We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic little hotel”
Review of Port Mar Blau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Mar Blau
Ranked #108 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a great holiday at this hotel couldn't have asked for better service fantastic location near old town .sister hotel makes up for not having a pool as you can use their rooftop pool and facilities just round corner ,otherwise beach across the road .will definately be going back as we met some great people which made the holiday special .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johng4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    134
    73
    20
    38
See reviews for
44
204
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having just returned from another 10 day stay at this little gem of a hotel,accommodation,food,staff,cleanliness,all excellent.it really was a pleasure to return,a warm welcome greeted us on arrival,sea view rooms on higher floor,the room was spacious,immaculately clean,the views again stunning,food during our 10 day stay was for a 2** hotel excellent,varied choices at each meal time,superb cooked breakfast every morning along with the usual,cereals,yoghurts,freshly pre paired fruits,Mellon,grapefruit,oranges,apples,banana,hot breakfast choices,bacon fried,scrambled boiled eggs,beans,fresh grilled tomatoes,sausage,plenty of bread rolls of all types,Danish pastries,biscuits,toast,jam,marmalades,honey,tea coffee,fresh orange,grapefruit,pineapple,chilled drinks.it was fantastic for a 2** hotel.other meal times were just as comprehensive,in choice and quality of food,Mar Blau now offers All inclusive for anyone thinking of taking this option one or two comment,it is cheaper to book it before you arrive the daily rate in resort is 10€ per person per day to upgrade,iI have just booked a 10 day stay in oct and to upgrade for two people for the 10 days it was £62.00 or £31.00 per person great value when you think a few coffees and drinks soon add up,another thing to bear in mind the Mar Blau All inclusive starts at 10 am until 11 pm,although the bar closes at 12pm for the last hour if you want drinks you pay!can recommend this hotel if you want a chilled relaxed stay,with warm friendly people,in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gazboy__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely hotel, on check in we said we had emailed to reserve a sea front room only to be told that one was available the next day for an extra 42€, we paid the chap reluctantly but were glad we did, the view was brill, the beds really comfy and the place was spotless, the decor is slightly dated but we weren't expecting mod cons!! The hotel is situated straight across from Poniente beach and is ideally located within a 2 min walk into the old town, there isnt a pool but that didnt bother us! We paid for breakfast which didn't disappoint, a vast choice of eggs, bacon, tomatoes beans, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals and yoghurt, it is only a small dining room so it could get a tad busy at times but the ever polite, efficient staff will soon sort you a table, all in all we will visit again, highly recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Debs4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the reviews and the fact it was close to the Old Town. We previously have stayed nearer the new town. We were there 28 may to 4 June and the weather was fab
On arrival as other reviewers have said we were too late for the evening meal but we were given cold meats, salad & bread rolls and a bottle of water. The bar is free until 11 pm for A/I guests (which we were) then you can buy, the prices aren't too bad anyway.
The hotel rooms were cleaned everyday and towels changed, in fact the hotel in general was clean even though it is quite basic (but for a 2* we thought it was very good). The food was alright but not much choice, it was fine for a week.

As all reviews go there are positives and negatives, so first the negatives to get them out of the way. These in no way reflect the enjoyment we had there.
The bar and lounge areas aren't very big, so if you're planning to stay in for example on entertainment night, you will need to eat early and get your spot.
The hotel isn't really geared up to disabled guests as there are steps up to the restaurant and no lift to get them there
If you are on the 8th floor, the lift only goes to the 7th then you need to go up a flight of stairs
There are steps leading up to reception but no ramp
There is no proper seating area to sit outside with a drink unless you sit at the front of the hotel in a little area which is in the shade all the time and finally no pool (but we already knew this)
Now the positives
The Hotel is in a great position for the Old Town, with all it has to offer, tapas & wine for €1, great!
The staff in the hotel were lovely and Juan behind the bar appreciated you trying to order drinks in Spanish.
The hotel does get a lot of returning guests, in fact we spoke to a couple who had been there 5 times and were staying in the Esmerelda next door but one and said it was appalling and they wished they had come back to the Mar Blau.
The rooms with the sea views are superb we travelled with my mum & dad and my father in law and we all booked the views. Wonderful see room tip
Reception gave my mum & dad a free safe deposit for the week as on their first night they had to have a different room as there had been a mix up but this was sorted at 10 the next morning. It wasn't a problem as we didn't arrive til late on the Tuesday anyway.
And finally would we return, yes I think we would!

To sum up this is a lovely little hotel for a relaxing holiday, although there is no pool the Poinente Beach across the road is lovely and beds are €4 to hire. It's close to everything, there is a bus down below which you can get to Finestrat no 02. The open top one also stops there as does the little train. All in all it's well worth a visit, hope this review helps

Room Tip: My husband and I were in 702 which had a lovely big balcony. To get a sea view ask for rooms ending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

we arrived here in may 2013.
ill keep it basic. the hotel is nice inside what you would expect from a 2star, everything was basic, rooms were ok wardrobe was small tho,
all the staff were friendly and room was cleaned all the time.
the food in the place was good, nothing out of this world, I wouldn't say there was a great selection, if your a fussy eater theres loads of places near by,
the down side is because its a small hotel there is no pool, but it's right on the beach with lovely views, I prefere the pool to the sea but, what can you do.
all in all the holiday was good, but this hotel had brilliant location and views.
would stay again just not all inclusive

Room Tip: get a sea view room, if you don't your about a road width away from other buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

stayed here 5th to 12th may great hotel arrived too late for dinner but a plate of cold meats salad and bread were laid out in restuarant for us. arriving in room we opened curtains to a brilliant sea view room spotless cleaned every day fresh towels daily and clean sheets every second day staff friendly and helpful close to old town but still quiet at night met some really nice people all in all a great holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank supergran1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

small hotel with very friendly staff, decent food and spotlessly clean. we enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to go back again, many others that were staying there were also returning customers. ideal for the beach and the old town, away from the 'blackpool' part of benidorm

Room Tip: sea view available on request but not really important unless you intend to spend your holiday in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank flangeandjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montemar
Hotel Montemar
#74 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanit
Tanit
#72 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Voramar Hotel
Voramar Hotel
#115 of 191 in Benidorm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Fleming
Port Fleming
#112 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bilbaino
Hotel Bilbaino
#66 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconi Hotel
Marconi Hotel
#102 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Mar Blau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Mar Blau

Property: Port Mar Blau
Address: Calle San Pedro 20, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Mar Blau 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Mar Blau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Blau Hotel
Mar Blau Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing