We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ypaymore”
Review of Port Mar Blau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Mar Blau
Ranked #104 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ypaymore”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

After staying mainly in 4 and 5 star hotels and not using any of the facilities we decided to try the Mar Blau and we were not dissappointed. Have just returned home today 13th august and have had a wonderful time. The location of hotel is perfect with view overlooking beach, staff were all very friendly and professional, dining room just a nice size with views out to beach and everywhere from our room out to entrance of hotel spotless. We will certainly be returning maybe not in August temperature was a little too hot !!! A big thankyou to all the staff for a most relaxing pleasant stay.

Room Tip: a sea view is a must ask for 504 or 604
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ypaymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    138
    74
    20
    38
See reviews for
44
210
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

booked this holiday as a late deal for 5 nights, we arrived late at 2330 due to a delayed flight and was given our key to our room, as we were unpacking the reception rung our room to offer us a free late meal even though we were only there as bed & breakfast. the staff were very helpfull and the food was of varied choice and quite nice and the rooms were cleaned daily, and the location on the beach front was excellent, would deffinatley go back again, i would have thought it was more than a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a reasonably late booking, for 7 nights. Just home today 3rd August. We were a little unsure of our choice after reading some reviews. We shouldn't have had any doubts. From the minute we arrived and saw location of the hotel, we knew we were on to a winner. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They enjoyed when we tried to speak (very little!) spanish to them. We had a room at the back, which was decent size. Very good bathroom/shower, spotlessly clean with new towels daily. Air conditioning was brilliant! Food was good, breakfasts were bacon and eggs etc. or cereal, rolls and fruit. Dinner had plenty choice of food, soups, steaks, fish, salads, desserts, fruit and cheese and biscuits.No reason to go hungry here. We went half -board, which gave us the day to explore town, go on trips or merely lie on the beach (just across road). We thought it was great value for money, central location spot on. When we go back only thing I'd change is room. A room at the front of hotel would be the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: If you can , request a room at the front of the hotel. The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jockssuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We found the 2* Hotel Mar Blau to be very good value. The position could not be better, front line, overlooking the Poniente beach, near to old town Benidorm and a short walk onto the Levante beach promenade. Our room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were supplied without a need to request. Perhaps a little more clothes storage, in the way of drawer space would be useful but oveall the room was excellent. We paid a bit extra for a seaview room which I considered after reading other reviews. Food was good with excellent English breakfasts, several choices of starters and main courses at dinner whilst sweet course and fruit were plentiful. All the staff gave more than adequate service, considering the 2* rating. One slight improvement could be to have the Lounge Bar staffed fully during meal times as it was sometime difficult to get service whilst lunch and dinner were being served. Road works immediately outside during our stay meant that traffic was diverted right past the front of the hotel but that should now be completed and the problem solved.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview room and ask for a high floor (although Mar Blau is only 6 storeys hgh!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Burleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here in Sept 2011 and again in June 2012 on a half board basis. I was a solo traveller, and had a double room with a sea view.
The staff: from chamber maids to waiters to reception staff - all friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Not much English spoken by most of the staff, (reception staff excepted), and I mention this only because it seems to be an issue with some Brits.
The food: breakfast choice of cooked, (bacon eggs etc), bread rolls, toast, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries. Dinner: salad bar, soup, fish/meat dishes, potaotoes/chips, vegetables, various desserts (ice cream, cakes, fruit salad). All standard fayre, nothing to write home about, but certainly nothing to complain about either. The restaurant has less of a "canteen" feel about it than others I've experienced.
The rooms are basic, but very clean. The bathrooms are spacious, have powerful showers, and never run out of hot water.
Other guests staying during my 2 visits were Spanish, Dutch, German and Brits - many of them repeat visitors, mostly over 40, and mainly couples.
The location is perfect for those seeking a quieter holiday, with the old town and the less populated Poniente beach on the doorstep.
Unless someone personally recommends another hotel that equals the Mar Blau in loaction and value for money, I won't be staying anywhere else when I visit Benidorm again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view - you'll kick yourself if you don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 8jaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Booked a sea view room well worth it, basic rooms, but we're very clean, would be nice to have a few more touches eg kettle, tissues, hair dryer and some drawers, not one drawer in room? Was a very good location, was road works outside but not too intrusive, and was nearly finished.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank missy mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 9 nights in June.

Location:
The hotel location is great if you want to be near the old town and on Poniente beach which is less rowdy than Levante beach (which appeared to be where all the hen and stag parties head for). The Old town is only a few minutes walk away.

Room:
The room was spacious with excellent air conditioning - which can be left on all day (it was over 30 deg outside during the day, and didn't go below 20 deg at night).
There was only hanging space for clothes - no drawers. There was a safe, a TV (very limited channels). There was also soap / shampoo dispensers in the bathroom & clean towels daily.

Food:
The food is not so good, so if that could be a problem for you, perhaps try somewhere else. We had read that the food was not so good before we went - but we were not worried as there was little difference between the cost of half board and B&B. Breakfast was OK.

Staff:
Very friendly and helpful.

Sleep Quality:
It was difficult to sleep until after 12pm due to the noise of the bar entertainment (Wednesday and Friday) and from the hotel next door some other nights. Not a problem if you are out and about every night.

Tip for travellers:
Try Bar El Payaso / Clown Bar near Levante Beach if you fancy a change from the Old Town. Jan and Rinus are great hosts. The bonus here is it's open from 4pm and it's the only Gay run/friendly bar with a large outside terrace and a dance floor in town. It's not listed on the Gay Benidorm web-site so be sure to Google it yourself! Although a bit of a walk from the Old Town we thought it was the best bar in town (and we went in them all in the old town every night!)

We would stay here again unless we found somewhere for a similar price / location but with a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View room on a higher floor to avoid entertainment noise from this and the adjoining M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandJYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montemar
Hotel Montemar
#69 of 192 in Benidorm
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanit
Tanit
#77 of 192 in Benidorm
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Voramar Hotel
Voramar Hotel
#115 of 192 in Benidorm
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marconi Hotel
Marconi Hotel
#106 of 192 in Benidorm
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bilbaino
Hotel Bilbaino
#68 of 192 in Benidorm
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Vista Oro
Port Vista Oro
#39 of 192 in Benidorm
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Mar Blau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Mar Blau

Property: Port Mar Blau
Address: Calle San Pedro 20, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Mar Blau 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Mar Blau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Blau Hotel
Mar Blau Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing