We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good First Experience of an Apartment Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Halley Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halley Apartments
Ranked #138 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good First Experience of an Apartment Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We're a couple who consider ourselves as young pensioners, and we've been to Benidorm many times in the past, always staying on a Full Board or All Inclusive basis. For a change we thought we would try an apartment holiday as we wanted to escape the restrictions of fixed mealtimes and in-house entertainment. So we looked for somewhere cheap, and close the entertainment centres of the town, with reasonable reviews. The Halley reviews looked OK - we were going in October so the lack of air conditioning wasn't a concern.
We were surprised to find a lot more space than you get in a hotel - a large balcony with a great 13th floor view, a lounge, bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and laundry room. The furniture and equipment was pretty old, but there was a brand new, full size fridge freezer, and a quaint washboard and deep sink for laundry. The limited kithen equipmnt wasn't a problem as we had no intention of cooking ourselves!
There is mention in other reviews of the noisy stag and hen parties that arrive for the weekends. That was no problem for us as watching young people enjoying themselves is part of the holiday entertainment. We were back late every night and you have to ring a bell for the night porter to come and let you in - not an inconvenience, it gave us a secure feeling. We were warned in earlier reviews of the 100 Euro deposit. no problem about getting it back when you check out but a bit of an inconvenience because it means you have to bring the foreign currency home with you.
And yes, the lifts are small, they hold 4 people. Two of you get in quite confortably, but its fun when it stops on the way down and you have to squeeze another two in! (we had a giggle after sharing with a Dutch couple who had obviously just had a garlic dish for their dinner.)
We loved the nearby "Stretford End" Bar, which became our local for the week. Good, home cooked food, a friendly welcome, and as well as 2 big projection screen TV's, I counted 10 normal sized flat screen TV's. They showed predominately sports, but from our table, my wife could watch the soaps on one TV, whilst I watched the football on another. The highlight of the week was the Manchester United game. I'm not a Man U fan, but I enjoyed the great atmosphere, and the free buffet at half time! Apparently this is a feature of every Man U game.
I'd also mention the chippy over the road. Lovely fish - I had the medium size and was stuffed when I had finished it, I wouldn't have managed the Whopper which was also on offer .
All in, it was a great holiday and I'd definately consider going bck to the same place.

Room Tip: Higher floors get a cooling breeze through them, but could have a wait for lifts at busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    107
    96
    34
    38
See reviews for
53
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a basic apartment building,the self catering facilities are very limited and ask for a kettle when u check in as they are kept behind the front desk-the lifts are very tiny and slow so glad we were only on the 5th floor.We had a 2 bed apartment with a spacious balcony and room was clean,there was no towel change or apt cleaning whilst there,Ladies take note there is only a mirror in the bathroom none in any bedrooms so getting ready to go out was a bit of a trauma .Would recommend this hotel for a long weekend with friends/ couple as close to nightlife and the Stretford bar at the end of road offers well cooked reasonably priced food (amazing chips yum).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Halley apartments in Benidorm. Have stayed here before in two bedroom apartment a few years ago. We were on floor 18 in what was classed as a studio but we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was a one bedroom apartment in all but name. The two "studios" are in the roof and the view to mountains, sea and town were great ! Nice large balcony but furniture could do with updating although apartment was clean and tidy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the building is very secure at night as the front gate is locked so you have to buzz to enter the premises, which we found reassuring.
Two lifts but they were having a problem with one of them, but this did not inconvenience us much. We arrived at night at about 11.30 pm and the doorman was very helpful. The lifts only go to floor 17, then you walk up the last two flights of stairs, but the doorman came up with us and carried our cases up the stairs for us, which we really appreciated as we are two ladies.
Location was great. Right opposite the indoor market and the "mas y mas" supermarket and bus stops just at the corner. Towels/bedding change very good. About 2/3 times during stay, which is more than some other apartments do.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in booking these apartments again.

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea but if only two people the view from floor 18 was excellent and there is no o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joyus57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Room clean towels clean. No air con no wi fi . Tiny kitchen no kettle no toaster only 1 sauce pan only 2 rings on hob. The fridge and freezer was however a good size. Had to buy an over priced fan for the bedroom husband n kids slept on balcony. Thankfully we were on ground floor as the lifts were tiny and broke down often. Mid week was ok noise wise but come the weekend the all male parties took over the pool there was lots of noise early hours . Furniture I think pre dated the ark and the large deposit paid for the room was more than the content of apartment was worth. The location would have been better if entrance to apartments was not on a dark side road where you had to wait outside a locked gate for the door man to come and let you in. The door staff were nice enought but the bar n cafe staff were less so. Hope this helps. To sum up it's ok for stag n hen not for summer months though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my 3rd review on halley apartments in 12 months ,as before value for money .had 1 day were stag party went over the top but overall had another great holiday.We only use halley for base .recommend Tikki beach, talk of the town[ ricki stevens comedian ] tommy cooper lounge.

Room Tip: Apartments have no A/C so higher the better for breeze and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r0bbie18merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arived late as taxi man couldn't find hotel. If you have same trouble get dropped off at hotel Nero walk 20meters to KFC, right up the bank (15meters),first left down narrow street(10meters).The reception is 24hrs and they lock the entrance gate at night but ring the bell and soon get let in.It seams standard now in benidorm to pay 100euro deposit for room.Good size apartment,no kettle or microwave but everything else youl nead if fancy self catering.Got a tv with bbc news,sky news but not much else.Pool could be a little small in peak times, but we had no trouble getting sunloungers.Plenty of shops/bars near by and main strip only 10mins walk away.if you are not an early riser,keep your windows closed on wednesday and sunday mornings as people travelling to the market, like to blast there car horns for no apparent reason!During the week relativly quiet and peaceful,but as others have said, droves of stag and hen partys arrive friday afternoon until monday and things can get messy.Wouldnt recommend to couples,famillys or even small groups (less than 20) during weekends.Hotel management work hard keeping everywhere clean and tidy, shame it's not appreciated by some.The beach is only five minutes walk away so you can escape if the pool gets to noisy.We have stayed in other hotels around Benidorm and during the week this is one of the best for location,size,price,cleanliness and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamaCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tayside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

arrived sep for 12 nights,(£100 deposit) we new the appart's as were there last year in sept and had no problems.we liked the situation,the pool area is good and the staff are helpful, the rooms are clean and adequate. THE DOWN SIDE this year was the groups on stag/,hen,party's arriving fri to mon on both weekends,taking over the pool area, drinking in and around pool causing broken glass,bottles,tins,shoes and clothes around pool area. they where very noisey day and night,and some wrecked their appartments,throwing furniture over the balcony into the pool,pulling sinks of the walls and breaking items around the pool area.i believe that the police had to be called. good appart's tues to thurs.not so good at the weekend unless you are in a group. will be looking for other accommodation next time.(we did get our deposit back)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.2 mi away
La Era Park Apartments
La Era Park Apartments
#55 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picasso Apartments
Picasso Apartments
#96 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#64 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Apartamentos El Faro
Apartamentos El Faro
#160 of 191 in Benidorm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Trebol
El Trebol
#106 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Santa Faz
Hotel La Santa Faz
#92 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halley Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halley Apartments

Property: Halley Apartments
Address: Calle Londres s/n | Playa Levante, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Halley Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halley Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halley Apartments Benidorm
Halley Apartments Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing