We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Christmas Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Benikaktus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Benikaktus
Ranked #85 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Calpe, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Christmas Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We booked into the Benikaktus for the 2nd Christmas running and it was even better this year. The weather was fantatic to begin with so walking on the prom was a pleasure. The Christmas Eve Gala Buffet was spectacular and the Gala Lunch the following day, very, very good. The room was more than adequate but the bonus is the glazed in balcony which gives an extra sitting area when the sun goes down and a fantastic view of all Benidorm. Will be looking forward to next year. The shops are a short stroll away too!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calpechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    160
    95
    28
    14
See reviews for
79
208
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almoradi, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

4 of us 'oldies' stayed there for 3 nights, 4 days over Christmas for full board and it was excellent. We had a Gala dinner on Christmas Eve, and a Gala lunch on Christmas day both with wine and champagne included. The rooms were basic but all overlooked the bay, so day and night time views were spectacular. The balconies were on the corner, so there were angled windows which could be slid back, making it an all weather hotel. Although it isn't in the centre of town, for us it was most suitable as we have been to Benidorm many times before. The staff were very friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for us when asked and we found the food varied and plentiful. There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi next to the large bar area, where, in the evenings, there was live entertainment. all in all, we had a lovely time and would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue1949_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
206 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have just arrived from a week half board at the Benikaktus hotel. This is a very nice comfortable hotel but let down badly by the quality of the food.
The hotel is on a slight rise at the northern end of Levante beach. This is just about as far away from the central areas of the resort as you can get but still within 200m of facilities such as shops and bars and a 15 minute walk from the British area. This is a very quiet area with not a lager lout in sight.
The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely furnished. The beds are twin, large and comfortable. Each room has a view of the bay. Note that the advice to request end rooms is incorrect. All rooms have the same arc of view so don’t fuss about end rooms as advised elsewhere. The balcony is enclosed by windows. Two windows slide to open. There is a folding door between balcony and bedroom which must be incredibly useful in peak summer weather. Maid service was excellent.
All meals are buffet service. The meals varied between terrible and very good. For the first 4 days of the week, the standard of all the various choices was poor, badly cooked and tasteless. For the last three nights, the standard suddenly improved and by the last night the meals were first class! Breakfast is identical each day and suffers from a restricted choice. There is an extensive fruit table at all meals but the quality is variable. Dinner suffered in quality as for breakfast. There is a soup course, a cold table, hot meal, sweet table and fruit. Main hot courses were a choice of three but apart from chips / mashed potato and sometimes rice there was only one vegetable accompaniment. Often this was tinned.
The bar area was very good and the terrace area recommended. Surprisingly there was only a choice of just one draught beer – Amstel. Prices were reasonable and service good. We saw three of the cabarets and they varied between good and very good. The bar at night reflected the age group of this hotel, 50 plus. There is ballroom style dancing every night to recorded music. The bar area closes at midnight.
The hotel catered for perhaps 20% English speaking visitors and the other guests were mainly from the Low Countries on packages and Spanish. Not sure which British tour operator uses this hotel since there was no holiday information in English in reception. This is not a children’s hotel.
Reception service was difficult unless you speak Spanish - as they do in Spain. I sent an e-mail prior to our visit but never got a reply. We had a bad start at our 2am arrival, where we were given the wrong key card and then not told about the card activator system for the electrics.
Note that all coach transfers do not go to the hotel. You are dropped / picked up outside Burger King by the beach and have to make your own way for the next 200m. So make sure you know where the hotel is beforehand.
A point of interest – the hotel Nadal next door is famous for an ETA bomb attack.
Satisfied overall with no real complaints apart from the food.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BensonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

i stayed at the benikaktus hotel for one week [11oct /18 oct 2011] and had a very enjoyable stay,and as some people have already said the view of benidorm both day and night is simply the best,and is worth the money alone.from day 1 the gentleman on reception made me feel very welcome,and nothing was any trouble to him,to say as some people have said it mainly caters for the spanish is absolute rubbish,during my stay there were french,german,danish,scottish,irish and of course some english,it was a nice mixture,the rooms were very clean and well maintained and comfortable,im a very light sleeper and did if im honest expect some disturbance during the night[well it is benidorm]i needent have worried,everybody seemed to respect each other,its the best ive slept in years while ive been away,it has to be said it probably does appeal more to mature people,or couples the over 40s brigade[tee hee] with reguard to the food i thought it was excellent and varied,there was always a different type of fish each night and steak,pork,veal ,lamb,different veg/chips/mash/boiled rice,and most nights the head chef was seen actually cooking the food before your very eyes and the deserts were just as good including fresh fruit ,lovely gateaus,jellys mousses,breakfasts were okay just the usual bacon /eggs sausage/toast .and a word of praise to my chambermaid was always politeand courteous,as a single traveller who always pays well over the odds with the dreaded single supplement its always nice to give praise when its due,so well done hotel benikactus for a relaxing break in lovely surroundings and i will be back.my only complaint and it is only a small one and it might not bother some people,it would be nice in the days of sky/cable t.v. to have a least 1 english channel,but in all honestly it would not put me off staying at the hotel as its a "home from home" peter from liverpool

Room Tip: for a quieter room go for the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed at the BENIKAKTUS HOTEL for 5 days during october 2011. Position of hotel is excellent with great seaview. Food was good and varied, with prompt waiter service. Many state it is difficult to get to hotel as a long climb is necessary...this is not the case. If you enter from the beach side you have a 50 yard stroll to the bar/pool area which is not steep.
It is noteworthy that at this time of year, as the hotel is situated at the far left of the Levante beach, the sun is absent until lunchtime.

The rooms are fine with excellent terrific seaviews. All have balconies with slide back glass panels which are easy to use. Beds are a little firm and need to be addressed. Each room has a small fridge which is very useful. The hotel advertise them as charged at 10 euro's per week, although our two parties accessed them without charge as both were unlocked?Towels were changed and waste bin emptied daily by room maid who was very sociable. TV and hairdyers are in all rooms.

Overall the hotel was a good choice and was reasonably priced...certainly worth a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JARYED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUNISIA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a short break in Oct 2011 - the views are wonderful - all rooms are sea view - rooms have great balconies which can be closed if the weather is not good. The hotel is up a short hill which was no problem. The food was very good and we had a great time - I would return the this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HENRIETTATUNISIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed October 2 weeks and can definately recommend as a quite holiday with splendid views.We stayed on top (11th floor) and spent much of our time simply admiring views from our enclosed balcony area.Rooms very clean and well maintained/serviced.Staff were very courteous and helpful at alll times.Would not recommend for children nor disabled people as up steep albeit short climb from beach.
Food was fairly good in quality and choice for a 3 star hotel.
Hotel is Spanish and caters mostly for such but not to exclusion of other guests.The bar/entertainments area is excellent although each evening is a spanish organist with occassional short acts .Only complaint is that this is for local elderley spanish people who come every evening to enjoy their free line dancing and old time dancing. Very relaxing to spend time in though and drinks are good and reasonably priced (2,40 for pint and 2.50 for brandy)

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view but higher up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DARGEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#82 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nadal
Hotel Nadal
#26 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brisa
Hotel Brisa
#77 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mont Park
Mont Park
#103 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Dunes Comodoro Hotel
Les Dunes Comodoro Hotel
#86 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bilbaino
Hotel Bilbaino
#67 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benikaktus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benikaktus

Property: Hotel Benikaktus
Address: Calle Alcalde Manuel Catalan Chana 12, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benikaktus 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was completely renovated in 2008, is located on the front line of Levante beach in Benidorm, the capital of the Costa Blanca, about 60 km. From Alicante Airport. And 20 m from the beach, 20 minutes walk from downtown, full of shops, restaurants and bars, and 3 km from the bus station, which connects with the international airports of El Altet (Alicante) and Manises (Valencia), and the rest of the coastal area. It is the perfect place to relax and explore the area. We have a pool for adults and children (heated in winter) with Jacuzzi, a sun terrace with loungers and bar service, 2 lifts, air conditioning and heating, and private parking. Our hotel has a friendly and helpful staff always at your disposal. We also have a spacious restaurant, where you will find a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For fun and entertainment for our guests, we provide amusement several nights a week, such as Live music, a spectacular Flamenco show or a show of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Benikaktus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benikaktus Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing