We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for a group trip and wedding. Expensive drinks”
Review of Melia Villaitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Villaitana
Ranked #29 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice stay for a group trip and wedding. Expensive drinks”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for my sister's wedding and had a really nice time. It's great for chilling out at the pool in a large group as the hotel is very spacious. The scenery was also stunning for the wedding, you have a lovely view of Benidorm.

The service isn't 4/5 star, but you don't really get great service in Spain! The reception staff are nice and friendly but restaurant service isn't the best. You have to ask for tea and find a table outside yourself at breakfast.

Tips

* Bring your own drinks, wine/sangria is much more expensive than Spanish bars. You get free water and coke in your room (2 small bottles of water) so if you plan to sunbathe and stay at the hotel all day bring some extra water!
* Ask for a room near the reception or you may be walking for hours! Particularly if you are in a group, get rooms near each other

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natty_noodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Natty,
On behalf of myself and all the staff at the hotel, I would like to thank your for choosing our Meliá Villaitana for your stay, as well as taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor Website.
We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed in your sister’s wedding in Hotel Meliá Villaitana. It is our goal to create unforgettable memories of your stays and we are proud to know you had a nice break.
We always try to please all our clients and adapt to their customs and preferences. We sincerely apologize if this was not the case in restaurant service. Our Food and Beverage team is working hard in our standards, elaborating new menus and checking our procedures in order to provide the highest service and attention to detail.
I remain at your disposal and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Nuria García - Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    978
    412
    162
    103
See reviews for
1,256
1,063
30
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived back from Melia Villaitana yesterday after a short break of four nights. It was disappointing. The hotel is situated about 3 miles from Benidorm close to the Terra Mitica Theme Park. The Hotel is split into two - "The Level" is the five star part of the Hotel - we stayed in the four star part and opted for half board. The Hotel itself is great and the best way I can describe it as Portmeirion Spanish style! There is a "town square" where the entertainment in the evening is held and a "jazz" bar. There are three great pools, all of which are unheated, and the "beach" pool is definitely the quieter of the three - the other two are used for various activities for both adults and children throughout the day. There is a bar by the pools which serves lunch from 1.30 to 3.30 and the main restaurant (Casa Azul Buffet Restaurant) is also situated here and this is where you have breakfast, lunch and evening meal. If you have opted for B&B or half or full board you eat in this restaurant but there are other restaurants within the Hotel (Italian, tapas) that you can eat at but you pay separately and this is expensive when you just want a quick bite for lunch - 15 euros for a burger, 9 euros for a tuna salad, 12 euros for chicken wings and 28 euros for steak to name a few. They do not do "snacks" like toasties or sandwiches which is all you really want for lunch and we thought the drinks expensive. The jazz bar in the square also serves "snacks" but this is in fact just food from the room service menu and again it was expensive and again is full meals rather than snacks. If you ordered room service there is an additional charge of 5 euros for delivery. The buffet breakfast was good - usual selection of juices, fruit, yogurts, breads, cakes/pastries, cereals, bacon, sausages etc and the eggs and omelettes are cooked fresh for you. We asked for tea on two occasions and the water was luke warm, the coffee and hot milk is kept in flasks and again these are lukewarm as they can sit there for up to 40 minutes before anyone takes them. We tended to use the coffee machine each morning as at least this was hot but every morning we had to ask for hot milk as there was none in the flasks by the machine. No-one greeted you or showed you to a table - indeed no-one asked for our room number. We did not eat in the buffet restaurant at lunch but we did in the evenings and this was poor. The choice was limited and most of the food was lukewarm or cold. There seemed to be enough staff but no organisation - plates were slow in being cleared away and unless you kept hold of your cutlery you had to ask for more if you did go for seconds - there was no salt and pepper on the tables, there were 5 salad dressings on the first night, 3 on the second and by the last night we were down to a choice of mustard mayo or marie rose! There was a selection of bread but no plates but the main criticism was the temperature of the food - some foods were cold, most was lukewarm and nothing was hot apart from the meats and fish cooked to order by the chef each evening. If we had not booked this as part of the holiday then it would have cost us 26 euros each and we met fellow guests who had paid for the meal and they were less than happy - quite simply not worth the money. We ate at the golf club - much better. Quieter and the choice more suitable for lunch time eating - toasties, salads, reasonably priced burgers - I had a tuna baguette (5 euros) and hubby a club sandwich (8.50 euros) - both came with a large portion of crisps and the drinks are also cheaper. They also sell 1 litre bottles of mineral water for 2 euros which we bought for when around the pool - a small bottle from the pool bar cost 3.50 euros. The restaurant also does not serve dinner until 8.00 pm (til 11.00 pm) and by this time the smaller children at the Hotel were tired and the screaming could reach fever pitch by 9.30 - not an enjoyable experience. There was also a conference taking place over a period of days and there is nothing quite like sitting by the pool on your lounger and having 50 or so suited and booted types walking past to the restaurant! At previous Hotels we have stayed at the corporate and holiday guests have been kept separate - nothing of the sort here - corporate guests definitely attended to before the holiday guests. We were on the ground floor and the room was lovely with large tv and complimentary water, coke and fanta on arrival but again I would expect more than one English TV channel from a four star hotel - BBC World. Taxis to Benidorm cost around 10 euros each way and if you hire a car and park at the Hotel you are charged 2.50 euros - if you leave and return you pay another 2.50 euros but you can buy a daily pass for 4 euros or park in the underground car park for 11 euros. Overall husband and I enjoyed our short break but the food and staff were severely lacking - we should have guessed things were not great when we checked in and the receptionist handed us a map and could not show us where our room was! We had to look with him and point it out! It took 45 minutes to check out as there is no separate desk for checking out and we had checked out at 12 noon as instructed just as everyone was checking in. I can't quite work out what Melia are trying to achieve - the 4/5 star split is clearly not working and there are so many areas of the Hotel that are standing empty and unused. If you have small children then this Hotel is great in that the activities arranged for them are well thought out and very well organised but you would need a deep wallet if you wanted to keep them happy with drinks, food and ice creams! The hotel is clean, you get free pool towels and the rooms are a good size but there is definitely a great deal of room for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montysmum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Meliá Villaitana for your recent visit to Benidorm and thank you for reviewing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We regret to see that your stay with us did not met your complete expectations. We do apologise that we have not delivered our usual high stardard of service to which you deserve. All of your comments have been taken on board.
We truly hope to see you back again with your husband at Meliá Villaitana in the future for the new experience.
Kind Regards,
Nuria García-Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The hotel is huge and very easy to get lost in. Rooms are large, very well decorated and kept exceptionally clean. The complex is very pretty with lots of pools but didn't use any of them as the weather was cool. There is also a children's pool with a mock beach and a play area and creche.

There are a few restaurants but the food isn't as good as you would expect. The staff are very friendly though.

The hotel is near to Benidorm town centre and about an hour from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Martin,
On behalf of myself and all the staff at the hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Villaitana for your stay.
In one hand, we apologize that our food offer did not meet your expectations, in other hand, we are happy to know that your overall experience was great. Please, know that your comments will be carefully analyzed in order to improve our services.
We appreciate the time you took to share your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Nuria García –Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we booked "The Level" and it was worth the money. The Level is a building within what is like a spanish village. The melia is a huge ressort, but The Level is like a retreat. Two pools without children and a separat restaurant for breakfast. Free cocktails and snacks at happy hour. The restaurants in the ressort are nothing special, actually quite disappointing, especially the Italian. It´s a short taxi trip into Benidorm to eat elsewhere, but it´s good to came back to the ressort.

Its lovely to sit out on the "village square" int the evening drinking wine and eating tapas and there is often nice entertainment there. Would return, not for a long holiday but for a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotters813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your experience.
Be sure that your comments will help us to keep improving our service and product. As you know, we believe it is only through listening carefully to the reviews of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service.
It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the near future
Warm regards,
Nuria García –Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked this hotel but nearly cancelled after reading some of the negative reviews on this site. However we could not find a resort hotel that offered family rooms so decided to take a chance.

We should not have worried. All the major building work had been completed and the pools were all open. It is a very large resort hotel and the swimming pools were amazing. Yes there were not heated so a little cold this time of year but my 2 children aged 9 and 6 did not seem to mind and spent a lot of their time exploring the pools. There was even a a little beach area and pool. I also did he aqua aerobics on one occasion and the water was quite refreshing once you got used to it.

The room fitted our needs perfectly. As a family of four we have always found it difficult to find a family suite at a reasonable price. The room was huge with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a lounge and dining area. The suite overlooked the golf course with Benidorm and the sea in the distance. The rooms was nicely furnished and the bathrooms were well equipped. I was not keen on the rag rolled walls but that aside the room was perfect.

We opted for the half board option. We did go out on trips in the afternoon so eating in the hotel for dinner worked out well for us. There was always an excellent choice of food with a chef cooking at breakfast and dinner. We really could not fault the food, lovely variety, well prepared and very fresh. The desserts were gorgeous and cava at breakfast a nice touch.

Our girls were keen to try the childrens club so we did let them go on two occasions and they loved it. They would have gone every day if they could, lots of fun things for them to do and Roberto and co were a big hit. There was even a kids playground with a little zip wire which the girls enjoyed.

We did not choose this hotel so we could go into Benidorm every day, I am not sure why you would want to. If you want to stay in Benidorm there are hundreds of hotels in the middle of the action. We did drive in to visit the beach one day and the drive and parking was very easy. We also visited Alicante, Altea, Guadalest and Valencia and all these places are worth the visit.

We did think the car parking charge was annoying however a lot of hotels do charge for parking and at 2 EURO's a day this was not expensive. However if you are prepared for a short walk there is plenty of free parking just outside the hotel.

Our only gripe was that as we booked direct with the hotel and were Melia Reward members we received a 10 EURO credit per day which was supposed to be used for any charges at the hotel including bar and room service. However when we checked it we were told this can only be used at the Trattoria. As we were on half board we could not make use of this and did think that this was very misleading.

However overall we could not fault the hotel. All the staff we dealt with were helpful and friendly, the rooms were amazing, food was excellent and the pool areas were first rate. We do not normally return to a hotel more than once however we would definitely like to come back to the Melia Villaitana.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marias41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Maria,
What a big pleasure to read your nice and highlighted comment referring your last stay with us.
First of all, thank you very much for trusting in us even after reading some of the negative reviews, as you have commented.
We appreciate you have spend your valuable time to send us your comments and share it with another Tripadvisor’s users regarding the Family Suites rooms, Pool Areas, Food Services, Location and Parking.
We are very proud to know that your last experience in Meliá Villaitana satisfied your expectations. Be sure that we will share your comments with all our staff.
It would be a pleasure to see you again.
Warm regards,

Nuria García - Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorks
Level Contributor
252 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just come back from a few days at this hotel for a wedding, and after reading the reviews I must have been to the wrong hotel because the Villaitana bears no resemblance to WOW and Fantastic, and I can only assume the reviewers have never stayed in a 5 star before.
It all started going wrong before we arrived, a number of the wedding guests were contacted and told that even though they had booked their rooms months in advance, they could now not have them due to a business conference now taking over the hotel, so they were moved out, we were fortunate and got our room, which I have to say is quite nice, it was a Premium with a good sized bathroom and bed overlooking the golf course and Benidorm, so that’s the good bit over.
Due to this conference the staff paid little or no attention to other guests, in fact when it finished there were hardly any staff present and when you needed one you were told it was out of season, so only half the restaurants open, no pool service in the Level, try and order in the square and it took forever and was generally cold.
The wedding was a complete fiasco why we were served the main course in the middle of the speeches and then the champagne toast at the end when everyone was finished is just terrible.
It was difficult to hear the speeches and I asked why a microphone was not offered and was told it would be another 300 euros, an absolute disgrace.
The only good staff member was Paula in the Level she tried her best at all times, and I can see if the hotel actually had the staff to run it properly it would not be that bad, the location is good and the views nice, yes it does need some TLC, with light fittings falling from the ceilings, broken soap dispensers and many other things it lets itself down badly.
Other things I would expect in a 5 star, iron in the room, free water, tea and coffee facilities, Ok you can go to bar and get some water and refreshments, but once you have retired it is not something you want to do.
The TV was a waste of time two English channels, is not what I would describe as cosmopolitan.
The buffet breakfast was OK, just a shame about all the birds flying around inside, but again the staff in the buffet restaurant took ages to clear plates, and had no interest in providing a proper service.
Overall would I recommend NO, I am sure that other people would disagree but when I pay for a 5 star I expect a 5 star and this hotel just did not deliver.

Room Tip: Get as near the Level as possible, or even in it, it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prs54fmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, thank you very much for sharing your opinion with other travellers about your stay in Meliá Villaitana.
We are very concerned about your comments. We always try to please all our guests and adapt to their customs and preferences. We sincerely apologize if this was not the case and you had such as negative impressions, which is not shared with the feedback received from another wedding’s guests because we worked such as the main protagonists wanted to perform this special day for them.
We beg you accept our apologies for not having exceed your expectations, and we encourage you to give us another chance to offer you an unforgettable experience.
Best regards,

Nuria García - Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good resort, very good rooms, swimming pools, balconies overlooking the golf course..
It could have been a great place if it was nearer to the beach. You need to spend 15euros for reaching the beach or the city..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rejiplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor in relation to your recent stay with us at the Meliá Villaitana.
It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoyed your trip and that our facilites, services, and complementary offer impressed you.
We are looking forward to welcome in a next future,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benidorm
2.6 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#47 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,772 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
2.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#31 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Villaitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Villaitana

Property: Melia Villaitana
Address: Avda Alcalde Eduardo Zaplana 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#17 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#19 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Villaitana 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 20 minutes from Alicante, Melia Villaitana has two hotels Melia Villaitana 4* y The Level at Melia Villaitana 5*. Melia Villaitana has been designed in the form of a Mediterranean village, lying between 2 golf courses designed by Nicklaus Design and boasting some wonderful views of the Gran Bahia of the Costa Blanca. Its 25 individual buildings and its unique architectural style replicate picturesque squares and historic corners of the region, making the hotel an innovative experience for both leisure and business, and positioning it as a new concept of exclusivity, comfort and service on the Costa Blanca.Accommodation: The hotel has 455 spacious double rooms, including 99 rooms of The Level (5 star) category.Services: The hotel has 2 golf courses, 5,000 m2 of outdoor pools, as well as a wide range of cuisine, 2 tennis and 6 paddle courts, an outdoor children’s play area, a kids’ club, artificial beach and a complete Spa & Wellness Center with 13 treatment rooms, thermal pools, gym and relaxation room. A Convention Centre with 6,000 m2 of flexible space, divided into 17 meeting rooms to meet every requirement in relation to conferences and large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Villaitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaitana Wellness Golf And Business Sun Resort
Villaitana Wellness Golf & Business Sun Hotel Benidorm
Villaitana Wellness Hotel Business Sun
Villaitana Wellness Resort Business Sun
Sheraton Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing