We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel ..bad stomache bug”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 23, 2014

stayed 15th -22nd march and 1st impressions were very good,with spacious rooms and modern decor .On the monday myself and then my wife came down with the Novo Virus bug which hit quite a few other guests while we were there although reception denied this.Overall this hotel is a good 4 star in a good position between the old and new towns and 5 mins from the beach.Food is of a good standard although some of the practices are not as we saw the meat and fish chef using his hands to put meat and fish on the grill and then only wipeing his hands on paper towels before repeating the process, not washing his hands.Maybe wearing disposable gloves might be the answer to this.The hotel has hand gel dispensers everywhere which indicates to me that they know they have a problem.Would i return ? yes if they sorted out the problems ive mentioned .

Room Tip: the higher the better and odd numbered rooms as these get the sun in the afternoon
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StaffordRoblynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,416)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,664 - 1,670 of 3,416 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have been to this hotel 4 times the hotel is really good the food is great the staff are exceptional a mention for pepe toni and Raquel and a mention for all the reception staff.the bad points are the guests or a bad 30% noisy and drunk throughout the day and night dirty feet up on the furniture and no respect for anything people fast asleep in the bar areas I must admit I do not know the answer but I think there should be some form of visible security staff so I will not be visiting the hotel again

Room Tip: rooms 12 or 13 have a good view the higher the better but remember you have to wait for the lifts
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cedric v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My Group of 9 Motor Home Moll pals stayed in the hotel from 15th March until yesterday , 20th March and out of the 9 of us - 7 were floored at some point or other with the Novo Virus bug that hit the hotel....sadly, one of our party was affected seriously and the fact that she is mentally handicapped made the situation, all the more distressing.

The emergency call out doctor we had to have sent to us in the middle of the night, on our first full night there, did not comment on the fact that it was novo virus, but she did say that there were a number of hotels in the same area that had been hit by the bug and that the virus had hit the resort a number of days before we arrived.

As for the actions of the hotel, they seemed to do their best once the situation was hitting a peak on the Sunday and Monday and most of the staff were brilliant and sympathetic to what was turning out to be a bit of a nightmare. There was just one or two unfortunate 'flies in the ointment' so to speak, with an 'attitude problem' who was a female receptionist and the other, a cleaner. I wouldn't wish the sickness bug on anyone, but should any of these two ladies had the misfortune to experience what over 60 people did in the time we were there, then maybe that would have made them, sympathetic, understanding and able to show a bit more caring and willingness to actually help, rather than just say 'it's in the book' every time we really needed help URGENTLY, or 'NO, NO, NO, NO POSSEEBLE'...let's face it, why should anyone have to lie in their own mess for hours,whilst still suffering projectile vomiting and chronic diarrhoea before you can get access to clean, bedding, sheets and towels???? beggars belief really.

To add to the misery of the 4 day sickness drama, two of my Molls party, were victims of the 'stuck in the lifts' scenario that also took place that night ....A Spanish husband and wife, who were guests....trashed their way through the other 4 people to get to the door, in order to throw themselves out of the elevator, at a risk, that could have seen them fall down the lift shaft but in doing do, he also almost broke my friend's hand as he hurled himself forward, to open the doors back, only to let them trap her fingers.....a selfish act of two people for sure, as they didn't even bother to wait and see how the others managed to 'climb' to safety from the lift shaft.

As for the hotel in general, its a lovely place in a good location and the Manager was extremely supportive, he was aware of the situation our party were in, he was updated and he made sure that he was, he also kept in touch of the situation and the progress of each sick one of us. He showed respect and sympathy to our party and had a genuine deep concern for what was happening to everyone affected by he virus, he played his role well, to the point of seeing us off with a final check up and his best wishes for a safe trip home and full recovery for all the 7 who were ill. He acted on the matters which we voiced our concerns over and I am sure he will carry out whatever needs to be done to rectify or improve on the blips we experienced.
Thank You Sir from all 9 of us.

To the wonderful Raquel....what can we say, she was just amazing, to the point of running up to the tenth floor to check on the really sick Moll, whilst her distraught mum was stuck in the elevator. Raquel was more than attentive and we praise her on the highest level for that, many thanks to her....she is also a darn good entertainments host, and on the two nights we did manage to have as a group in the entertainments room, we enjoyed her company and the entertainment she provided. All in all the entertainment I hear was pretty good each evening, but sadly we missed most of it.

To Pepe, Tony, Enrique, Angel and the other bar staff......a group of guys in a million, brilliant manners, brilliant service and brilliant company, thanks for making what time we did manage to have , such good fun.

The restaurant staff were efficient, the food was to a good standard, well presented and its never ever going to please anyone all the time, but they do their best to get it as right every day and night, so hats off to the team there.

Will our party of 9 go back to Sandos Monaco?????......yes, I'm sure we will....its a lovely hotel, the staff are great and for us this time round, it was just unlucky that the week we saved up so hard for all last year, turned out to be the week 'The Bug' got a grip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FalkirkDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Visited the hotel 24th feb to 17th March. The hotel is well located 3 streets back from the sea in a flat area which would suit people with walking difficulties and within easy reach of both ends.
The rooms are spacious with decent bathrooms and 2 double beds ( peace at last).The food is quite good with a reasonable choice, but not always hot if not new full trays!The wine in the restaurant is good.Gala nights adds a wider chice with fresh prewns and mussels + beef joints yorkshire pudding etc. The sweets tend to be very creamy and again extra chice on gala nights.

Breakfast are OK with Bacon, Sausage, Black pudding, Ash browns, Fried bread, Fried eggs, Scrambled, Omelets etc. Lunches OK with late lunches of limited choice.

There is a very good choice of drinks all quickly served by very efficient bar staff.

The entertainment is a reasonable standard with certain nights better than other dependant on your choice.

There is a very nice Consevatory to sit in if the weather deteriorates, this is large, but can get noisey. On good days there is a large patio area which catches the sun and has a serve yourself bar for beer and soft drinks.

Unfortunately the hotel caters for stag and hen parties who are not always on their best behaviour, especially early mornings!

In addition the Noro Virus Bug made an appearance at the hotel with a high proportion going down with sickness and the runs. Mrs P went down with sickness and was off food and drink for 3 days, I had the runs.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have afternoon sun, with the end rooms having a view of the distant sea
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at the hotel from 8th March to15th March and stayed in room 1501 and only heard of two people who were sick and to say there was a "very contagious sickness bug" is a big shock! My wife and I interacted with a lot of people in hotel and only left it a couple of times in the whole week and heard nothing of "THE BUG". Why is it written in a review of a hotel when it was two parties that travelled together and the chances are that "THE BUG" was with them before they arrived!?!
The hotel was very good for a four star and the food was very good and I never found it to be not hot enough!
The entertainment was good and the staff were very friendly.
My wife and I will be back again this year we hope.
Thanks for a great holiday to all staff at hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7cant2na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

While the hotel is to a high standard, the room we were on was on the 1st floor which is open to the main lobby / reception / bar etc. While in the room (which was at the end of the corridor) the noise from the entertainment / bar etc was very loud - a door at the open area would probably solve this annoyance.
The shower in the room was fantastic, in the top 3 showers I've ever been in.

The food was of a high standard albeit the selection when we were there was not that great.

The spa which was one of the reasons we went there charged us for the priviledge of using it & the steam room / sauna was not working when we did pay to go in.

The entertainment was not to our taste (it was aimed at a more mature crowd), this didn't really bother us as we just went outside the hotel in the evenings.

Room Tip: Avoid the 1st floor if possible
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Studunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter from 08/03/14 to 15/03/14. It was our first trip to Benidorm and this hotel. We have stayed in a Sandos hotel in Lanzarote and were interested to compare the two. We have been to the one in Lanzarote several times we like it so much, so we had high hopes for this one. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel. The cleaners seemed to be doing something, somewhere in the hotel at all times of the day. I had requested extra pillows in the room and a high floor. We were given both so was really pleased. We were in room 813 and definitely had the best views from the hotel. Straight down to the beach and see, we could even see Peacock Island!

I don't think that the food was as good as experienced in the other Sandos hotel. It wasn't always hot enough but there was plenty choice. The coffee from the machine in the restaurant was awful and the milk separated from the coffee. We did however find a vat of coffee and one of hot milk at one side of the restaurant on day 4 which was better but not great. Get a coffee from the snack bar at 10am, that is very nice.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the bar staff on a night were very entertaining. The evening entertainment was good and it was lovely to be in a child free zone!

However, as with a few other people on this review site, both myself and my daughter were violently ill with a stomach bug. I was ill all Thursday night and felt dreadful all day Friday. My daughter started to be ill on the Saturday as we had to fly home, it was a nightmare. We both noted that it was after we had used the spa. We were fine up until that.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and despite the sickness we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank DancingQueenBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#6 of 192 in Benidorm
1,389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#55 of 192 in Benidorm
4,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Costablanca
Sol Costablanca
#62 of 192 in Benidorm
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Periodista Emilio Romero 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#3 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#12 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $123 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa All Inclusive, Adults Only +16, is located near to Playa de Levante (450 m) and to Benidorm centre. It has 199 rooms with two individual beds, flat satellite TV, air conditioning and heater, bathroom with hairdryer, terrace with views and free WiFi, plus minibar and safe (extra charge) It also provide a program called Select wich offers additional services besides the usual current all-inclusive. Among these, there are all kind of falicities at the arrival and in the room, such as a bottle welcome bottle of cava, or minibar and safe for free, as well as discount and access to the Select Club Lounge. The falicities have an outside pool and Jacuzzi, cafe-bar, and show cooking and buffet restaurant. As well as parking, gym, spa, sauna and Wellnes Centre (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Monaco Hotel And Spa
Sandos Monaco Hotel Benidorm
Monaco Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing