We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was what we expected and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 9, 2014

With the recent knocks on here I could not wait to get too the Sandos and see what was going on. On arrival it's very clean and modern and Reception staff are faultless. We arrived after the evening meal but still managed too get a snack from the bar which was good and the service super fast. Bar staff in both bars work and try real hard with a smile and banter! The local drinks that are too be expected we're good and the beer always ice cold.
Food has took a bit of a battering on here of late but our party of six adults found most of it very nice. Some meats do get served a little cold but these were not left out for hours then served up it's how they came out from the kitchens. Most are cooked in front of you such as Pork and Fish dishes . As for ANY all inc things do get repetitive but we were there for 4 days so can't complain. If you are after Michelin star food then don't book a made for the masses Hotel in Benidorm for £400 a week!
As for the rooms , all was good, clean , modern and well kept with maid service everyday so 100% too the Sandos. Lobby and other areas are just as nice so don't be worried of anything regarding decor or cleanliness.
Entertainment was mostly background noise too us as we made our own but a couple of nights we were clapping so can't be that bad. After all if you want more too do it is Benidorm so go out as always plenty of people watching and Bars too entertain you. Now for one negative....... The Wi-Fi .... Good when your in your room but nearly impossible too get around the pool or Bar ... Come on Sandos, invest in this more and you will have happier customers! Would I go back .... YES , if I did that, but I go too a different Hotel each visit as I believe it gives you a fresher holiday each time. Did we enjoy it ... YES.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescGualdo, Gerente at Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Kevin K,

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor. I am happy to know you enjoyed your holidays at the Sandos Monaco. The positive comments help us to keep working hard to improve our guest satisfaction.
Regarding the WiFi service we have checked all the system in order to have a perfect signal outside the pool area.

We will be looking forward in seeing you again in the sunny Benidorm at the Sandos Monaco

Kind Regards

Francesc Gualdo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,420)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,614 - 1,620 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay with a group of 15. Thoroughly enjoyed it with good food, great location. When I read some of the previous reviews about yobs etc I seen nothing of this but where groups are present you are going to see a lot of high spirits. At midnight as entertainment ended staff ensured noise level was significantly reduced so made for an excellent sleep.
Staff were helpful and appreciated a small tip for their efforts.
Would I return again -definitely

Room Tip: For balconies odd numbers for pool view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stevsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescGualdo, Gerente at Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear stevch,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience through this review.
We appreciate your kind comments for our staff who with personalized and detailed service ensured that your stay was pleasant.
Our Sandos team is looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Monaco soon.
Kind Regards

Francesc Gualdo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

stayed here 2 years ago & came back for 3 nights in Aprill A/I,i cant fault the hotel or staff, everything was good & the staff are always friendly & helpful even in the dinning room , the food was very good to, i didn't want to leave & wish I could go back soon, a very relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescGualdo, Gerente at Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear martin p,

First of all thank you for your time in posting a review in TripAdvisor.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your holidays at the Sandos Mónaco and specially appreciate your comments regarding the staff.
We are looking forward in seeing you soon.
All the best from the Sandos Monaco team.
Francesc Gualdo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Been to Sandos many times however first time we have experienced loutish behaviour, both around the pool and at evening entertainment. Heard another visitor complaining to the manager however it resulted in no improvement. I have yet to get a response to my concerns provided to Ana at reception! I see from a previous comment from the manager he states the hotel offers a relaxing atmosphere, what a laugh. The Sandos have to decide who their market is and are obviously not concerned that they are losing their existing customer base.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
9  Thank JoanneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescGualdo, Gerente at Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Joanne Traveller,

Thank you very much for taking your time in writing a review in Tripadvisor and I would like to apologize if your experience was not as good as you though.

Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa is an adult only hotel and 95% of our customers are couples and most of them visit the hotel again. During April, Benidorm receive many large groups of hen and stags parties and for this reason we decided to re-send a letter to the travel agencies:



Dear colleagues,

On May 2013, our commercial department sent this communicate on request of the hotel manager:

“We want to inform you that we are receiving complaints of our regulars guests due to the discomfort that some groups are creating on the establishment. In order to avoid similar situations at the future, as from May 7, 2013 we feel obliged to not accept all of the arrivals that would correspond with the following profile:

- “Stag and hen”groups.
- Groups of male and female clients with inadequate behavior at their arrival.

We pretend to provide our guests a pleasant stay in Sandos Mónaco Beach Hotel & Spa, without any claim due to poor behaviour of the groups mentioned above”.

We still keep applying this rule and we inform you that, for those reservations which are already confirmed and have this client profile, the hotel will charge, on arrival, a deposit of 100 Euros in cash to each of the components' group.

Thanks for your understanding and cooperation in this issue.

Hotel management



Last April several groups had to leave their acommodation and find an alternative hotel because their behaviour was not acceptable. We always have a manager on duty responsible and one of the priorities is to keep a nice and relaxing athmosphere in the whole resort.

It will be our real pleasure to welcome you among us again.

Kind Regards

Francesc Gualdo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Recently returned from this hotel after my first visit to Benidorm. Four of us stayed for 4 nights and had a great time.

Really can't fault the Sandos Monaco at all. Food was fab - nice and varied, and hot! (I often find all inclusive buffets to be more on the lukewarm side). Service was great, and the hotel/pool area was immaculate. Bar service was also great-the beer was good, and the usual all inclusive spirits were available. I didn't think much to the wine on offer, and some of the cocktail concoctions were a little bizarre, but it didn't stop me from enjoying the other beverages available. The location of the hotel is great, a really short walk to the beach, and central between the old town and new town. The only thing we didn't try was the pool - as it was simply too cold, i'd put that down to the time of year though, and the fact that due to the built up nature of Benidorm - the pool doesn't get that much sun throughout the day. There were however plenty of sun beds available, and plenty of areas that did get the sun for most of the day if you did want to sunbathe.

Benidorm as a destination was great - plenty to do and the beach was lovely. Saw a few of the cheesy tribute acts which are all part of the experience, and the old town was also really nice.

All in all, a great holiday - i'd definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank june-bug87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just returned form this hotel after my second and last visit. The hotel is clean and well kept. The room was very good, well cleaned every day and comfortable.

There does seem to be some cost cutting at the hotel and to me the food was not so good as last year. The staff seem to have a lot to do and are under pressure and do not seem that happy at all. Wi-Fi very poor and only worked about twice.

The select lounge is a godsend and the only place of quiet and respectability in a hotel which has been ruined by foul mouthed yobs. The language around the pool,the fights and drunken behaviour and load music playing from groups of men and woman was disgusting and extremely disrespectful to other guests especially elderly woman who were staying there. The management did nothing at all to stop this behaviour, they seem afraid of confronting these people, and to be honest I do not blame them. However they will loose custom, I for one would never stay in this hotel again or any other in Benidorm. I do not mind people enjoying themselves and having a drink, but as a single traveller I do not like to feel unsafe and threated while trying to relax on holiday. This hotel will need to review their policy on stag and hen groups if they do not want to loose their customer base of many people who return to this hotel year after year and were fed up with lack of management response and control of the situation. Come on management and staff, take control of your hotel and guests and don't let your business be ruined by drunken British yobs,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank crewe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just back after staying at the hotel for 4 nights at the end of April. 9 of us all had an amazing time. Food great, rooms great, staff great everything great. Would definitely go back as a couple or with a group of friends again. Keep up the good work and will see you soon.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same apart from 1 side having a pool view and the other side having a view...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
7,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
1,390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#55 of 192 in Benidorm
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Costablanca
Sol Costablanca
#62 of 192 in Benidorm
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Periodista Emilio Romero 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#3 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#12 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $124 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa All Inclusive, Adults Only +16, is located near to Playa de Levante (450 m) and to Benidorm centre. It has 199 rooms with two individual beds, flat satellite TV, air conditioning and heater, bathroom with hairdryer, terrace with views and free WiFi, plus minibar and safe (extra charge) It also provide a program called Select wich offers additional services besides the usual current all-inclusive. Among these, there are all kind of falicities at the arrival and in the room, such as a bottle welcome bottle of cava, or minibar and safe for free, as well as discount and access to the Select Club Lounge. The falicities have an outside pool and Jacuzzi, cafe-bar, and show cooking and buffet restaurant. As well as parking, gym, spa, sauna and Wellnes Centre (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Monaco Hotel And Spa
Sandos Monaco Hotel Benidorm
Monaco Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing