We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Dorado”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Camposol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camposol
Ranked #101 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“El Dorado”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

My wife and I visited Camposol in Murcia, Spain as we were looking for a week of good weather, good fun and some rest and relaxation. We were looking for a private villa that we could hire with a pool, and were looking at Southeastern Spain as we could get relatively cheap flights to the area through Easyjet.

As we all know S.E. Spain has been invaded by Brits over the years and we were dubious about visiting the area as the idea of "fish and chips", "Irish pubs" and "all the curry you can eat" restaurants is not our bag.

Camposol itself is a purpose built "urbanisation" as the Spanish call them, built primarily for Brits i.e. all new builds in the middle of scrub. Now that in itself may well appeal to some visitors to this website, but please dont travel to Camposol thinking you will be visiting the real Spain. Yes you can travel around the region and visit some lovely areas including Caravaca de la Cruz, Murcia town and Cartagena, but we were slightly disappointed with the obvious English tinge to the area.

The villa itself was beautiful, but I would avoid Camposol like the plague, sorry!

  • Liked — Spacious, clean and tidy
  • Disliked — Location, location, location!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ben066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    104
    75
    32
    29
See reviews for
46
113
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2007

Me and my boyfriend fancied a cheap getaway in Benidorm so we went for the Camposol and we weren't let down!

We wanted a good location for cheap which is what we got, the beach was less than a simple five minute walk away and everything you needed was easy to find. Although close to everything, it wasn't right in the middle of things so we weren't kept up at night.

The room was average, not too modern, but it was cleaned daily and we had everything we needed including a balcony which overlooked the very clean but very cold pool. The walls were quite thin but as we didn't go in the summer we weren't kept up late. If you go in summer you're bound to be kept up no matter where you go really... We found that it was mainly older spanish people staying here at this time so we weren't disturbed.

We only got the breakfast which was buffet style and pretty good! Just the norm really, bacon, egg, cheese, toast, mushrooms, yogurt, tea, coffee, cereal... nothing overly fancy but there was something for everyone.

The hotel staff were alright too, they were very helpful when we enquired about the best way to get back to the airport and so on.

So pretty good over all, and for the strong 7 euro jugs of sangria they have you can't go wrong really!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

when we first pulled up outside the hotel our hearts sank but we thought, never judge a book by its cover. With this hotel you can, the cover was the best part. It was our honeymoon, we were all excited as we'd never been to benidorm before and had been promised a nice hotel half board. We were welcomed by a very grumpy pre-occupied receptionist who handed us the key and told us 1st floor and left us to it. Our room was down a long dark corridor with a few turnings, the hallway was very smokey and when we entered our room we looked in disbelief as there laid 2 single beds that looked like camp beds, which were so uncomfortable that they left us in pain. The view was a side street looking into the windows of the neighbouring hotel and the street below had scotters and cars consantly buzzing up and down. The bathroom was no bigger than a shoe cupboard, with hair from the previous guests still residing in the bath. The tv was completely spanish and there was no radio or any other kind of entertainment inthe whole hotel. There was only ONE plug socket in the room which was in the bathroom, so wires had to be stretched to where the mirror was on the wall about 5 -6 feet away. When we asked to change to a double room all we got was crabby tone of voice and the same old "ask tomorrow, ask tomorrow nothing now" so we eventually gave up. The food..... oh my god was worse than the room, luckily we never had cockroachs. But im sure they would of tasted better than the food. Apart from that the weather was lovely, plenty of british bars to keep us going but we will definately not be going to the camposol again. Absoloutley Rubbish.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Shayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benidorm hotels

Bradford, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2007

I booked for 2 rooms at the camposol, 1 for my boyfriend and I and the 2nd for his mum and dad. I had read reviews so decided to phone the hotel and request 2 rooms which had balconies with a pool view.

Check - in was quick and friendly and we were pleased that we got the rooms we requested. The rooms are average sized and have everything you would need.

We were on a full board basis and was pleasently surprised with the food. We only ate out 1 night and that was beacuse it was my birthday. The hotel will also give you a packed lunch if you are going out for the day, you should try one as it was lovely, 1 packed lunch had enough to feed 2!!

For me and those who travelled with me the only thing that let the hotel down was other British tourists that were staying there. They were very loud (usually at 5.30am) showing exactly why brits aborad have a bad name. God only know what the other nationalities staying in the hotel thought!!

Other than this, which is not even the hotels fault we had a billiant time and will certainly go back.

  • Liked — The rooms, because we could sit on the balcony to have a nightcap
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank McDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brithdir
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

Walking between the bathroom and the bedroom left you with black feet and needing to wash them again - the bathroom reeked of drains and the air con/ heat didn't work (room 401).

Great trip but no thanks to the hotel who also need to lose the surly bar staff who would rather go and clean tables and load the glass washer than serve their customers.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinktomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed at the Camposol the same week as taffy 18 and can endorse all that he say,s about it ,after returning from a night out we were called into his room to help remove the cockroaches as best we could so they could settle down for the night. Settling down for the night was easy but getting a nights sleep was not as the hotels thin walls ensured every creek knock and bang was heard plainly.As mentioned the food left a lot to be desired i ticked along on chip butty,s all week for the evening meal but my wife didnt even manage them eating only a bread roll and square of margarine each evening (butter being a strange foreign substance). Also the bar staff deserve a mention who, after serving us with drinks at 11-30 turned all the lights out at 11-45.All in all not a happy week for us, Taffy 18 or several other british guests there at the same time.very definately it will be never again.

  • Liked — chamber maids housekeeping excellent
  • Disliked — food, extremely noisy banging doors in night ,management disinterest in british guests.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

Stayed at The Camposol 26 years ago and not a lot had changed when we arrived 17th Oct 07!
The hotel and room is spotless you cannot fault the cleaning staff, the reception staff were very helpful too.
The rooms are small and very basic and unfortunately we did not have a balcony, we did ask but were told the hotel was full.
The hotel is used predominantly by Spanish pensioners but for the price you pay is is an excellent base. The food choice was poor but I would go back but only on B&B!
Overall, clean, basic and not too far away from the beach. Much quieter than new Benidorm and some lovely local bars. You must go to Vincents bar say hello to Lucy behind the bar and have a singsong with Clyde on the Kareoke! Brilliant!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No balcony
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReunionTour07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brasil
Hotel Brasil
#81 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Joya
Hotel Joya
#97 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mayna
Hotel Mayna
#126 of 191 in Benidorm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Teremar
Hotel Teremar
#117 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Condal Benidorm
Hotel Condal Benidorm
#135 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estudios Benidorm
Estudios Benidorm
#111 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camposol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camposol

Property: Camposol
Address: Calle Apolo XI 17 | Benidorm Old Town, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camposol 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Camposol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camposol Benidorm
Camposol Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Camposol Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing