read reviews for this hotel for years and the criticisms are the same as the ones that i encounter. The responses are always platitudes, but nothing ever done to rectify the situation. My latest problem is that I tried to book with Melia direct, but although the website was in English, no booking accepted because I do not have a Spanish NIE number. What a complete waste of time.So I booked through an agency in 5 minutes, so Melia lost money to an agent. The most prevelant complaint is regards to paying to go in and out of the hotel with your car. No fun when it's raining, to pay at the exit. There many more issues, but not enough characters left to continue.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Buzz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Buzz,
Thank you first of all for your comments,
We do not have information enoughm so we do not know what problems exactly you had during your reservation and last stay at Melia Villaitana.
If you have the chance, we would love to be able to talk about it personally, so do not hesitate to contact me directly.
With the hope to receive your visit once again in future,
Best regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I would start by saying that it depends on what you are looking for, however.....we were looking for a weekend to relax in great surroundings, and the Villaitana ticked pretty much every box.

45 mins from airport. Return cost approx. £100 which was a taxi booked in advance.
About a 10 min taxi drive from Benidorm (12 euros).
Fairly isolated, however near waterpark and funpark.
Clean, tidy and designed to be like a small village. Not easy to quickly adjust and find our way around.
Pool areas fabulous, and no towels on beds first thing during our stay, although that may have been because it was Easter weekend, and the place was full of Spaniards, which added to the enjoyment.
Breakfast was excellent, with dieting advice available!!
Although the hotel was full, we wondered where everyone was.
Food reasonably priced, as were drinks.
Only gripe was that our room wasn't ready until 345pm on arrival day.
Room was a decent size. Bed huge. Mini bar appeared to be free unless you ask for replenishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_crockert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear alan_crockert,
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments.
It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with hotel facilities and services.
We are constantly working on providing the best for our guests and we are glad to see that our attempts were appreciated.
Looking forward to receive you again very soon,
Best regards,

Inmaculada Lucas – Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We didn´t enjoy-
- The golf and tennis facilities are entirely separate, you need to organise everything yourself and there are no benefits from being a hotel guest, no discount and no transport (the shuttle was either broken or we never saw it)
- The staff - we had to argue to get a double bed, despite thinking we´d booked one, to be told it was out responsibility to put it in comments section, then after several conversations the receptionist changed out room with easy ... Why put guests through this stress.. She then told s that she would have problems the next night to try to make us feel guilty
- We requested several things which never materialised .. the room aroma service, twice requested, not carried out, free mini bar not re-stocked and air conditioning broken
- When we arrived the staff confirmed there was no charge for the bali bed by the pool, to be contradicted the next day by the same staff wishing to argue and make the stay stressful
- Reception in general at the level was always understaffed and there was a queue
- Staff not at all proactive
- Charging for parking

We enjoyed -- The golf, the heated outdoor pool, the (mostly) adult environment and the food (very well poached eggs in the mornings), the evening aperitif

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missslbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Misslbell,
Firstly we would like to thank you for having chosen The Level at Melia Villaitana for your stay,
We also should apologize in case you found some negative aspects during your stay, or if something was not as good as you expected.
Do not hesitate that we take into account your review, since we are always pursuing excellence.
Looking forward to welcome you back and to have the opportunity to improve your experience,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
2.6 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#47 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
2.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#30 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Villaitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Villaitana

Property: Melia Villaitana
Address: Avda Alcalde Eduardo Zaplana 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#17 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#18 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Villaitana 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 20 minutes from Alicante, Melia Villaitana has two hotels Melia Villaitana 4* y The Level at Melia Villaitana 5*. Melia Villaitana has been designed in the form of a Mediterranean village, lying between 2 golf courses designed by Nicklaus Design and boasting some wonderful views of the Gran Bahia of the Costa Blanca. Its 25 individual buildings and its unique architectural style replicate picturesque squares and historic corners of the region, making the hotel an innovative experience for both leisure and business, and positioning it as a new concept of exclusivity, comfort and service on the Costa Blanca.Accommodation: The hotel has 455 spacious double rooms, including 99 rooms of The Level (5 star) category.Services: The hotel has 2 golf courses, 5,000 m2 of outdoor pools, as well as a wide range of cuisine, 2 tennis and 6 paddle courts, an outdoor children’s play area, a kids’ club, artificial beach and a complete Spa & Wellness Center with 13 treatment rooms, thermal pools, gym and relaxation room. A Convention Centre with 6,000 m2 of flexible space, divided into 17 meeting rooms to meet every requirement in relation to conferences and large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Orbitz so you can book your Melia Villaitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaitana Wellness Golf & Business Sun Hotel Benidorm
Villaitana Wellness Golf And Business Sun Resort
Villaitana Wellness Hotel Business Sun
Villaitana Wellness Resort Business Sun
Sheraton Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing