We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter break”
Review of Hotel RH Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel RH Royal
Ranked #6 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 15, 2013

having just returned from a weeks stay in feb,it still has the same high standards in all departments, as it had from our last visit in winter 2yrs ago.
it was blowing a freezing wind outside,but the inside of the hotel has to be one of the warmest and most comfortable hotels ive ever stayed in.
the whole scenario of this hotel is faultless, a pleasure to stay in.

Room Tip: the front of the hotel has the street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hrthommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Good Morning Tommo from Bolton,

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel RH Royal and for choosing to stay with us once again.

I am very pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one, comfortable and warm too.

It was our pleasure having you stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future,

Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Been to this hotel several times a year for I don't know how long. Last there in January 2013 for a few days with my husband.

Good points
Great location, 5 mins walk to the old town, just a little further to the beach
Clean rooms, tea & coffee making facilities, good tv channels and individual room heating/air con settings.
Excellent staff, really friendly and helpful.
Does not have loads of kids running around, more of an adult environment.
Reasonably priced bar with happy hour. Good seating area outside to sit and watch the world go by.

Could do better on
The food, breakfast is good but other meals are bland and unappealing not up to 4 star standard, tjey even managed to burn the paella! No cooking stations as you would normally get in 4* hotels.
Entertainment - they have the bar down stairs but needs something more subtle upstairs in the main bar area where clients often prefer to sit; some gentle back ground music would be good instead of TV all the while with the sound turned down on either football or the news is pretty boring.
Hotel tends to lack atmosphere.

I was disappointed on my recent visit to find that I requested a room on a high floor at the front. I was allocated a room 211 (I think) on floor 2 at the back!

Above all you could do a lot worse than book the Royal, as we have been many times and my daughter and I are looking to return in April/May 2013. If we can not stay at the Royal we may consider the sister hotel the Princessa just up and round the corner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Good Afternoon Leggie,

Thank you once again for visiting the Hotel RH Royal with your husband and for reviewing the hotel.
As you probably know the Hotel Royal is now Adults only. You have noted also we now have better UK TV channels.

I have noted your comment on the food, we are in the process of installing a show cooking area in the Royal and this will be implemented very soon.

We have the addition of the British pub downstairs now, I suppose these things are down to personal taste, again we have noted your comments and will review,

Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The dinner was awfull. Everything was cooked already many hours (before). There was no show cooking or fresh cooking. The staff was not interested at all in there customers. We ordered a bottle of wine (reserva) and we got a crianza. They had put the bottle already opened at our table at the moment we where at the buffet. We booked this hotel because they where adult only. Mostly these hotels are gay-friendly. But they where not gay-friendly at all. Especially the night porter was very clear that he did not like gay people at all. We will never stay here or another HR hotel again and we will give a message to gay magazines not to to book this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Evenwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hello Evenwell,

Thank you for recent feedback on your stay.

Firstly I am sorry that you didn’t like the dinner. I can tell you we are introducing show cooking very soon; the actual hotplate is on order and will be installed shortly. We have never advertised show cooking, but this will we feel be an added benefit and something that was missing from our buffet. It is possible that the wrong bottle of wine was put on your table; I trust it was exchanged for the correct one, this is human error and not something that was done on purpose. Please accept my apologies.

Our hotel is gay friendly Evenwell. What we cannot accept in the early hours of the morning is that you arrive back to the hotel wanting to take somebody from the street to your room, when they are not a registered guest of the hotel. It is simply not allowed. I am not saying this isn’t allowed in other hotels, but certainly not at RH Hotels. So the night porter refused on grounds of our company policy and you accuse him and our company of not being gay friendly. Its nonsense and advising others not to book our hotel is malicious just because you were refused the above.

I trust anyone reading our side of the story will make their judgement, based on the facts.

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was mine and my partners first trip to benidorm, we stayed here for 3 nights. Wow where to start, well firstly we arrived at the hotel at around 12:30 and tried checking in but check in wasn't till 2 and after a long journey we wasn't in the mood for wondering about so we sat in the bar where they brought us 2 lagers and a big pile of crisps free or charge which I thought was excellent seen as we were only B+B. The minute the room was cleared the give us our key and up we went, the room was fantastic a beautiful view of benidorm and the sea, with light pouring in on the balcony. All clean and modern with a mini fridge with 2 free bottles of water. The breakfast was fantastic a huge variety and all very tasty. The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly, I would like to say a special thankyou to receptionist Eva for helping us out a lot and the bar staff who I can't remember his name! Tip try the cocktails in the bar 4euro and it is the best Long Island iced tea you have ever tried! Will definitely be coming back and recommend to family and friend! Thankyou for a wonderful first time benidorm experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chelsea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Good Afternoon Chelsea,

Thank you very much for your recent review of the hotel RH Royal and for sharing with fellow travellers your “amazing experience”

We try very hard to ensure our guests have the best possible stay and it’s very motivating to read your review and hear that the hard work doesn’t go unnoticed.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 2nd visit to Benidorm and thank you for recommending our hotel,

Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've had many happy times at this hotel and its sister the Victoria, but a couple of years after the death of its owner it's finally been sold to the RH chain. On the plus side, the location is still great, the rooms are as comfy as ever and many of the staff are the same and as friendly and helpful as ever, but the atmosphere has changed and is somehow less like coming back to old friends. On the real minus side, the food is really not good. Meals are bland and tasteless, with very little variety of fresh fruit; breakfast mainly banana, apple, pear and sometimes tinned pineapple or fruit salad. Lunch and dinner was banana, apple, pear or satsuma, occasionally slices of orange or kiwi. Very different to before. Cheese was one type, mostly the same each night. The gala dinner (scrumptious) no longer exists, and neither do the themed evenings. Entertainment was either a keyboard player or a football match on TV. Previously there were fire-eaters, acrobats, dancers etc. Unfortunately, I think that will be my last stay there unless reviewers later in the year notice a real improvement.

Room Tip: Rooms on beach side or front of hotel are sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alindae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Good Afternoon Alindae,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of the Hotel RH Royal.

The plus points in your review are appreciated; however it is disappointing to hear that you think the atmosphere has changed with the same staff still doing the same job. I can’t quite understand that.

The fruit on the buffet is what is available at this time of year, obviously as the seasons progress so does the offering of fruit. We try our best to rotate the fresh fruits we have but it is difficult to offer a wider selection at this time of year. It is true we no longer have the gala meal once a week; we have however introduced many changes to the actual buffet offering a wider selection of dishes every day. On Fridays we have a welcome gala drink and aperitifs before evening meal. Whilst I can appreciate change is difficult, I can assure you we are doing our very best to improve the facilities of the hotel. *I have noted your comment on the cheese.

We have introduced a good selection of UK TV channels and changed all the TV’s to flat screen which has been greatly appreciated.

We have opened a “British Pub” downstairs for residents of the hotel and our sister hotels. Between both hotels royal and Victoria and the pub (the Royal Crown), you can always find entertainment. The fire eaters and acrobats were not performing at the hotel for quite some time before the change of management.

I hope you do return to the hotel for us to be able to restore your faith in the Hotel RH Royal,

Kindest Regards

Hotel RH Victoria

Ana Martinez – Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at the Royal for three weeks over Christmas and New Year. Staff were excellent, very helpful and always had a smile on their face whether it be reception, restaurant, bar or maid service. Food was good with choice of 2 fish, 2 meat, and local dishes every day. Great choice for breakfast. Did have a problem one day with a cistern which would not stop running, reported it and it was repaired within an hour. Was lucky enough to have room on 9th floor so great view and lovely sunny balcony. Gala dinner on Xmas Eve and Xmas day was excellent. Did not attend the New Year's Eve dinner but heard it was also very good. Did hear complaints about the lack of entertainment but this did not bother me as went out each night. You can attend the entertainment at the two local hotels in the group, Victoria (right across the road) and Princesa (100 yards away). Nearest pub for sport was Jimmy's Red Lion, very friendly. My choice of pub was the Bodhran which is just off Levante beach on Avda Doctor Ortis LLorca - excellent for sport with three different screens and great for an Irish Craic every night. Intend returning next Christmas assuming there is 'room at the inn'

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brumil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Brumil,
Good Morning from Benidorm. Thank you for taking time to write about your "very enjoyable" stay at the RH Royal over Christmas and the New Year.

Reading your review I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff helpful and smiling and that we were able to take care of your cistern issue efficiently. I am happy that the food was to your liking along with the choice and that you were happy with your room.

We do have our British Pub the “Royal Crown” downstairs, which you make no mention of, but hopefully for a future visit the Pub, is on site and has been opened with our British guests in mind.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and once again than you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor,

Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Fantastic - Great position - Exellent value for money.
We will always make the Royal our first choice. The staff are just super!! and it's like arriving home when you get there. ...... thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pridelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Hello Pridelodge in Blackpool,

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Hotel RH Royal and for writing us a review.

I am very pleased that we are your first choice and it’s our pleasure having you stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon; in the meantime from your home from home we send our best wishes


Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,481 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
1,458 reviews
1 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
1,591 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#26 of 192 in Benidorm
911 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RH Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RH Royal

Address: Via Emilio Ortuno 11, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#5 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $66 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel RH Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the centre of Benidorm the modern Hotel RH Royal provides all the peace & quiet of a comfortable, hospitable hotel which is exclusively designed for adults. The Hotel RH Royal offers its guests a peaceful atmosphere and personalised service. Spacious exterior-facing rooms with large balconies all equipped with a 33'' led HD TV, hair dryer, free Wi-fi & mini bar. Restaurant-buffet serving a wide range of International & Mediterranean cuisine. Modern & comfortable lounge bar/salon to relax whilst enjoying your favourite drink. There is also an Internet corner located in the bar area. Spacious pool area with sun beds to take in the sun and relax, solarium and outdoor jacuzzi (from May). In the terrace area you can make the most of the night time shows, dances and entertainment during the summer months and to stay in shape during you holiday: Free sauna & Gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel RH Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing