We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tried their best but best not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Flamingo Oasis
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
nufc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tried their best but best not good enough”
Reviewed April 12, 2009

went to this hotel after being told it was fantastic the food fantastic ,entertainment fantastic,rooms spacey and cosy,the only correct thing was the rooms we were very dissapointed in this hotel you expect decent service when you pay alot of money but i didnt think i got value for money,the swimming pool outside was lovely kids were in the pool but lifeguards station covered i think i may of seen one walking around the hotel,but never sitting at the proper station.resturant where do i start disgusting the food was ok dont get me wrong what i didnt like was the pudding side of things the chef had to cut you a piece of cake if you tried to do it yourself you nearly got your fingers cut off it was a joke,mind ther was always something you could eat dont get me wrong,but queing like school kids to get seated the waiters working really hard but at one time there was room for 60 people to sit down but tables werent cleared as not enough staff,..entertainment well sort of the club downstairs was ok if you had kids that had acts on till11pm,but acts not up to much,i went and seen tribute to the drifters and they were good,the entertainment in the piano bar was the same everynight,back in feb09there was entertainment singers and acts on in the piano bar thats all gone now,the bar wasnt even full it was mostly empty,and for bar staff 5 down to 1 is not on,it was ajoke.the roof top pool was great away from kids peace if you need if but adults only,but in may you have to pay extra to use the roof top pool as you have to book aclubclass bedroom at 14pppn,extra is it worth?lifts in the hotel they are a joke to there is not enough lifts to serve how many people the hotel caters for,iwas on the 3floor the room was at the back overlooking the hospital.,but it was lovely and peacefull and you get the sun about 5in the afternoon,rooms overlooking swimming pool are noisey so if you want peace ask for room at the back threr was to of us and we had 1double bed and 1single in our room very big rooms to sinks bath and shower cant knock the rooms,>yuo can get food and drink from 8am til midnight,so you wont starve and go thirsty,the kids are looked after well in kids clubs,so ther is something for them to do so they wont be bored.this hotel is abit way out 15mins walk to beach or 5mins in bus number 10 or 4,1.25euros not bad fares.this hotel isnot what it use to be things are going down hill very fast ,cutting back on staff,entertainment,and people wont go back if its going down hill,i forsure wont be going back i paid nearly 500quid for 1wk and ifeel as if i have be rippped off good time,i wont reccommend this hotel to anyone i know,so if anyone is going give it a try but dont say you werent warned.prices in the shops are disgusting you can buy cheaper in asda the shops are pricing themselves out no one will buy anything its to dear,cigs are 22euros,baccy 20euros and now thats the only thing cheap in spain now.thanks for reading and happy holidaysxx

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NufcShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,771
    1,316
    678
    292
    150
See reviews for
1,841
1,417
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

If you are looking for a vacation that captures the essence of Spain, stay away from this hotel and away from Benidorm in general.

The Flamingo Oasis is a nice hotel that tries to be a 4 star, but cuts corners and is 3 star at best. I will start with the compliments- the hotel and rooms are exceptionally clean and the maid service is commendable.

On the downside, the food is mediocre. Every breakfast is exactly identical and every lunch and dinner tastes the same, even though the names of the dishes change slightly. They must use the same gravy base for all their meat because no matter what is floating around in it, it tastes the same. It's too bad when you pay for an all-inclusive and end up wanting to go to a restaurant across the street to get a little variety. Also, if you want water with your breakfast, you have to go fill up your glass in the loo. They do not have a water tap available in the restaurant and keep the bottled water literally locked up until lunch time. They do have orange/tomato juice, full fat milk (warm) & coffee/tea though for breakfast so some people may not mind the lack of water. And if you wait until 9:00 AM you can go upstairs to ask for a bottle of water at the bar. But if you arrive at the upstairs bar at 8:50 AM, the staff will tell you that they are not allowed to hand out water until 9:00--per the hotel management's orders. At breakfast, during the main rush, the fresh fruit area was often "being mopped" and there were barriers up that seemed to dissuade people from visiting that section of the buffet. It officially was open, but didn't appear to welcome you.

We went to Benidorm to spend a mid-term break in a warm weather environment. We were hoping to spend some time swimming which didn't happen due to mediocre weather which obviously doesn't have anything to do with the hotel. However, we were disappointed that during our entire one week visit, the only hot tub was drained and barricaded off. Don't know why- we never saw any work being done around it. There is an indoor pool, but it is marginally comfortable (according to the sign on the wall, Spanish rules do not allow an indoor pool to be above something like 26 degrees Celsius). The swimming room was an otherwise dark and unattractive room (basement) and was not enjoyable to spend time in. The beach is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

There are other potential recreation options in the hotel, but they are quite run down. There are mini golf holes on the roof of the lobby that look like they have been exposed to the sun and rain for too many years. The game room downstairs is also very drab and has an odor. My kids wanted to play pool (at 1 Euro per game), but the smell was enough to keep me away. Plus the tables were old and run-down with bumpers that were coming off the frame of the table and didn't work at all.

In short, if you want to enjoy a vacation that has even a touch of Spanish culture, do not go to Benidorm and do not go to the Flamingo Oasis. We were warned about this prior to our vacation, but did not appreciate how very true it was. If we could take this vacation again, we'd look for a hotel in Denia or Altea, which are just down the road by bus or train and actually have some local character.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wright_Family_of_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We read all the reviews and thought this place sounds fantastic and was slightly disapointed. First time to benidorm with young daughter and must say we have never stayed in a hotel quite so big, but I guess thats benidorm. We have stayed in Thomson 4* hotels before, but was disapointed with this hotel, defintely best placed it at a 3*.

Rooms - These were clean, which is the most important thing, but tatty (definetly need updating) furniture falling to bits and when we went back late afternoon, it was very noisy due to work men, so forget the siesta!

Food average - (Typical school canteen best describes it) Lots of goulash!! Credit to the Roast Beef tho.

Noise in hotel was horrendous some nights, some people (and I know they were on hol) had no respect at 3 and 4 oclock in the morning, ie couples totally intoxicated and screaming at one another.

Secondly, the older generation say that us younger ones have no manners and common curteousy, I have never come across such rude people, but we also spoke to some lovley people too.

We went to the beach (which was lovley) most days to keep our little girl entertained, therefore we ate lunch out, so take plenty of money as things not cheap now.

Had great weather, better than we imagined we would, which more than made up for any other concerns but would'nt go back in July or August for love or money!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentaylor71
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Flamingo oasis is a fab hotel we stayed there this last week and have nothing but the weather to moan about!!! Food on the whole was good service excellent!! Rooms big and spotless!! Lifts phew done our heads in somedays had to go up then down grrrr!!!
Now for entertainment wow all day for the kids all night for the family what a team!! If the act after 11pm was over 18 they would take the kids that were still awake to watch a film so mums and dads didnt miss the shows,they put on their own shows like dirty dancing and grease!!!
You will really enjoy your stay at the Flamingo Oasis oh yeh STRONGBOW ON DRAUGHT !! ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helentaylor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

The hotel was very good with an excellent buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A couple of negative comments are that the beds are extremely uncomfortable and the staff can be quite rude. Also, I can imagine that in the summer months the queues for the all inclusive drinks at the bar can be quite long. They were long even in March.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract West Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2009

this hotel used to be very good, we have stayed 3 times before but it has gone down hill., this was a talking point among regular guests, hammering and drilling from 8am, food not as good, less choice. The reception staff were very unhelpful and obstructive. There is a tennis court but they go out of their way to stop you using it they have a rule you must book 24 hours in advance and even if it isnt being used they wont let you use it as they say they must stick to rules, I spoke to hotel manager who said they would try to be more flexible but that made the staff very cool with me and suddenly didnt understand much English. Indoor pool freeezing and conflikting signs about rules. A room was broken into they opened the safe and took contents and a man got into another room while someone was in but security got him but very scary we were told that reception didnt seem to care much or be helpful over these incidents. We wont be staying here again as it is no longer worth 4 star it is just a 3 star.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKIEN443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Fweather was hot will definately be backirst time in Benidorm Flamingo Hotel was Brilliant Great food drink fab Staff very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollypHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Levante Club & Spa
Hotel Levante Club & Spa
#31 of 191 in Benidorm
2,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#44 of 191 in Benidorm
3,713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
6,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marconfort Benidorm Suites
Marconfort Benidorm Suites
#12 of 191 in Benidorm
1,408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Port Benidorm Hotel & Spa
Port Benidorm Hotel & Spa
#25 of 191 in Benidorm
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo Oasis

Property: Hotel Flamingo Oasis
Address: Avda Severo Ochoa 3, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#26 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#29 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#35 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Flamingo Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun, beach and sea are waiting for you in Benidorm. Fun and comfort.... at the Flamingo Oasis Hotel. The Flamingo Oasis Hotel is located in the Mediterranean's leading tourist resort: Benidorm, which has all the services needed to meet the needs of the millions of tourists who visit the city all year round. The Flamingo Oasis Hotel is in the new part of the city. It is a four-star all-inclusive hotel with 398 comfortable rooms and many facilities to make your holidays as fun and entertaining as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Flamingo Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Oasis Benidorm
Flamingo Oasis Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Flamingo Hotel Oasis
Hotel Flamingo Oasis Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing