We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect short break golf venue!”
Review of Melia Villaitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Villaitana
Ranked #39 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Arriving on a Thursday, leaving on Monday, we managed four and a half rounds on the hotels two courses, the benefit being that its only short walk to the clubhouse so no time wasted travelling to and from various courses.
No chance of getting bored with either course because both are interesting in completely different ways. The short course is all about club selection off the tee. Get it wrong and you're spitting sand.
The big course is a true championship course, long and challenging.
The hotel is an architectural wonder in its own right! Styled as a Spanish village, with squares, a church etc its almost like a filmset. Our apartments (family rooms) were a fair hike from reception, but were massive. Mine had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, two 50 inch plasmas, kitchenette and huge dining room/lounge.
We enjoyed a superb breakfast in Los Naranjos every day on our way to the clubhouse and obviously a few beers après-golf in the clubhouse.............although it must be said the staff there were less than hospitable.
It will be worth checking that Melia (who have recently bought the hotel and golf courses) haven't put the prices up, because this year (2012), it has got to be said that the hotel + golf package is fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoscowMaleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,620)
There are newer reviews for Melia Villaitana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 3,620 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in the hotel at the end of September this year, found the staff to be very helpfull and polite, the quality of the accommodation was excellent. We played both golf courses twice and found them to be in great condition and two different challenges, the benefit of the shorter course and the need to use buggies, was after being up early to catch a flight it was just the right length of course to play after a long day, all the lads enjoyed it and were able to unwinde immediately. Being just outside Benidorm was also good as it allowed you to travel the short distance to the night life, but when done it was back to a great room and a quiet nights sleep ( Win Win). I would like to critisise however for 4 lads on a long golf weekend it was just about perfect, from the hotel, the staff, golf courses and the condition and cleanliness of the facilities. Will have no hesitation on returning next year ,as an added bonus it worked out around £350 per person cheaper that Villamoura in Portugal for the same trip, but the hotels were not a patch on this one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RS18733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for expending your time sharing your visit to our hotel.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and the golf course.
We will continue working in order to ensure that next time your stay will be even better!
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards,
Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Am writing this review midway through a stay. So far so good, hotel great and grounds stunning. My only gripe is that there is lack of information, most hotels have in room info on facilities etc but there is none of that here. You get a printed restaurant guide on arrival but that doesn't help you program the air conditioning! I was pretty annoyed to go to the gym at 11 only to find it didn't open until 3:30pm! Very strange....
Great thing is that as we are staying out of season there is virtually no one here, mainly golfers who are on the golf course all day. 3 days in and we have not seen a single person around the pool, it's been great..like our own desert island! Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I came here recently with a group of friends and stayed in the five-star Level area of the hotel. The star of the show was definitely the room, which was stylishly appointed and absolutely massive; so big that I kept mistaking the walk-in closet for the bathroom and didn't even realize until the second day that there was a separate shower compartment! The bed, TV and shower were all first-class and well up to any five-star standards and there was also a decent-sized balcony overlooking the pool.

The grounds were beautifully laid out and very well-maintained and there was plenty of space to sit around the pool without feeling encumbered by other guests. Breakfast in Los Naranjos restaurant was also a highlight of the stay; the dining room's very large, light and airy with terraces outside if the weather's good, so you never feel rushed or hemmed in by other guests. The menu's as extensive as anything I've ever experienced; if you fancy an omelette cooked to order with smoked salmon and a glass of cava (as I did!) it's there for you.

Some of the criticisms on here just don't match up to our experiences in any way. In terms of cleanliness and overall maintenance I couldn't fault the hotel, either in the room or the public areas. Staff service has also been called into question but, apart from a slightly protracted check-in (around 15 minutes) we were all very happy with the staff; we were served quickly and politely, everyone we spoke to had a good grasp of English and the staff in the main bar were particularly welcoming and helpful. Although the bar prices weren't particularly cheap they certainly weren't extortionate for a hotel of this standard and if you want to pay less you can jump into a taxi any time, day or night, and get whatever you want in Benidorm.

The negatives for me were relatively minor; although there were plenty of complimentary cold drinks in the fridge in the room I did miss tea and coffee making facilities. Also the use of wrist bands to mark out the five-star guests was a bit of a faff and didn't really seem to be monitored anyway. But overall that didn't detract from what was a really good stay; I'd happily come back to this hotel in the future and I believe that it represents very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear guest,

We are proud that you chose our hotel for your stay, but now that we know that you had a pleasant stay , we are more than delighted.
Thank you so much for your valuable remarks that refer to how customer service, room, breakfast and facilities did meet your satisfaction.
We really hope to serve you again in the near future!
Kind regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here with three lads in September 2012 4 nights to play golf
The two rooms were of a very high standard in the 4 star section, the pool area is fantastic
breakfast was a very good and varied buffet you could sit outside the resturant overlooking the pool if you likesd. if you can find something you like to eat here then there is something wrong with you, we did not get up very early so this was normally a 10.30 brunch

we only had one actual lunch at the hotel which was tappas and was nice and witha beer was fairly cheap for a hotel
every evening we went into Benidorm to eat, its 5 minutes and 10euoros in a taxi, loads of good bars and places to eat and again very cheap

Only down side to this resort has been reported by many people, an hour que at reception trying to book in, those guys don't know how to rush around!
The golf courses are very good and so different the staff at the clubhouse were so friendly and again the beer was cheap and cold very welcoming after a hot round of golf, we teed of around 14.00 every day it was not very busy at that time
Look you do have to pay 2 euros to park the car but hey its £1.60ish a day so what

We have been visiting various parts of spain with 3 mates to play golf for the last 14 years, this is the best we have been to and are planning to return here next year,

Don't be put off by Benidorm this resort is in the hills overlooking the theme park and away from the town if you don't like it

we played and stayed at La Manga last year and this is by far better and way way less expensive

Room Tip: 610 & 611 were fine overlooking the square
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatboy2Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear guest,

We are grateful to note that you had a nice golf holiday.
It is very kind that you inform other travellers about your impressions regarding the room, food and overall experience at Melia Villaitana.
It is our desire to have your confidence again in your next vacation,
We hope to welcome you back soon,

Warm regards,
Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I travelled 10 days on 7 different 5 star hotels in the region, this was the worst, by far!!.
Waited 10 minutes in a overcrowded reception area. Got a wrong room, that was dirty and minibar empty, the door could not be locked and after waiting 3 hours and calling 3 times still nothing happened. I then went with my family to the SPA. WORST SPA EVER, THE PLACE WAS SO DIRTY, AND I PAYED NEARLY 80 EUROS FOR 90 MINUTES FOR 2 ADULTS AND 1 CHILD.We left after 5 minutes, there was dirty everywhere in the SPA. I then talked with the hotel manager, who granted an upgrade and some fee coffee. The next day after having dinner in their gourmet restaurant (its not), and not beeing able to sleep because of noise, we waited 20 minutes to get a luggage and the reception manager refused to begin with, that we could have the free coffee while waiting to get our luggage. After explaining that the hotel manager had givin it as a compensation, he said allright allrigth, you can have your free cofee, not understanding that it was very rude, and refused to talk more about that. On top of this, the food is very bad, very few speak english, asked 3 different employees to find a way to a Restaurant that served lunch, not possible? You pay for parking every time you go in and out. The place has potential, but they should rearrange the lobby, and give everybody a service education.All the large pools are not heated.

Room Tip: dont go there, its the worst 5 star in the region
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jteilmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you first of all for having chosen Melia Villaitana for your stay.
Our goal is to provide the superior customer service and we regret to hear that your stay did not meet our objective.
We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the room, although I have known that you were offered as soon as we knew it, an upgrade.
Front Office Department is constantly working on improving the registration process and to guarantee the shorting waiting time.
Referring the Spa , we will be going through the failures you encountered, and of course your feedfack will assist us in becoming better and to identify opportunities for improvement.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next reservation or anything you may need from Melia Villaitana,
Best regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here in October as part of a golfing holiday, since I last stayed here the hotel has been rebranded and split into two distinct sections, 4 star and 5 star. The hotel is still very stylish and clean, but lets its self down with the levels of service it offers. The golf caddy master is on you case all the time, with him trying to fit in more and more golfers each day. Thet even allow peiople to tee off knowing they wont finish their round of golf before the light fades. Both courses are in excellent condituion and are chalk and cheese to play, getting a buggy for the larger course is nigh on impossible, be prepared. We finished late one day and got to the clubhouse only to find it shuts at 7.00pm and when we asked if they could book us a table at the Italian Restaurant, they said no as it was a different company who ran the hotel.he Italian has changed its menu and was very basic with little choice, the buffett in the main restaurant was better value and choice, but did not include any soft / hot drinks in the cost. Thd pools are all clean and cold, but very inviting after a days golfing in 30 degrees of sunshine. Getting a bar snack proved alittle difficult at the main bar, as the staff appeared confused about who order what and when. Try the wine tasting at the Prado Rey shop on site fantastic value on some of the wines.

Have been here twice now, maybe I will give it amiss for a while and try it again another time

Room Tip: Try to book a mini suite
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyLopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benidorm
0.1 mi away
The Level at Melia Villaitana
2.6 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#55 of 192 in Benidorm
4,105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Luxor Hotel
Grand Luxor Hotel
#50 of 192 in Benidorm
290 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
7,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Villaitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Villaitana

Address: Avda Alcalde Eduardo Zaplana 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#17 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#23 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $122 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Villaitana 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 20 minutes from Alicante, Melia Villaitana has two hotels Melia Villaitana 4* y The Level at Melia Villaitana 5*. Melia Villaitana has been designed in the form of a Mediterranean village, lying between 2 golf courses designed by Nicklaus Design and boasting some wonderful views of the Gran Bahia of the Costa Blanca. Its 25 individual buildings and its unique architectural style replicate picturesque squares and historic corners of the region, making the hotel an innovative experience for both leisure and business, and positioning it as a new concept of exclusivity, comfort and service on the Costa Blanca.Accommodation: The hotel has 455 spacious double rooms, including 99 rooms of The Level (5 star) category.Services: The hotel has 2 golf courses, 5,000 m2 of outdoor pools, as well as a wide range of cuisine, 2 tennis and 6 paddle courts, an outdoor children’s play area, a kids’ club, artificial beach and a complete Spa & Wellness Center with 13 treatment rooms, thermal pools, gym and relaxation room. A Convention Centre with 6,000 m2 of flexible space, divided into 17 meeting rooms to meet every requirement in relation to conferences and large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Villaitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaitana Wellness Golf & Business Sun Hotel Benidorm
Villaitana Wellness Golf And Business Sun Resort
Villaitana Wellness Hotel Business Sun
Villaitana Wellness Resort Business Sun
Sheraton Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing