We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Over-rated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flamingo Oasis

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Flamingo Oasis
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Over-rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2007

We have just returned from 2 weeks holiday at the Flamingo Oasis and prior to going read various reviews about it - the conclusion we have come to is you will either love it or hate it. Unfortunately for us it was the latter as it did not live up to expectations.

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff on reception and allocated a room on the tenth floor. The room itself was very large and had a seating area with two sofas and a spacious balcony. The bathroom was well equipped and on a whole the room was kept very clean throughout our stay.

As we arrived at the hotel at 7.30 pm we decided to go straight for dinner. The restaurant itself was extremely noisy, not only with an abundance of children, but other residents scraping wooden chairs along the tiled floor. It reminded us of a school canteen, especially been met at the door by a maitre 'd and then frog marched through the restaurant along with a number of other guests, our table been pointed out along the way. There was no waiter service whatsoever, and any drinks that were required had to be obtained ourselves from the bars within the restaurant. (Not really the personal touch we would have expected from a four star hotel)

The following morning we got up early to reserve a sunbed by the pool, only to be greeted by a long queue of other guests doing the same, being watched over by a Security Guard. At first we were unsure what he was doing there but it became apparent at 8.30 every morning when he gave you the nod to proceed to the pool area. We couldn't believe what we were seeing, grown men running for sunbeds, which weren't set out by the pool and had to be picked from large piles to be put anywhere people saw fit. By mid morning we were packed in like sardines, and every time you wanted to go in the pool or get a drink you were tripping over someone!

Snacks by the pool consisted of chicken nuggets, hot dog or burger all the above served with chips and the same every day! So on the second day we opted to eat our lunch in the dining room, and proceeded to do so for the duration of our stay. By about the fourth day the food was getting very repetitive, and would have been fantastic if you liked lasagne, steak and kidney pie and chips every day. Any meat that was available was very fatty and obviously very cheap cuts were used.

On the sixth day a member of our party was struck down with a stomach upset, not sure if this was down to the food but it was the final nail in the coffin for us as far as the food was concerned. From that point onwards we were very wary what we ate and to be perfectly honest ate very little at meal times. The restaurant did redeem itself occassionally with the likes of roast beef and Yorkshire Pudding on a Sunday which was very nice.

We spent most of the first week sunbathing on the 25th floor. This was an area dedicated to adults with no children allowed, a small pool and a bar area. Just be careful where you sit. If you sit against the wall near the pool you will spend the day breathing in the smell of sewage coming from the mens toilet. Otherwise a very nice area to relax.

We decided to book a trip through our Thomas Cook Rep. There were two at the hotel, one of which was extremely rude. The trip was to Mundomar, but firstly we were taken into the mountains to an animal sanctuary. The pick up time was 8.35am, as we were told the day before when we booked that it was early due to a change in time of the sea lion show. As we were waiting for the bus our Rep arrived at the hotel, glanced at her watch, knowing we were already 10 minutes late and completely ignored us!

The bus eventually arrived half an hour late so by the time we arrived at Mundomar we had missed the sea lion show anyway!

As we were getting dressed for our evening meal we watched staff putting out chairs and tables for the evening entertainment. Imagine our surprise when we noticed the Security Guard once again stopping you from taking a seat until he says so. When it got to 8pm he again gave a signal and once more grown men ran for tables.

It became evident why they did this when we decided that after our evening meal we would have a drink in the bar and then go down to watch the entertainment. As we were having our drink the entertainment staff were going around encouraging people to go to their show. We told them that it was our intention to do so, but when we got to the pool area, there were no seats available. Surely it would be a good idea to provide enough
seating for the whole of the hotel and not just the idiots that run for them at 8pm!

The Flamingo Oasis has the potential of being a good hotel, but comparing to other places we have stopped at it is far from a four star!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,755
    1,289
    668
    290
    145
See reviews for
1,820
1,382
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

Having been to this hotel before ( Off Season ) i have always enjoyed it however this was my first trip in season and i have to say the whole experience was an eye opener for me.
The hotel was completely overrun by children and most of the parents just didnt care what they were upto. while we were there the lifts were braking down several times a day due mainly to kids pressing buttons in the lifts, this wasnt helped by some idiots ( adults ! ) on several floors pressing both up and down buttons because they felt the lifts were taking too long.
the place was so full that in the whole week we were there we were unable to see any of the entertainment as the amount of seating available was Completely inadequate for the amount of people at the hotel, if you were not at the bar for 7pm then forget being able to find a table.
On the plus site the food is excellent, rooms large and clean and hotel staff friendly.
I would go back to this hotel, but NEVER within the holiday season again.

  • Liked — the hotel staff
  • Disliked — far too full and not enough seating available
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DawnMarie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

just come back from flamingo oasis, we are pary of two adults and 2 teenagers, we have stayed in many hotels in Benidorm and this was the best allrounder by far.
lots to do, great daily and nightly entertainment.
As a family we have stayed in , it must be thirty hotels throughout europe, i find faults in them all.,very hard to please.
The entertanmnt was great for families, mainly shows by the entertainment team, but still entetaining, the kids get taken off fterwards into separtate show room for magicians etc, whilst there s a adult entertainer on at 11 pm.
he kids team were great and lots of them about, they were in the pool with the kids, aerobics in the pool, dancin by he poolside duing the day, they spend lots of time with the kids, even during the day, they were up on the stage and entertaining you, from competitions to sangria demonstrations.
excellant accomodation, good size rooms and bathrooms.
lifts a bit of a pain, can wait a while for them.
food excellent, full roast beef dinners, with jam sponge pudding and custard, had a waiter calving different meats or fish every meal, full salad bar and cake selection, full fruit bar, somethig for everyone , every meal.
very clean hotel, great family atmosphere for kids of all ages, lots of groups of kids everywhere all making friends.
only problem we found throughout the whole time is that all he house spirits that are within the all inclusive package are watered down to the point that they are awfull, what a shame , not that i wanted to get drunk or anything, but they tasted awfull.
will most definately be going back next year, this is by far the best family hotel i have stayed in, many of the people there had been the many many times.

  • Liked — grea for teenagers and kids all making friends
  • Disliked — watered down all inclusive spirits
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitty67
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

Stayed at the Flamingo from 24-31 July. Read several mixed reviews before going but bit the bullet.

First off, what struck me was the number of miserable looking people. Mainly trapped mums and dads unable to leave the hotel due to the fact their kids were having a whale of a time there. Some very rough looking people there too - While it is a 4 star all inclusive hotel it didnt cost much more than a 3 star half board. I just got the feeling that some people barely left the hotel and made the most of the free food and booze.

There were some very nice people we met during our stay though, but generally they were other couples with the same sort of feelings as us regarding the 'family' zone we were in.

Talking of 'free' booze, the spirit drinks were terrible, best off sticking to San Miguel and bottles of wine. The version of Baileys they were servng was nice though.

The main pool looked like hell on earth, no space to walk between sunbeds and the pool was packed full of loud kids.

The saviour for me was the roof terrace pool and inclusive bar on the 25th floor, hardly anyone up there, loads of spare sunbeds and the pool, although small was never busy.

The staff, Id say 85 per cent of them were surly and generally unhelpful, there was one partcular woman in the restaurant who seemed to love ordering people where to sit. - Horror of horrors we did sit at the wrong table one night and she barked at us ! LOL!

The staff that were very helpful were Kellie on reception, the guy who serves the (non inclusive) drinks on the roof terrace bar after 11pm, Antonio the head waiter, Miguel a young lad who was on daytime skyline bar duty twice while we were there and SOME of the other waiters/waitresses on duty.


Be warned, they barely check your card all week, but generally they seem to check a lot on Tuesdays and Saturdays (main day for arrivals and departures)

Would I go back? Unbeliveably yes - Worth it for the rooftop pool and bar, the beauty of the hotel itself and it was really good value for money. I was constantly drinking pineapple juice, coke or beer through the day while sunbathing and it was nie to keep getting it without money hassles.

The food was excellent! Even though the restaurant didnt have that much of an atmosphere. we only made breakfast once, but that was fantastic! Full English or continental. Lunch , I usually ended up having paella and Dinner there was just loads to choose from.

If you missed the main dinner and went down from 10pm -12am you could eat from a smaller selection of meals, the chilli con carne was awesome!

The entertainment, we didnt bother - didnt look or sound much cop to be honest - Actually I would have liked to have seen the flamenco dancing trouple but they werent on the week we were there. But for kids Im sure its lovely, it was even going on through the day too - Poor people who just wanted to quietly sunbathe had to suffer!!


We spent 4 nights out in Benidorm, British pub night - Tacky but fun (we also saw Sticky Vicky!) ... A night discoing on the Square til 5am, A night in the old town, lovely walk back along the seafront popping in bars there too and a night with the comedians at Wheel Tappers and Shunters bar , all those nights we totally enjoyed.

If you want a good drink after hours, the Tropical Bar across the street from the hotel will basically stay open til the last person leaves - 7am ish!

Rooms really nice - We were on the 19th floor facing the town and the moutains, loved the view everyday and night. There was a large crack on one of ourwalls which was a bit scary and the air con can be a bit strong (come home with a wicked cough, but that may not be the AC 'fault, maybe the amount I drank and smoked was! LOL!

For those fed up with the smoking ban - yes you can smoke in certain parts of the indoor bars in the hotel and basically anywhere in any bar in Benidorm :) HA!

Enjoy your holiday!

  • Liked — Drinks, Food, Cleanliness, Upstairs Terrace
  • Disliked — Too Many Kids, Staff, Wait For Lifts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kitty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

Hotel; Rated 4* but probably nearer 3* Bit tired

Food; Quite predictable but plenty of it.

Pools; Ground floor, very busy, towel run at 8.30 exactly.
Rooftop, adult only with bar, a little bit of paradise.....

Staff; all speak english, very busy, sometimes too busy to be of much help.

Room; on 20th floor, very quiet, massive room with sophas, double sinks, bath, power shower, sockets next to the beds and in the bathroom. Balcony views stunning.

Lifts; pain in the "you know what". Bored kids keep pressing the buttons and then they stop at every floor wether there is anyone there or not. Not fun at mealtimes.

Location; 10 mins to the beach but near cafes, bars, money excange, Tabaccos etc.

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Disliked — lifts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

the hotel is clean, and fantastic service,with a great animation team.
but the food was in a class of its own .
i know from my own kids they would dream of getting up for breakfast and getting chocolate pudding and custard but when you are not dreaming you tend to think that something is wrong.
if you are happy with chips for breakfast,dinner and tea why stay at a 4 star hotel as for the kids menu for two weeks they could of had chicken nuggets or hamwitches. not very healthy??? .
best was fruit crumble and custard the crumble was made from water melen - what a mess!!! as for mash potatoe it ran of your spoon and the whole potatoes were not cooked enough.
in all it was a very poor show for a 4 star hotel and it was only that that let the place down.
other wise it was a great holiday.
apart from the fact that the day after we got there there was a murder of a british man that was staying at the hotel . he was murdered just out the back of the hotel on his return from a night out .he got battered and left to die .his girlfriend and sisters put around flyers to ask people to come forward if anyone had seen or heard anything but THE HOTEL STAFF DISTROYED THEM SAYING IT WAS NOT IN THE HOTELS INTEREST AND WOULD GIVE THE HOTEL A BAD NAME.
THIS IS OUT OF ORDER!!!!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank scorpian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

I have just come back from a weeks stay at Hotel Flamingo Oasis and loved every minute of it. From the outside the hotel doesn't look very special but once inside the door, it is something else. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were huge. The food was sometimes repetative but you weren't going to starve as there was quite a bit of choice.The staff were friendly and helpful. The pools were nice although all the sunbeds were all taken by 9am!! The advantage of being an adult though is the pool for over 18's on the 25th floor.No kids about and always able to get a sunbed, even at 3 o'clock in the afternoon! Overall had a lovely time and will definatly be going back in the near future. A*****

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bexstar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Levante Club & Spa
Hotel Levante Club & Spa
#33 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#47 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marconfort Benidorm Suites
Marconfort Benidorm Suites
#11 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Port Benidorm Hotel & Spa
Port Benidorm Hotel & Spa
#25 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo Oasis

Property: Hotel Flamingo Oasis
Address: Avda Severo Ochoa 3, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#26 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#29 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#35 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Flamingo Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun, beach and sea are waiting for you in Benidorm. Fun and comfort.... at the Flamingo Oasis Hotel. The Flamingo Oasis Hotel is located in the Mediterranean's leading tourist resort: Benidorm, which has all the services needed to meet the needs of the millions of tourists who visit the city all year round. The Flamingo Oasis Hotel is in the new part of the city. It is a four-star all-inclusive hotel with 398 comfortable rooms and many facilities to make your holidays as fun and entertaining as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Flamingo Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Oasis Benidorm
Flamingo Oasis Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Flamingo Hotel Oasis
Hotel Flamingo Oasis Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing