We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First All Inclusive holiday we've ever been to. And I loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon Playa
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First All Inclusive holiday we've ever been to. And I loved it.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My experience:
When we arrived at the reception desk, we had to wait to get our photos taken in order to get our All Inclusive offer. I thought they would give us wristbands. But we got cards. So everytime we ordered drinks, we showed our cards. I think this system is good too.
The room was good, beds were comfortable. And i liked the sea-view. There's air-con, TV, shower, hair-dryer, the whole lot. It was perfect for me. I must give credit to all the cleaners for keeping our rooms clean every single day. May God bless them.
The elevator/lift can be quite busy at times. We were on 16th floor, so we needed the lift all the time. But it didnt cause any trouble.
Food was absolutely fine. Some people think the food was rubbish. There were not a lot of choices but still plenty of stuff. Im not a picky person so i ate whatever they offered and i ate till i was full.
With All Inclusive, it doesnt mean you get everything inclusive. It really depends of what it is. Things that are part of the Inclusive offer, you will get for free. Note that you can only drink one type of beer. Some cocktails like Love On The Beach or Tequila Sunrise are included. Snacks like Hotdogs and Toasties are also included. But crisps are not free. You gotta pay for those. Don't ask why.
I feel this hotel was made for the local Spanish people. The shows are mostly in Spanish so I couldnt understand a single thing. But there are still loads of British people staying here. You can easily get along with them.
The pool isn't massive. The sunbeds are hard plastic. But it wasn't a problem for me. I still liked it. But to be truthful, i was hardly by the pool area. If you're not a fan of swimming pools, you simply go to the beach like I did, which is literally across the road and down the steps.
I wasn't bothered about Internet and stuff but if you are one who must use the Internet, sorry, you have to pay 26€ for wifi and for the whole week.
The bar lounge is quite big. The shows are held there. Bar staff seem nice and hardworking. They could try to smile a bit more, though.
Overall, the hotel is okay. It's not fantastic but it's still a decent resort for some. I really enjoyed it and i totally miss it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LittleMadBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    330
    161
    55
    38
See reviews for
280
330
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

very clean hotel and in a fantastic spot, right next to a lovely beach, food was good but it was getting repetitive toward the end of our stay, entertainment in the hotel is terrible and the service at the bar is worse, getting served took ages as the staff tend to favour the Spanish guests over other nationalities. i would go to this hotel again but only for the location, i would eat and drink out, rather than put up with the bad service.

Room Tip: high rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location friendly staff brilliant food didn't go to the entertainment but sounded good reception staff are very good and polite are room was great we had to twin beds shower was nice hotel was very clean

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is spotless, its kept very clean, all the staff are friendly and very professional I might add, the reception staff are very helpful with anything you may require during your stay. Some of the reviews I read about the bar staff before we went were totally unfounded. These people work their socks off to meet your needs and most of them speak 4 languages. These people are a credit to the hotel.
All rooms have air conditioning in them but I doubt if it works properly as it just seemed to blow a constant cool air, never really cold, which don’t get me wrong was most welcome. All rooms have a balcony and a lovely sea view, the higher up ie. 17th floor the better the view. Some of the rooms have spring mattresses and some have foam memory mattresses on the bed so it might be worthwhile to book your choice in advance as the spring ones weren’t too comfortable. There are only 4 lifts which can be very busy at times but we found that if you went early for your meals you never had to wait long on one.
The food here is catered mainly for the Spanish so if you want English Food holiday in England, it’s not bad, it’s cold but there’s a microwave to heat it up if you wish, it’s bland but there’s sauces to change that, it’s repetitive but change what you put on the plate. Personally we found it edible, veal and meat stews were fantastic.
Two small pools one suitable for babies etc. There are tables and chairs situated around the pool but in my opinion not enough sunbeds so if you want a favoured spot get your towels down before 07.15am, earlier if you want the choice ones. Pool bar service is a bit hit and miss, only one staff and sometimes they disappear for long periods. Life guard on site but tends to allow Spanish kids to do things that others are not ie. Ball in pool or air beds etc.
The Poniente beach is a stones throw right across the road from the Hotel. It is very clean and sandy, lots of waves when we were there, it was brilliant especially for kids.
Be warned there are 2 types of all inclusive customers in this hotel bollocks basic for foreigners and branded for the Spanish. In other words if you are not Spanish your drink tastes as if there is no alcohol in it even though they half fill the glass with the spirit you order. Over the week that we were there we never saw one person who even looked drunk let alone was drunk and usually there are quite a few The Spanish get served bottled beer different spirits bottled soft drinks basically everything they ask for is free but when you ask for it you will have to pay. No-one told us that when we booked “ALL INCLUSIVE” Never have I heard the excuse that there was two different types of ALL INCLUSIVE.
The entertainment is dull to say the least it’s as if the management were trying to drive you out of the hotel to make you go elsewhere. OK it’s geared for the Spanish but even they get fed up listening to the same songs repeated to death for hours. The Burlesque show was quite good and the bubble guy was brilliant other than that it was very poor, as an example for one and half hours of kids disco we watched four or five three year olds charging about an empty dance floor.
Ok to sum up and it’s only my opinion if you are not Spanish and are with kids, teenagers, stag party or with friends who maybe like a wee tipple a bit of fun maybe letting your hair down a bit then DON’T go to this hotel. Go to a Hotel at the other end at Levante Beach.
And on a final note don’t expect any help from your Thomas Cooke Rep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IvorLarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Manager at Hotel Poseidon Playa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear IvorLarne,

Thank you for your positive comments.
We note the ones you made regarding pool bar and entertaintment and will try to improve.

Please let me explain that we have 2 types of All Inclusive.
With All Inclusive Brands, you get bottled beer plus international spirits but there is a price diference and it is what spanish guests prefer, thats why they pay the supplement.
Maybe your travel agent didnt offer it to you but it is available for everyone and if we knew your concerns, Reception could have explained it to you while you where here as we DO NOT make a diference at all regarding nationalities.

We hope you visit us again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had an Amazing holiday but hotel does need some improvement, Some Spanish are very rude, don't expect to be served first at the bar, Jose who works at the pool bar was amazing very friendly and happy to help,rooms are very clean, nobody understands why there is two types of all inclusive one where you can get everything the other where you are limited to a selection we didn't get two types of all inclusive to choose from? and all the Brits we spoke to said the same thing, It does specifically say no lilos/balls in the pool but the lifeguard wouldn't always stick to it, Food was average , Antonio (the indoor bar staff) was very friendly and a good laugh, Olga(the reception staff) was very helpful spoke good English, Mundomar and Aqualandia are good places to visit Not to far 2 buses buses are 1.50 euros each or a taxi that costs around 12 euros , entertainment was awful but i did enjoy the reptile show and the salsa dancing show. The view from my room was beautiful right in front of the beach. overall i give it a 7/10

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Manager at Hotel Poseidon Playa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Chloe482,

Thank you very much for your comments on behalf of Poseidon Playa staff.

As we can see, 2 types of all inclusive are not very popular at the moment, we intend to put signs up and give out information to all guests. Therefore, when you have booked All Inclusive, you can have the option to upgrade to All Inclusive Brands, where you have a widest sellection of brands to choose for your drinks.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Sandra Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

ON ARRIVAL - We were made very welcome when we arrived. WE Asked reception on arrival if we could change our 2nd floor twin to a double and was advised they had a double on 7th floor, and we could change if we wanted. We were even advised we could take a look at our twin room out first if we wanted to before we decided! We decided to stay with the twin on second floor because of the reviews we read about the lifts. We were on Half Board (with Jet2) and the lovely female receptionist advised we could choose to have lunch or evening meal giving us more flexibility with our daily plans.

STAFF - Reception staff were very friendly and professional and very helpful at all times. The maids did a great job with our room we found it very clean on arrival and it was kept that way throughout our stay. Some of the bar staff were a little friendlier than the others. The restaurant staff looked rushed off their feet as we were there at the busiest time of year. They did well to meet everyone’s demands for drinks and clearing tables once vacated.

ROOMS - Very comfortable. We had a ‘standard room’ and all have a balcony and a lovely sea view. The room was very clean, spacious with comfortable beds and met all our needs. Bathroom has a hairdryer fitted and electric shaver point. The rooms are air conditioned too. There are only 4 lifts and they can be slow and busy at dining times, so we would recommend a room on a low floor.

FOOD - I’ve read mixed reviews here. This is a Spanish Hotel, in Spain, Where lots of Spanish holidaymakers stay, so don’t be surprised to find the Hotel Menu to include some Spanish style food! We all personally liked the food very much, though it did start to seem a little repetitive towards the end of the holiday as one might expect. The food was better than you would expect of a 3 star hotel. I suspect that any fussy eaters or people who like plain type foods (fish and chips!) may have a limited choice.

POOL - Medium sized pool, with a bar and a Life Guard. It was very clean. There are tables chairs and sunbeds, though if you want a favoured spot get your towels down before breakfast. There is also a terrace with sunbeds just off the pool area with a canopy/awning if you prefer to be mostly in the shade (towel tip above applies).

BEACH - The beach is right across the road from the Hotel. It is very clean and well maintained. Being raked and filtered overnight to keep it this way. There is a bit of an incline down towards the beach on a slippery pavement (be careful with sandy or wet footwear). It can also be accessed via a tunnel under the road, again with a slippery inclined pavement on the way to the tunnel.

LOCATION – The hotel is on the Poniente side about a 15 minute stroll from the old town. There are places to drink and eat and shop very nearby, though if you want more choice there is an abundance in the old town or over on the ‘new side – Levante’ just past the old town.
ENTERTAINMENT – In a comfortable air-conditioned bar lounge. The bar gets very busy at peak times, as one would expect. The entertainment is aimed to please the Spanish family audience and we would put it at a Spanish equivalent of what you might expect at a Butlins type resort back home. We went into the Old Town most nights but we enjoyed the Spanish Dance show and the Burlesque tribute show.

NEGATIVES – The 4 Lifts are small and slow. Huge queues form at dining times. If you prefer not to wait for lifts, get a room on a low floor. Thought the best sea views are from the higher floors…

A SPECIAL MENTION – Goes to Jose ‘M’ who worked on the pool bar by day and the lounge bar by evening who was very professional and attentive. We were also very impressed by all the Reception staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

we stayed here for a week and were a little disappointed. there was no previous information that the hotel did not cater properly for disabled guests. it is situated on quite a steep hill and has a lot of steps down to the pool. in itself the hotel is very nice but we did request rooms on a low floor but were given rooms on the 14th. the lifts were very busy at meal times and you could wait a long time for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Manager at Hotel Poseidon Playa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Lynda T,

Thank you for your comments.

We are sorry you found dificulties, we are accesible but not adapted for disabled guests.
I'm sorry we couldnt meet your room requirements, it is dificult on our busiest period
but we try our best.

There is a future project to make the hotel much comfortable for disabled guests.

Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.2 mi away
Poseidon Resort
Poseidon Resort
#71 of 192 in Benidorm
974 reviews
0.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#31 of 192 in Benidorm
874 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#30 of 192 in Benidorm
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,620 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#57 of 192 in Benidorm
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon Playa

Property: Hotel Poseidon Playa
Address: Avenida Racharell No 1, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent sea views can be had from your room, sit out on the balcony, soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the romantic Mediterranean sunsets. The Poniente beach area of Benidorm is the quieter part, but it is still close to the historic old town and only 850 metres from the town centre, with it's shops, restaurants, bars and discos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Poseidon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Playa Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing