We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a Mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel and Spa.

We chose this hotel for the write ups on Trip advisor( Voted the 6th Best in Benidorm ) , its location and value for money. Staying for a short 5 day / 4 night stay with Easy Jet 10th February 2013.We came with an open minded and we hoped for a little more sun( but it was February!!) and we left having enjoyed ourselves

Transfer to the hotel from the Airport approx. 1 hour ( without a rep, just a driver) went smoothly.No problem.

The hotel is ideally located in a partly residential area between the “British New Town End” and the “Old Town” of Benidorm. Great adults only hotel.
We were on a all inclusive package We opted for a higher floored with the hope of having a sea view, which we got albeit partly blocked by
high-rise flats / accommodation. I mention this as Benidorm,as you all know is predominately made up of high rise buildings ( especially the new part). BUT the majority are private flats, Not all hotels, which I was surprised with specifically for the local Spanish residents

The hotel was very clean,efficient and well managed. Room no issues with piping hot water ideal for a bath after a chilly walk .

Positives / Negatives
Great location , Spanish 4 star hotel ( 3 star UK ). Clean through out, with daily maid service to the rooms . Nothing was ever any problem with attentive staff through out.Out door pool to cold in February. BUT when we enquired we were told 10 euros to us the Indoor pool – We did not bother.
Restaurant Self Service . Food wide choice at breakfast,lunch and evening meal. Typical of any hotel yesterdays potatoes become potato salad next day etc. Food could have been hotter , but you could warm it up in a microwave! If you went Hungary then it was you who had a problem as there was such a great selection to suit all types of palettes.Bar busy down stairs before and after evening dinner. Note you pay extra for branded spirits ( as normal in All Inclusive ). No pints and great no lager louts . Upstairs bar ( closed in the evening)is in the conservatory overlooking a sun terrace / out door pool, becomes very loud and “echoey” when people are chatting ( similar to the noise in a indoor swimming pool). Predominately mini break residents and “long stayers” for 1 and 2 month duration. Note a lot of Spanish visited during out stay. The restaurant and bar catered for their needs before others especially when 150 Spanish tourists descended on the hotel all at once to book in Ouch!!( I felt sorry for the receptionists who were always so charming and knowledgeable ) . The entertainment was not to our liking Quizzes, Disco etc. but there was nothing wrong the organiser she was great fun,but we don't need to be entertained ? We will return one day and will recommend the hotel to our friends . as they say it ticked all the right boxes.

Over view of Benidorm.
Everywhere very clean and well maintained ( but they do have problem with all the graffiti on buildings out side the town)
We hated the new part of Benidorm 5 minutes from the hotel,not because it was 3/4 closed at this time of the year ( Starts opening in March ).But it was as all the TV programmes portray it as “Tacky”. Irish, Scottish, Welsh,English Bars,Pizza, Fish and chips Stag parties welcome etc. . aiming for the all important customers and their well earned Euro. In the height of the summer it will be !!!!!!!! Please note we expected it and to be honest with the hotel location if you wanted that sort of entertainment then it was 5 minutes walk away. But if it is what people want then they will get what they want.

On the other hand 5 minutes in the other direction from the hotel you will hit the old town which we preferred. Narrow streets, shops at great atmosphere with the hustle and bustle. Fantastic view from the peninsula to both main beaches There are another 2 beaches in Benidorm . Drinks outside the hotel were approximately 2 – 5 Euros each, but as cheap as 1 euro a drink ( depending on the location). Food very cheap all over catering for all needs . The old town was always busy with a lovely atmosphere. Try the train to Denea at only 6.40 euro return (each) great value and stunning coastal scenery for 1 1/2 hours each way.Try tapas Alley in the old town great fun and a wide selection of food for under 12 euro including drinks. Check out what is going on there is always a market on some where or a festival. We got involved in “Burying the Sardine” - a paper-mâché Sardine in a coffin with a Bishop and grieving relatives all dressed in black honestly it was so funny . The locals loved the fact we got involved and celebrated with them we have not laughed so much for a long time, Mix with the locals they will love you not for your euro , but because you can be bothered. Simply Benidorm caters for all walks and tastes of life from “Kiss me” quick, too up market restaurants. Visit with an open mind,walk up and down the promenade the beach is so clean and well maintained, explore both “towns” make your choice and you will have great fun. Remember what ever you are looking for Benidorm it has something for everyone somewhere . ( Keep your head down and ignore the high-rise flats / hotels and watch out for a buried sardine in the sand!)

Room Tip: Ask for a high floored room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BoomarangTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,231 - 2,237 of 3,552 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel was spotlessly clean great food and drink friendly staff would certainly go back sometime just a short break but thoroughly enjoyed it fancy lighting and large bathroom plenty of towels large comfortable beds

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Benidorm and I must admit to being slightly apprehensive. Lets face it, Benidorm is what it is, and in the summer it would be my idea of hell on earth, but it is ideal for a winter break. The Monaco hotel is excellent - clean, modern and spacious and only a 5 min walk to the promenade and beach. Like other reviewers have mentioned, we were not greeted with beaming smiles when we arrived, but check in was quick and efficient and whenever we contacted reception they were helpful and knowledgeable. I think I prefer quiet competence to beaming ineptitude anyday..
Hotel food by nature is formulaic so can get a bit repetetive, but the food was as varied as it could be given these constraints and was tasty, hot and of excellent quality.
The hotel gets much busier at the weekends when a lot of spaniards visit, but we did not experience any problems with noise. In fact we slept very well - the beds are very comfortable.
The only improvement I would suggest is the 'snack' bar, which serves drinks but does not advertise any snacks. You can have crisps/nuts if you know to ask for them, but that hardly qualifies it as a snack bar. Come in, Sandos, sort this out and put up some sort of menu. It is the only thing which stopped me giving you full marks for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kag&Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a week for our 1year anniversary. The hotel was very clean, the room was a nice size, we had a all inclusive deal which was value for money, they had a good selection of food everyday, some of the bar was not that friendly. Raquel was excellent!!! She entertained us and showed us around old town she made our stay very enjoyable. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clavier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Short break at The Monaco last week. The standards at this hotel are very high.Large comfortable rooms and bathrooms which are spotlessly clean, good hot food and very friendly and helpful staff. Great location, halfway between old and new town,and adults only if you fancy a rest from the children or grandchildren. Treat yourself to an all inclusive break and enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge030263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in February 2013 after he had booked for a suprise mini break. Having never been to Benidorm before I didnt know what to expect, upon arriving athe hotel we where very impressed with the size of the hotel and the friendly staff, which continued throughout the whole of our break, the hotel was very spacious and clean and the staff where happy and lovely.We had also booked spa treatments in the room and had a great time relaxing. The food is plentyfull and tasty and there is a vast array of choice.

The hotel is situation in between the old square, which is old cobbles streets with fantastic spanish bars and restaurants, and the new square which is mainly english pubs clubs and takeaways. There is definatley something for everyone here.

We hired a quad bike from Marco Pollo, great service and had a fun time visiting other little towns and villages.

I would definatley return to this hotel as I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clairemac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a lovely relaxing break loved this hotel friendly staff apart from one young girl on reception, very clean, food a good choice, rooms lovely, and what a bathroom, I would Definately stay here again overall a great hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cwalt1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.9 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by by Melia
0.4 mi away
Sandos Benidorm Suites
Sandos Benidorm Suites
#17 of 192 in Benidorm
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
2,862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Periodista Emilio Romero 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#3 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#12 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $107 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa All Inclusive, Adults Only +16, is located near to Playa de Levante (450 m) and to Benidorm centre. It has 199 rooms with two individual beds, flat satellite TV, air conditioning and heater, bathroom with hairdryer, terrace with views and free WiFi, plus minibar and safe (extra charge) It also provide a program called Select wich offers additional services besides the usual current all-inclusive. Among these, there are all kind of falicities at the arrival and in the room, such as a bottle welcome bottle of cava, or minibar and safe for free, as well as discount and access to the Select Club Lounge. The falicities have an outside pool and Jacuzzi, cafe-bar, and show cooking and buffet restaurant. As well as parking, gym, spa, sauna and Wellnes Centre (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Monaco Hotel And Spa
Sandos Monaco Hotel Benidorm
Monaco Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing