We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than last year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Villaitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Villaitana
Ranked #29 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Better than last year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

20 of us went to this location again (2 years in a row) and to be honest I think it has improved a lot form last year and is getting better and the prices are dropping.
We had 2 bedroom suites with full bathroom + a 2nd small bathroom with toilet & shower, a lounge with TV which unfiortunately only had BBC news for English channles.
We were B&B and although not great there was a good selection of fresh fruit or cooked breakfast although cooked in a definite spanish way i.e. lots of garlic oil.........if you deceide to have bacon then ask the person cooking the omelettes to put the bacon on the hot plate for 5mins as this will crisp it up, unless you like rare fatty bacon that is. The staff in the restaurant were good, except for one miserable waitress who scowled at everybody if they asked for coffee or tea.
We went into Benidorm most nights and in my opinion the best places were the front were they have lots of live music playing, the square was as tacky as hell and was best avoided unless you like that type of enviroment.
We played 4 rounds of golf - 2 x Levante OK, 1 x Bonalba OK, 1 x Font de Llop POOR

Although we enjoyed ourselves we will be going somewhere else next year but I would use the hotel again if I were to go the area in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trubby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Joe,
We would like to thank you first of all for trusting Melia Villaitana.
We note that is your second stay, and we are pleased to read that you encountered the hotel better than before.Do not hesitate that we will continue working hard to improve our services.
Please accept our apologies if the service from one of our waitresses, as you mention, was not the most appropiate.
We hope to have the opportunity to have your visit again,
Warm regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    935
    396
    156
    91
See reviews for
1,191
1,018
27
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just back from a golfing weekend - 12 of us altogether. Really good hotel set on the hillside above Benidorm with terrific views. Lovely setting and very pretty with great pools area and breakfast by the pool. The rooms are very good indeed with the junior suite providing large lounge with a terrace and views, double bedroom and first class bathroom. The breakfast is excellent and the staff all very helpful. Just ashort 12 euro taxi ride down to the old town.
Two courses adjacent to the hotel - the only downside is the secondary course which is really a par three with a few par fours thrown in. The course is pretty but not much of a challenge in truth.
Would I go back ? Only if its posible to play the main course at least twice but no worries about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Jon,

We are pleased to read these kind words about our hotel, services and staff. Our main commitment is achieve guest satisfaction!
We look forward to welcoming you very soon.
We are at your disposal for any assistance you may need in futur,
Best regards,

Inmaculada Lucas-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

11 of us stayed at this hotel over the weekend. We expected the worst after reading some reviews but we can honestly say the hotel, staff and overall experience was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and we would gladly go again. Pool area is lovely and rooms are extremely nice. It's a great location just outside of noisy Benidorm. Constant supply of tea/coffee water supplied by the hotel free of charge opposite the reception area is a real benefit. Breakfast was a treat.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course are very nicey and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear July,

Thank you for your trust in our hotel. We are delighted with these positive remarks about our staff!
It would be a real pleasure to meet you again,

Kind regards,
Inmaculada Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am a bit baffled by some of the reviews on here. I went with seven guys on an annual golfing trip and we couldn't find fault in anything. For what we paid this was probably the best value place we have been to.

Room Tip: We booked through a very popular golf tour company and all got an upgrade to family suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokercrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Melia Villaitana for your visit.
We are happy to know about your good sensations, and it is very kind from you to share your impressions with other travellers.
We hope to welcome you again soon,
Best regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Melia Villaitana is gorgeous! Multiple buildings, hidden terraces, numerous pools, private areas, plentiful sitting areas and outstanding views. Good size rooms with modern amenities minus clocks, ipod station. Yes, the water leaks from the shower yet housekeeping always gave extra towels. Yes, they should have hair dryers in every room (manager indicated they are awaiting a shipment) however one was delivered immediately along with iron/board. Service is slower than other resorts yet you are supposed to be on vacation so take your time and enjoy the surroundings and relax. The pool is fantastic - you can hide from the crowds (seems the only people there are golfers who are gone most of the day). The breakfast plentiful and food was good. Great spot to getaway, read a book, attend a wedding or conference.

Room Tip: Facing pool area or city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tstangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from a second visit to this hotel over the last two years; with a golf party, although I do not play. Always stunning; Portmerion on steriods, pools to suit everybody including artificial beach.
Breakfast is excellent unless you have a hang over, cold or hot. Food at the bar is expensive, just stroll over to the golf club ( 5 mins via the reception pool ) sit on the terrace and order a drink and a snack for a few euros at lunch, take a taxi to the old town and have a meal to suit any taste at dinner or stay at the hotel on half board and enjoy excellent food ( a friend stayed in July ).
Rooms excellent and well cleaned as is the whole hotel, with extremelly pleasant staff particularly at the egg frying station at breakfast, without being intrusive.
Check in, check out without being disturbed if that is your ilk, take a good book, lie back and relax.
The hotel although visually stunning is lacking a little soul, whether this is through the odd idiosyncratic member of staff or loose fittings and furniture, there are no wall hangings, paintings, fabrics or ceramics which the spanish are renowned for, I feel these would improve the overall ambiance and leave a more lasting impression to match the external facades.
All in All, no hesitation to return again, may take my wife next time!

Room Tip: Pick up your own drinks for the fridge from a local supermarket, patios to the rooms are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely hotel with great facilities but let down horribly by the worst service I have experienced anywhere in the world.

Regular long waits while the staff ignore you, staff huffing and puffing when you ask them to make a cocktail, even though it's on the menu and on some occasions we were made to wait over an hour only to be told that they were out of stock. (they could have told us right away!!)

My only recommendation is to stay well away from this hotel. I have some lovely pictures, but not good memories. Frustration is the main memory that springs to mind.

Oh, and they make you pay EUR6 per day for wifi (this should be free) and EUR3 per day for parking.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 76Chris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear customer,

We would like to apologize for not covering your expectations this time.
We do not know exactly what could happen in the bar but we will try to avoid a similar situation.
Please accept our excuses, this is not our standard of service.

It is our desire that you can trust in us in future and this way we are able to change your impressions,

Warm regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
2.6 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#47 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
2.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#30 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Villaitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Villaitana

Property: Melia Villaitana
Address: Avda Alcalde Eduardo Zaplana 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#17 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#18 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Villaitana 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 20 minutes from Alicante, Melia Villaitana has two hotels Melia Villaitana 4* y The Level at Melia Villaitana 5*. Melia Villaitana has been designed in the form of a Mediterranean village, lying between 2 golf courses designed by Nicklaus Design and boasting some wonderful views of the Gran Bahia of the Costa Blanca. Its 25 individual buildings and its unique architectural style replicate picturesque squares and historic corners of the region, making the hotel an innovative experience for both leisure and business, and positioning it as a new concept of exclusivity, comfort and service on the Costa Blanca.Accommodation: The hotel has 455 spacious double rooms, including 99 rooms of The Level (5 star) category.Services: The hotel has 2 golf courses, 5,000 m2 of outdoor pools, as well as a wide range of cuisine, 2 tennis and 6 paddle courts, an outdoor children’s play area, a kids’ club, artificial beach and a complete Spa & Wellness Center with 13 treatment rooms, thermal pools, gym and relaxation room. A Convention Centre with 6,000 m2 of flexible space, divided into 17 meeting rooms to meet every requirement in relation to conferences and large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Melia Villaitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaitana Wellness Golf & Business Sun Hotel Benidorm
Villaitana Wellness Golf And Business Sun Resort
Villaitana Wellness Hotel Business Sun
Villaitana Wellness Resort Business Sun
Sheraton Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing