We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY, DON'T EVEN GO NEAR!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Francisco Apartments
Ranked #160 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed November 15, 2013

So we turned up and there was no one to be seen.. The reception looked like a run down shop and all the gates where closed. We finally go talking to a woman walking her dog and she pointed us to a leaflet on a wall which said pick up the keys 1 mile down the road! An hour later and we got into our apartment which were basic but did the job..

After 2 nights we went out in fancy dress for my 21st birthday and made sure we double locked the door behind us, we arrived back at the apartment early hours off the morning to find all three of our suitcases gone, no clothes left, no phones, no money...Even the safe door had been unlocked! We where on the 14th floor room B and there is no chance you can enter the room with out a key!! Definitely a big SET UP STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS!

Anyway apart from the hotel i had an amazing 21st and we still had enough money to buy some clothes and party hard! Will not be using these apartments EVER AGAIN.

IF YOU STAY HERE SLEEP WITH ONE EYE OPEN.. EVERY SCUMBAG ON THE STREET HAS A KEY!!!

Room Tip: Rooms that aren't in this apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincasarena, Gerente at San Francisco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Mr. Shepherd:

We are very sorry about what happened to you, but, what you say is unfairabout us.

San Francisco apartments is a self catering residential building, without 24 hours reception service, so if you arrive on saturday late night our reception office (that is placed ath the bottom of the building, just close to the main door of the building) is closed.

As we have informed by written to your travel agency, in our office window (with light 24 hours , there was a list of clients not arrived before we close, explaining where to collect apartment keys, anyway also in your travel information you should have fron your travel agent the information about going direct to Madeira Centro hotel reception to collect keys, (Our office is Esperanto street , 23 and madeira is esperanto street , 1 so it is not true that the place for keys is 1 mile away, really is only about 750 meters in the same street of the building (so, we don´t understand why you needed 1 hour to get keys). And about key collection you should have the information since the moment you booked.

This year 2013 we haven´t had any robbery in this building till now, as a general safety rule, every 4 months we replace apartment locks to other different. The apartments have security doors, so the only way to open without breaking the door is because you did not double locked door. at the same dates we had 12 more apartments rented in the same building and no one had any problem. Safety box in apartments are always left open when they are not rented by clients, so no one opened it.

Yesterday we have been told by police that apartment owner in 7A was pick pocketed on the street and they stolen theri apartment keys, so probably they get access to the building with that keys, robbed him in the apartment and they were trying which apartment was not double locked to get into in 3 seconds with any x-ray plastic piece (administrator of the building has already changed the building door lock).

When you came down to our office 13/11/2013 and you reported we elped you about the police statemen, and asked you to bring it later to get a copy of it, because if police finds anything they will contact us, but you didn´t bring it. we told you that with the police report probably you can claim to your apartment insurance in En gland, because many of them cover the holiday apartment as your house if you have the rental contract as proof you have been living there.

We apologizes for the bad experience in Benidorm in your holidays, but when you contacted us we helped you as much as possible.

If you send a copy of your police report we will keep track with police station if in future any of your personal belonging is recovered.

Kind regards

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

As previous reviews have stated - its not 5 star - but - we also went on a very tight budget - it had what we needed - the apartment had obviously seen better days - the iron didn't work and there was no kettle. This by no means spoiled our stay. We stayed in apartment 18B. If you pay cheap and cheerful you get cheap and cheerful. We had a fab time - swam in the pool every day. The only thing might advise is made clearer is collection of keys - once we knew what to do got it sorted quickly. But we had not been informed that we may have to collect our keys from somewhere else. It was a lovely lady - luckily for us an English lady - and her husband coming home from a night out that pointed us in the right direction. Also the directions for the hotel where to collect our keys was in the envelope with the keys!!!!!!! Perhaps notices on the gates directing people to look in the office window for late arrivals would be useful. We arrived after 1.00 am and had visions of sleeping in the garden, luckily we didn't have to do this!!! Overall very pleased with package, had a fabulous time and am planning my holiday here for next year already. If you have a tight budget this is the holiday for you.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the most magnificent views, makes your legs feel a little wobbly but wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Motherof05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincasarena, Gerente at San Francisco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Client:

We are very happy to know you are pleased with our apartment in San Francisco apartments. We hope to see you again.

About key collection, we provide travel agencies with all information about our timetable and were to collect keys when we close our reception ofice at the bottom of tower 1 in San Francisco apartments. We also leave a chart with light all the night with the list of clients not arrived and where to collect apatrment keys and maybe you did not received the info from your travel agent.

we provide normal kettles (not electric kettles) and also an iron, if you have any problem, at our reception office wewill be pleased to help yoo and replace what is necessary.

For any extra info you can always contac us at our websiteKind regards

FINCAS ARENA

Manager
Miguel A. Sotillos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just got back, stayed here again, had to pick up the keys from a different hotel no problem, just down the road, left the cases and the wife at cheap and cheer full opposite returned in 10 minutes. We had room 11d the biggest balcony i have ever seen, we paid 15e for the tv good value all of the english channels for when you are in the room, the manager told me he will be getting wi-fi later on when he can get a good service, for what you pay you cannot complain the staff in the office will do anything to help you.

Room Tip: corner apartments are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palo1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincasarena, Gerente at San Francisco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

Dear client:

We are very happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us at our apartments

We always try our customers to get satisfied with our service in their holidays.

Now the apartments have wifi service at an extra cost, provided by the same tv rental company.

Have a nice 2015

Kind regards

San Francisco apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The bad reviews made me nervous but i could not fault the apartment for what you are paying. It was clean on arrival, with sheets and towels supplied. It wasnt cleaned during our stay, but there was mops brushes ect provided. The keys could not be collected untill the office opened after 5 o clock but the staff were very helpful when we asked them to arrange a taxi bus for 10 back to alicante airport. It was within walking distance to the nightclub strip (7 mins) and the beach, (about 10). The pool area was lovely and clean. Only problem was what was considered a "double sofa bed" was a single pull out mattress, added on a base to the existing sofa seat. Stayed for a week and found it comfortable, couldnt ask for any more.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincasarena, Gerente at San Francisco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Client:

We are very happy to know you are pleased with our apartment in San Francisco apartments. We hope to see you again.

we provide normal kettles (not electric kettles) and also an iron, if you have any problem, at our reception office we will be pleased to help yoo and replace what is necessary.

For any extra info you can always contac us at our website

Kind regards

FINCAS ARENA

Manager
Miguel A. Sotillos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just returned from a week staying here. Was slightly worried having read the reviews but this hotel was what I hoped. Ok, it's not luxurious, but look at what you are paying. The apartments are clean and functional and the pool is excellent. I was on a lads holiday so wondered if it was going to be too far a walk into the nightlife,but it was perfect and very quiet. Value for money without doubt.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincasarena, Gerente at San Francisco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

Dear client:

We are very happy to know you had a nice holidays with us at our apartments

We always try our customers to get satisfied with our service in their holidays.

Now the apartments have wifi service at an extra cost, provided by the same tv rental company.

Have a nice 2015

Kind regards

San Francisco apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

have stayed at these apartments before usually pay deposit for room with euros but never had enough so had to give my card details was a bit worried about doing this but had to,we handed in the keys on the last day and was told the deposit will be put back into our bank, after we had been home a week it still was not in our bank we were worried emailed the hotel and this was sorted straight away i think it could of been because it ran into a bank holiday, these apartments are residential as well so you need to respect this, we had no problems and could not fault this place very big apartments you have to pay for the tv, but everything for self catering even a washing machine. These apartments are oppisite cheap and cheerfulls we arrived late and had to pick our key up at a different hotel left the women and cases in cheep & cheerfuls went across the road to the hotel and there was a notice in the window to tell us were to get the keys from just walk down the road to the madiria hotel to pick up keys dont forget your passport just to show, the next day go to the office below to book in, the road you go down is the side street not the main road to get the keys its at the bottom of the street on the right easy when you know how, just give your name and show your passport

Room Tip: higher floor better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palo1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincasarena, Gerente at San Francisco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

Dear client:

We are very happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us at our apartments, Thanks for your comments, so we can improve our service.

We always try our customers to get satisfied with our service in their holidays.

Now the apartments have wifi service at an extra cost, provided by the same tv rental company.

Have a nice 2015

Kind regards

San Francisco apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

There is so much to say so I'll keep it brief. DO NOT STAY HERE EVER!!!!!! First of all when we arrived no one told us the reception (which is actually an office) would be closed or even what to do in the event of it being closed. After trying to ring the world and his wife with no joy we stumbled across a sheet of paper taped to the office window telling us to pick up the keys from another hotel some 1/4 mile down the road (downhill there,uphill back with suitcases).
Now to the apartment ...First thing to hit us was how filthy it was we went to make a drink only to find the milk jug had what can only be described as pubic hair inside and one of the cups still had the remains of something unknown but fungal. The bathroom looks out onto the communal landing and upon getting out of the shower I was greeted by a man at the window . To paint a picture of what this place is like you'd have to imagine a tower block in any one of the UK's many inner cities. Cleaning or housekeeping is non existent for the whole week they never cleaned the apartment in fact all they did once was drop off some more towels. If you want to use the television you have to pay what they call a deposit of 10 Euros but you dont get it back

Room Tip: Get a room in a diiferent apartment / hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gordy2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.2 mi away
Gemelos 12
Gemelos 12
#172 of 192 in Benidorm
10 reviews
1 mi away
Europa Center Apartments
Europa Center Apartments
#163 of 192 in Benidorm
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Apartamentos Coral Beach
#142 of 192 in Benidorm
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ocana
Apartamentos Ocana
#136 of 192 in Benidorm
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Estacion Hotel
La Estacion Hotel
#93 of 192 in Benidorm
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Apartments

Address: Avenida Europa 23 | Fincas Arena, Corner with C/ Esperanto, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $36 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Francisco Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering apartments in private residential building near the center and the Levante beach in Benidorm. Our rental office FINCAS ARENA is in the basement of the building Apartments for 4 to 6 people. Accommodation of 48 m² and 60 m² comfortable. It is 600 m from "Levante Beach", 80 m from the supermarket, 30 m from the station of "urban" buses, 50 km from the airport "Alicante - El Altet", 5 km from the golf course, 8 km "The Albir" and it is located in a lively neighborhood in the town. It has elevator, garden, terrace, iron, safe (for rent), electric heating, communal swimming pool (open all year unless breakdown), covered parking in the same building (subject to availability), TV (for rent), satellite (Languages: English), wifi ( for rent), safe (for rent). The kitchenette, electric, is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, oven, freezer, crockery / cutlery, cookware / kitchen, coffee maker, toaster and kettle. It features children's play area and tennis court, pool and grass around the pool. For handover of apartment keys outside normal office hours contact us before and we agreed with the customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Otel and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Francisco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Apartments Hotel Benidorm
San Francisco Apartments Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing